We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Just got back from an overnight stay. We booked this hotel as a base while we visited Cadbury World. The location is brilliant for this. Hotel was lovely and clean, the room was spotless and spacious. There was a great choice for the breakfast including a selection of cereals, fruit, yogurts, cheese, sausages, beans and scrambled eggs. In addition, tea coffee, hot chocolate and fruit juice. There was also an option of ordering a pizza late at night! There is a "Fayre and Square" pub right next door to the hotel,
which was ideal for us after our trip to Cadbury World, we didn't want to venture too far, although there is the facility to eat in the hotel. There is a McDonalds just over the roundabout opposite the hotel and a KFC just up the road too. Overall I can't really fault anything about the place. The value for money was also excellent, we only paid £45 for 4 of us in one room (2 adults 2 children) and that included breakfast. Will 100% stay here again!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynsky28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

392 - 398 of 598 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

Thank you for a enjoyable stay, its the first time we have stayed in a holiday inn and was very impressed with the quality, friendliness,service. Didn't expect hot food at breakfast I know its limited but when you don't expect it its a bonus. Everywhere was clean and staff very helpful from reception desk to staff clearing and re stocking the breakfast bar. I had no dealing with the chambermaids but they left our room clean and tidy on a second day of our stay. We had a lovely stay for two nights the only downside of our stay was the hotel had a party of guests who were staying for a convention and decided it would be fun to run around and make noises keeping guests awake but this wasn't the fault of the hotel just guests who are not considerate to others. I wouldn't hesitate in staying at a holiday inn again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cath f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We were very impressed with the friendliness, efficiency, service, value and cleanliness of this hotel and would highly recommend. We had booked a disabled access room and this was well thought out and practical. The staff asked us if we needed any extra help and were very thoughtful and cheerful.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank p_charlton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Fresh rooms and the staff were very welcoming. The food is also great here! I'd recommend the holiday Inn to anyone who's traveling for business purposes and overnight stays in Birmingham. For families, I'd say this hotel is great value for money as well as an environment your kids would enjoy staying in.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WadeTheWaver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on our Hotel, it’s great to get such fantastic feedback regarding the team, restaurant and of course our bedrooms!

We look forward to welcoming you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Gemma
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Have stayed here quite a few times for both pleasure and business. This time for pleasure with family.
Always a warm welcome and the rooms are always clean and well appointed.
The new breakfast is plentiful and the location just right.
Well recommended. Eat at the One and Two Halves next door for some value pub grub.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank locoman20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Arrived late with children and was very politely asked to sit down for a minute while they made sure room was ready. Basically what had happened was that our booking hadn't updated and they very swiftly sorted out the screw up changing us from a family room to 2 adjacent twins. It was the pleasant and efficient way they did it that impressed me, the professionalism shown averted what could have been a show down at 11pm. The rooms were good, clean and comfy the only let down was the breakfast but hey ho you cant have everything.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank candy150266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your very kind review of our Hotel, I was delighted to read that a problem with your reservation was dealt with swiftly upon your arrival and you were able to relax and enjoy your stay with us. Your comments will be shared with the team who I know will also be pleased that you were happy with their service.

I’m am however sorry that our complimentary Express Start Breakfast was not to your expectation; we continually review our breakfast offering and value all feedback to allow us to improve in this area.

Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Gemma
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

Had a very pleasant family stay at this hotel. Staff very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very good but ashame they had no sausages on the lsst day due to cooker breaking. Very close to main road but still quiet and aircon in the rooms was a bonus. Family room was a bit on the small side compared to other hotels and lack of a bath was not ideal. However you don't go on holiday to spend time in your room. So all in all the room was adequate and functional. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank davejcook76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gemma G, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent stay, please allow me this opportunity to apologise that some items were not available on your last morning with us. Unfortunately we did experience equipment failure which was an isolated incident and I am very sorry that this happened during your break with us.

Its great to hear you appreciated the in room air conditioning especially during our very unpredictable weather we are having at the moment we understand this is a must! All our rooms are of the same standard size with en suite power showers and I am sorry that this was not of your expectation.

We hope to see you again very soon.

Kind Regards

Gemma
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
2.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
2.3 mi away
Travelodge West Bromwich hotel
Travelodge West Bromwich hotel
#2 of 5 in West Bromwich
59 reviews
4 mi away
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
3.1 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Halesowen
Travelodge Birmingham Halesowen
#63 of 118 in Birmingham
317 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2

Address: Birmingham Oldbury M5 J2 | Birchley Park, Oldbury, Sandwell B69 2BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sandwell > Oldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Price Range: $62 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2 3*
Number of rooms: 109
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a handy spot just off Junction 2 of the M5 you’ll find Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury. Guests enjoy a delicious buffet breakfast in the sociable Great Room. There’s free parking and free Wi-Fi is available throughout. We're a short drive from the offices of nPower, British Gas and the AA, and 30 minutes from major exhibitions and conferences at Birmingham NEC. You can reach the bustling heart of Birmingham by car from the hotel in just 15 minutes. Enjoy a glamorous shopping experience at the boutique-filled Bullring in the city centre, and let the kids get close to wildlife at the West Midland Safari Park, 16 miles from the hotel. Our modern bedrooms have modern decor, irons, ironing boards and hairdryers to each room. All of our rooms have en-suite shower rooms and 32-inch TVs. Family rooms for 4 people make us a good-value choice; sofabeds are ideal for 2 under-12s! The Great Room lounge offers a tempting menu in the evening and drinks from our contemporary bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury m5 Jct.2 Hotel Birmingham
Holiday Inn Birmingham
Birmingham Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2 England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing