We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite there with standards” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Oldbury Birmingham

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Oldbury Birmingham
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not quite there with standards”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

I've stayed here 3 times through work purely because of the convenient parking and location (by the motorway). Although generally it's a nice hotel, unfortunately there's always been something that has let me down- it's not quite there with standards of a ramada. Towels and sheets are off white, room's tend to stay cold, tele always glitchy and manager not so professional. Once there was a bad smell I couldn't work out and it was a pile of dirty dinner dishes left in the laundry storage cupboard next to my room! Also each time I've stayed the fire alarm has gone off during the night and I've been told it's faulty each time. I do hope management read these comments as this hotel has the makings to be a great place to stay- it's just lacking the brand standard.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    57
    65
    64
    73
See reviews for
19
63
19
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014 via mobile

The dector is really nice an beauiful.. Rooms are clean bed sheets where fresh an clean...Also the bathroom was spotless.... Staff were friendly and welcoming overall I payed 49 pound so brill stay an worth every penny

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed in ramada oldbury for one night receptionist florinda was friendly and welcoming. Hotel clean bed comfortable. The sad part now!!! We stay here frequently and this time was very disappointed when we went for breakfast instead of help yourself it's now you have to ask for your breakfast, no brown bread shriveled up fruit that looks like it's been there for days. No jug of tea no more and in darkness to eat. The sad part also is that the receptionist is also the bar maid, waitress and everything else one staff to cover everything not good. Florinda was getting loads of complaints and she was good in sorting out but no manager about at all to help, won't be staying here again

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Southernbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oldbury hotels

Sleaford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014

Absolutely nothing to complain about here. Nice, comfortable, warm and clean. Pleasant staff, doing their job efficiently with a smile on their faces. Problem is, as with all places like it, there is no soul. Doesn't help when a hotel is full of others on business. Nobody is there to have fun, and you can tell.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Budget Hotel,friendly staff
Room (203) had all the usual tea,coffee etc shower gel and shampoo, telly etc
Very worn and in need of updating
Bathroom small and had walk in shower ( which I prefer) Tap on basin plumbed in wrong way round but every thing worked
Again could do with an update as silicone around shower tray poor, paint stains on door
Room could do with a good clean and Hoover especially by the skirting boards
Room overlooked a busy road but this didn't bother me
Few restaurants nearby
Hotel has a restaurant which I had breakfast which was good but again restaurant in need of a good clean
Plenty of parking and close to M5

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Steve J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belper, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

First of all, when I found out I was staying at a Ramada hotel I was looking forward to it.

Upon arrival I wasn't sure what to make of it. From the front of the hotel, everything looks modern, plenty of free parking..

Inside, whilst mouthing wrong with the hotel, the decor would have been suited to a similar hotel in Mumbai. Again, nothing wrong with that, but the Indian theme is a little over the top.

TV good, wifi good, room good, bathroom good and the aircon was better than most.

The breakfast was again, good.

As a business stop over hotel it is good, and for the price that was paid, defiantly a bargain, would stay again.

Room Tip: Try it for yourself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bangkokram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
70 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

when i got to my room it was freezing and had to sit in my coat for an hour hoping it would warm up it didnt, the bathroom was like an ice box far too cold to shower .
I complained to the management they moved me to the adjacent room which was just as bad they ended up giving me a portable heater!!!! if i hadnt had to pay by card up front i would have checked out.
Other issues tap water no hotter than tepid, white towels that were yellowing through age, stained pillows and throws

very poor breakfast it opens at 7am, i turned up at 715 and the cooked items were at best luke warm!!
the last morning i went to make tea in my room i emptied the kettle, out came brown coloured water and chunks of limescale disgusting!!!
little things you notice smears on the glass door panels, pepper pots always empty cups cracked.
This is not and never will be a ramada hotel Avoid at all costs

Room Tip: book at another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel
6.9 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Oldbury Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Oldbury Birmingham

Property: Ramada Oldbury Birmingham
Address: International House 963 Wolverhampton Road, Oldbury B69 4RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Oldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Oldbury Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 mins from Jct 2 M5, stunningly decorated & newly built in '08, 81 rooms all en-suite, chic restaurant, free WiFi, lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Oldbury Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham Oldbury Hotel Oldbury
Oldbury Ramada
Ramada Oldbury Birmingham England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing