We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back to "horrible" Ramada :-(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ramada Oldbury Birmingham
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Kutna Hora, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Back to "horrible" Ramada :-(”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I've already stayed 2 times in this hotel in past when everything was really very good. To be honest I haven't read the newest reviews before I booked this hotel again. I quite highly recommended the hotel to colleagues and they confirmed it is OK, but when I arrived with my colleague to this hotel for 2 nights stay we were really scared. The reception desk was quite dirty, the rooms were horribly dirty (bathroom not cleaned, toilet totally dirty, hairs all over the bed). We were really loathed to touch anything. As it was very late in the evening it was difficult for us to find another hotel to stay so we stayed that night ... nearly without sleep :-( . In the morning we went for the breakfast - all dishes absolutely dirty, hairs in the food ...... .Internet connection didn't work at all. .

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaV033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

293 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    59
    70
    66
    75
See reviews for
20
63
19
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Devon
1 review
Reviewed October 17, 2013

My work booked this hotel for me for a 3 day stay. After reading the previous reviews I was not looking forward to going. But, actually I was quite satisfied with the place. It was easy to find, there is plenty of parking, a good foyer area. A nice restaurant area, which served lovely, hot, well portioned food. The staff are good enough ( I wonder if they just lack adequate direction and inspiration from the management though). All facilities available in the rooms that you could need. Well tiled shower/toilet room and wow! the heating thermostat worked! The décor is tired in places, but that didn't really matter. I think this place is just right for the market they attract which is mainly people who are on short business trips. So don't be put off.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Had to stay in the Oldbury area as my husband had an interview. He chose the hotel as it was close to where he needed to be.
When we drove up to the hotel it's grey exterior didn't look too inviting. Don't be fooled by the flashy chandelier hanging in the doorway that's as nice as it gets. Glass doors shabby, two chaise chairs also in reception area grubby and old. At this point I wanted to turn around and leave. An Indian restaurant is inside just next to the reception with a very small bar.
Wallpaper in stairwell peeling, scuffed and stunk of public toilets (cleaning fluid). Room was very small and dark. Horrible brown and black furniture. Had a hair dryer and iron tho as well as tea and coffee. Bathroom was poky and had bad lighting. No bath. Could barely get into the bathroom without knocking into the toilet. Towels were off white! Bed hard and pillow stuffing non existent. Dirty brown carpet had seen better days and thick dust behind bedside cabinet. No wonder I sneezed constantly. I'm not normally affected by dust. Lots of traffic noise during the night. The worst thing was a green fluorescent light in the ceiling that couldn't be turned off. Obviously a night light. I could see it even through closed eyelids. Can't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Don't stay here if you want a good nights sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Oldbury hotels

Hamilton Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2013

Stopped for nite while on business
Hotel needs a clean
Bar does not stock diet drinks with so many diabetic people this is poor
Breakfast ok
Plus point best toast maker I have experienced only one pass to get toast
Not a long stay place
Free parking very good

Room Tip: dont choose front as even with double glazing road is very busy so can still here traffic
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Boyd P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Reception staff was rude who checked us in rooms was nice an clean an looked modern bed was not that cosy... But the rooms overall was nice... Check out time was 11am that was fine was gettin ready gettin my things together an the phone rings at 1045... Reception was calling too tell me check out time is 11am Ermm yes I know it's not 11 yet... Couldn't wait to get u out the rooms wasn't happy

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lou3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

I've stayed a few times aver the last couple of years. This used to be 'ok' but nothing special. Now, I have to say it is going downhill. Generally the hotel wasn't clean, stained carpets etc. and maintenance of small issues like bulbs not being done. Hotel room very hot and a/c not working. Food quality getting worse. Staff on reception do not seem bothered.

Stayed September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SonsolesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond-upon-Thames, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you want to:

- Wait an eternity at an empty reception desk to check in.
- Check in to a dirty room (carpets need replacing, stains on lampshades, tired furniture, cramped bathroom
- listen to other guests swearing in the restaurant

Then you've come to the right place!

If not, please avoid.

Only positives were waitresses who were pleasant and leaving.

I won't be back, neither would I recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank millsonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oldbury
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
1.0 mi away
Premier Inn Birmingham Oldbury (M5, Jct2) Hotel
0.4 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Oldbury
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Birmingham West
2.7 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
2.5 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Oldbury Birmingham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Oldbury Birmingham

Property: Ramada Oldbury Birmingham
Address: International House 963 Wolverhampton Road, Oldbury, Sandwell B69 4RJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Sandwell > Oldbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Oldbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Oldbury Birmingham 3*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 5 mins from Jct 2 M5, stunningly decorated & newly built in '08, 81 rooms all en-suite, chic restaurant, free WiFi, lift. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ramada Oldbury Birmingham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Birmingham Oldbury Hotel Oldbury
Oldbury Ramada
Ramada Oldbury Birmingham England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing