We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience not to be repeated.....”
Review of Roman Way Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Roman Way Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hatherton
Norfolk
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“An experience not to be repeated.....”
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Don't be fooled by the photos on the website, the rooms are nothing like that! Having the misfortune to spend 5 nights here whilst doing a training course, I was really glad to be leaving & have cancelled my next booking in favour of Premier Inn down the road! Bad points are probably too many to list but here goes - stained carpet on entrance to bedroom, broken glass in window, window that didn't shut properly letting a lovely breeze in, mould in bathroom, cracked tiles, smelly shower curtain, broken plastic on shower dial, broken fixings on toilet seat, bland food, lack of personality from staff (except reception who were lovely!), poor service at breakfast, dusty public toilets & the loo brushes I won't even mention!! I could go on but don't want to bore everyone. The rooms are very varied but on the whole the hotel looks tired and dated and in desperate need of a facelift and leadership, just to finish the whole experience, the fire alarm went off on Sunday morning (I believe caused by someone boiling a kettle!!). Save your money and choose somewhere else to stay, there are several other places nearby.......if not, sleep in your car!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    35
    65
    37
    59
See reviews for
32
58
14
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2013

The roman Way Carvery was advertised as ''3 meat roast and all the trimmings to choose from''
I have never been so disappointed ever. We arrived at 2pm only 2 hours after opening time, pre booking before we arrived.
Upon paying and ordering for our drinks in what I can only describe politely as a very, very tired Bar Lounge.
We queued for our meal for over 20 minutes with 4 people in front of us. Who were complaining all the time for lack of Veg and meals going cold.
When finally I was served I was met by a very scruffy chef Who insisted in touching every piece of meat they served. Which I should say choice of 3 meats had now gone to choice of 1 meat only 2 hours after opening?. You can have Pork, Pork or Pork my wife was told or the scrappy bits.
We did complain and it was explained it was their first Weekend.
Unfortunately if this is Their Opening Night the manager needs to learn the concept of
''Customer First ''
Complaints are not dealt with face to face apparently you have to email them. ''That's a first''
We have been offered a free meal his Sunday. But really it’s just not worth it..
It was a horrible experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sideride101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hatherton hotels

wrexham
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

just spent a night there as a stop over on the way to a show with my wife and to be honest my wife and I were not expecting much for the price we payed but we were very pleasantly surprised , very clean , staff very very helpful , when we asked for a fan as my disabled wife suffers with not reacting to heat very well they got her a fan out of storage late at night , food was very reasonable and quiet area even though only about a mile from Cannock centre , will stay again without hesitation

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kelvin j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Albans, Herts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This hotel is an advert for the phrase, you get what you pay for. Or would have been before Premier Inn. First the good points, two of them, the receptionist on arrival and departure. Both were friendly, helpful and pleasant. I suppose the venue is a plus if you have a meeting with people arriving from four corners of the UK.

Now for the rest. The hotel is cheap, dirty and lacking in anything resembling comfort. The beds are uncomfortable and the sheets thin. The door on the room didn't shut and the shower was a trickle. The food at dinner could best be described as 1970s pub food although the drinks were a good price and again the service good.

The hotel is surrounded by a car depot and appears to serve as a transit point for drivers. The hi light of the evening (not the hotel's fault) was being hit on by two pissed occupants. All in all an experience not to be repeated.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Weegieexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was the third time I had stayed here in three years prior to an event at Hednesford. I was with a party of 25, had a meeting room booked for the Saturday, stayed overnight Saturday, and had the event on Sunday. (5/6 Oct., 2013).
Reception staff - Excellent and efficient.
Restaurant staff - very good.
Bar staff - so so.
The food served up was of a reasonable standard, the breakfast in particular was substantial.
The décor of the décor seems to be becoming a little dated and tired, but during my stays, rooms have always been clean, and beds most comfortable.
All in all, for the price being paid, good value for money. I have paid much more elsewhere and received much less.

Room Tip: Situated on the A5, eastbound from junction 12 of the M6. Rooms 110 plus are farthest away from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManchesterJohnH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We stayed here for a weekend and I wasn't overly impressed. The staff, to be fair, appear to be trying their hardest and we have no complaints on that score, indeed, the bar and waiting staff at the function we attended there were very good indeed - very efficient and seemed interested!

It's management/owner failings that let the place down. Try as he might, the poor chap doing the chambermaiding can't make a silk purse from a sow's ear. The rooms were cleaned and tidied as far as they could be but in our room alone, the carpet was stained, the bathroom extractor fan wasn't working, the shower temperature knob was broken and blackened and inoperative, the standard lamp was inoperative and the window dropped on it's hinges alarmingly if opened. There's no excuse for that sort of inattention and lack of basic maintenance. I'm pretty sure that we should have had a fire door closer on our bedroom door too.

The food was fair to middling. The breakfast was well cooked but the ingredients inferior. Most people nowadays can spot a cheap sausage and cheap beans a mile off! All in all, if someone else hadn't booked us in there, we'd have stayed at the Premier Inn over the road where at least you don't feel that, for the same money, they're trying to get away with as much as they can for as little as possible. 3/5 is generous....

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KernowExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

The hotel room was book for our wedding annaversary...it was to be a normal double room with breakfast inculded...price from booking.com was £43.00 for the two fo us. Once at the hotel we were told they had upgraded the room to the honeymoon suit at no extra cost. The room was huge, very tidy and a great suprise for us. We also booked a meal for that night and that too was lovely. The staff were very helpful and bent over backward to make sure our stay at the hotel was better than some of the places we have stayed. It was a quite time as we did book on the Sunday night till the Bank holiday Monday. We would book again and recomend to freinds and family.

Room Tip: Tip..the honeymoon suit was on the upper floor so not to good if you can't managed stairs..aslo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fusspuss21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatherton
1.1 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
188 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock
4.2 mi away
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Days Inn Cannock Norton Canes M6 Toll
5.6 mi away
The Moat House
The Moat House
#1 of 1 in Acton Trussell
808 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Western Birmingham Walsall Barons Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Way Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Way Hotel

Property: Roman Way Hotel
Address: Watling Street, Hatherton WS11 1SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Hatherton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hatherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Way Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Roman Way Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing