We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly but a dirty and dated.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Roman Way Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Roman Way Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hatherton
1 review
“Friendly but a dirty and dated.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Staff were very nice and can't be faulted. Car parking was easy too and the location easy to find. However the pretty dirty dated rooms let the place down. Overall, I'd probably stay in the Premier Inn over the road next time.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gedmaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    34
    61
    33
    54
See reviews for
28
56
12
62
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Stopped last night for an outing. I'd booked it though hotels.com for £47 we had some food and came to pay this morning trying to charge me £70+ for the room and food. (We had two burgers totalling about £13).

They'd tried charging 56 for the room even though I had confirmation at 47.

Overall rooms were good, spacious and the beds eat you up - they're so comfortable. Plenty of channels on television if that's you fancy. Bathrooms were clean also. However the bath itself is quite small .

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YanSolty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Not bad, stayed here a few times on business and one of the cheapest room rates I could find. Staff seemed very nice, room was outdated but tidy, bit warm in the room with no temperature control, bathroom presentable and clean and TV was modern with plenty of channels. No WiFi in the room, some places you may find a BT OpenZone but not here, not sure whether the hotel reception had one (presumably) but I used my personal hotspot anyway.

Most important thing is it seems clean apart from the dirty seats in the room, but I wasn't sitting in them so I didn't particularly care (could do with a sponge bath!!). Beds are a tad uncomfy. Lack of electrical sockets by the bed to put phone/laptop on charge (other side of the room) - some would call me lazy.

I haven't eaten here this time but have previously and the food wasn't bad if not a bit slow to arrive.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swansea99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

As a rep for a large company I put people into hotels when visiting this area
Over the years have used the Roman Way with no complaints.
However recently I am being told please dont put us in there again.
Service has deteriated, I am told breakfast is not up to standard.
Rooms too hot with no control over temperature
I believe it has been bought out, maybe new owners will be spending some money on the place.
Hope so as it used to be good

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Hatherton hotels

Henlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

For a one night stay my room at the Roman Way Hotel was perfectly adequate as the room was a good size with nice comfy bed and modern clean bathroom. It was let down by it's lack of sound insulation between rooms as I could hear snoring from one room and was woken by a child crying from another.

My biggest annoyance was that I had a knock on the door from housekeeping as I was packing up to leave. I just don't understand as it's not difficult to wait until guests have checked out before coming in to service the room! It made me feel rushed (this was only 9am) and then at reception, a mere 5 mins later, the receptionist was too busy getting her own breakfast to deal with me.

I wouldn't choose to stay here again - I'd probably book the Premier Inn instead.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fluffievelluto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

Well, this was recommended to me by a colleague who had stayed here lots of the years.

The rooms are tired and need modernising, my room smelt of stale smoke and harsh old persons air freshened.

Surprisingly the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom whilst not being the cleanest in the world had a very powerful shower, which was wonderful.

The walls are quite thin and you could here a lot if noise from the adjourning rooms.

The menu was ok, nothing amazing and the service was mediocre.

The wifi is chargeable which is disappointing.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Twink_Toes_77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

I have stayed here on several occasions on business over the years, as it is a great location being right on the A5 and close to the M6. Sadly, time hasn't been kind and the rooms are becoming dingy and in dire need of modernisation; the hallways to the rooms make you feel like you're walking through prison, so this kind of sets the scene before you even get to the room.

I have only eaten breakfast here as there is a Beefeater restaurant across the road. Breakfast has always been very good and cooked to order, so I'd like to think that you could expect the same with evening meals.

On another positive note, I was checked in by a freindly receptionist who had a pretty good handle on local amenities, which I do find rare in hotels these days. I was struggling to find diesel as the garage across the road had run out and she was able to direct me to several alternatives nearby. I found the same freindlyness with the other staff I met who all appeared to be locals.

I will continue staying here as the need arises as I like its location, it's reasonably cheap and the Ramada down the road is truely awful!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoyFromEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hatherton
1.1 mi away
Oak Farm Hotel
Oak Farm Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hatherton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
1.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Birmingham North - Cannock
0.0 mi away
Premier Inn Cannock South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Cannock (Orbital) Hotel
4.2 mi away
Mercure Stafford South Hatherton House Hotel
8.4 mi away
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
Fairlawns Hotel And Spa
#1 of 1 in Aldridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roman Way Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roman Way Hotel

Property: Roman Way Hotel
Address: Watling Street, Hatherton WS11 1SH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Hatherton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Hatherton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Roman Way Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Roman Way Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing