We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice location for shopping and by canalside and near to other attractions”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Bracknell Englan
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nice location for shopping and by canalside and near to other attractions”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

We went on a coach trip to Stratford on Avon and the Ludlow medieval fayre both of which were great for Christmas shopping and lovely locations. We stayed at copthorne merry hill overnight and had B and B. Nice location overlooking canal basin. Had a meal in restaurant, I had prawn cocktail and beef madras curry both of which were excellent. Restaurant had strange cherubs and sky for decor, bit random, I thought it looked unfinished. Service in restaurant at dinner and breakfast very pleasant staff but a bit slow. Had to wait ages for coffee! Room large and bathroom good but decor and furnishings shabby and dated. Time for a refurb! I think we had a good value we didn't pay much through the travel agent. No free wifi. No biscuits. You could upgrade for £25 per night, but a bit penny pinching to pay for wifi and biscuits! It is a four star hotel only 3 stars really! Restaurant staff need professional guidance on managing dining room. I am a picky customer I know, they were only doing their best and were young and pleasant but needed a hand with learning about service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rencat22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Rencat22

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent experience. I was delighted to read your comments regarding the quality of the food, though a little disappointed to see that you had found the service a little lacking! Please accept my sincere apologies for this.

I am delighted to update you that we are upgrading the restaurant, starting with new furniture which will be installed mid December.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    353
    182
    81
    51
See reviews for
169
319
30
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
194 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 24, 2013

We have been to Faraday's three times this year - it is the hotel restaurant at the Copthorne - each time has been fantastic, food and service second to none. It has that far away feel like you are in another country really, you don't feel like its in the Midlands! The al a carte menu has something for everyone and the wine list is brilliant, their house wine only about £20 which is reasonable for a hotel - last week I had smoked haddock with a lightly poached egg on a bed of spring greens - superb! The Waldorf salad to start was brilliant also. Our waitress was once again the lovely Justine who is such an asset to the hotel, she is so friendly and efficient - cannot fault her! Also, they were really busy with two large parties but that did not detract from the service we got - we will never tire of our visits to this restaurant - if it wasn't so close to home I would be tempted to stay overnight as the rooms are probably excellent - well done to the manager and all his staff for keeping high standards and good service.

Room Tip: Sorry - as stated, we live close to the hotel so only visit for dinner, but I am sure the staff will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephR3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear StephR3

Thank you so much for offering your feedback following your most recent visit to the restaurant. We are extremely blessed to work with some great people, Justene being one of them whom we receive much feedback about.

We look forwards to welcoming you again soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2013

As you enter the Hotel you notice how clean the hotel is. Our room comfortable and clean, the food very good, and above all the staff were excellent. We definitely recommend the Copthorne to anyone. 10 out of 10

Room Tip: Club room higher floors better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank William R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear William R

Thank you for your recent review and kind words. It is very much appreciated.

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this excellent hotel for the third time from 30th October to 2nd November recently and were not disappointed. The hotel and its staff were better than ever. The food was also to a high standard and the room we stayed in was spacious and very relaxing.
Overall, I would definitely recommend this hotel..it is also only 5 minutes walk from the Merry Hill Centre!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidEllis13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear DavidEllis13

I was delighted to read that you and your wife had enjoyed your recent stay with us. thank you so much for your kind words regarding the facilities and service offered.

We hope to welcome you again soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2013

When we arrived the small car park out front was full so we had to park in an overflow car park around the corner, not terrible but the signage to the car park wasn't clear so we had to run in to reception to make sure where it was.

Check in took longer than it should have as the one person checking in was constantly being interrupted by another member of staff doing some kind of cashing up. In my opinion anyone stood waiting to be checked in takes priority.

Our room was nice, clean and spacious. Although we didn't have the cot I'd requested that was resolved very quickly by a lovely lady from housekeeping.

The Welcome Pack was a terrible reflection on the hotel, poorly photocopied pages in an cheap A4 binder, I've seen much better in a cheap B&B. The bathroom had great mirrors for putting your make up on and there was a spare table, chairs, plenty of hanging room in the wardrobe.

As we were staying with our tuckered out 1 year old we decided to order room service but couldn't get through on the number given in the 'welcome pack' or on the number printed on the phone so we asked reception who got them to call us. It was a Saturday night but I thought it bad business as we were on the verge of going out to dinner (although our baby son was exhausted we needed to eat) when they called back. We had a similar problem getting through to reception the next morning so I just ended up going downstairs.

The food came relatively quickly and was well presented. It wasn't too bad at all, I had something called a Heidi Pie which was tasty as was the apple pie although it had raisins in which my other half hated I enjoyed it.

Our room was on the third floor to the right hand side of the hotel so was subject to a little loud music (not too bad if you kept the window closed) I think from a function in the hotel and it went on until after midnight which was annoying more than anything, not loud enough to keep any of us awake.

Breakfast was fairly good with a wide range of hot and cold options served in a nice dining room. Plenty of staff on hand to keep food and drink topped up and worth noting that the pastries were better than in allot of hotels I've stayed in. The fruit juices were concentrated which for me made them far too sweet so I watered them down but that was my only criticism of breakfast.

After breakfast we made use of the pool and a cheeky late check out and took our son for a swim which was enjoyed by all. The facilities were a little dated but totally fine apart from one stained towel which I just swapped it was a lovely start to the day.

Overall it was an ok stay but the noise was annoying. Oh and no free wi-fi (so eighties by the way) means as someone who relies on her laptop and phone I would never stay there more than one night which is a real shame as it's ideally located and apart from the odd niggle is a decent hotel.

Room Tip: Check if there is a function on as you may want rooms on the other side of the hotel away from the n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RaeSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
Dear RaeSteve

Thank you for your review and kind words regarding the cleanliness and food service and quality. I was sorry to read that you had encountered a couple of issues (noise & cot), please accept my sincere apologies for this.

The interuptions by a colleague during your arrival is not acceptable. I can assure you that this has sincer been discussed with the appropriate colleagues.

I can also update you that our Head Housekeeper is in the process of updating all of our welcome packs, a task she hopes to complete this coming week.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2013

I don't like giving negative reviews, so I won't but.... there are a few points I need to mention. We booked a Spa treatment through WIGIG (voucher type system) was only £10, for a 15 minute treatment. I had a back, neck and shoulder massage, as did my friend and it was wonderful. We thoroughly enjoyed it. The relaxation area is pretty non existent, plastic chairs and tables. The changing facilities need an update, rusty shower areas. Only 1 working hair drying, no electric points for hair straighteners. Swimming pool, Sauna and steam room were satisfactory, but lack of seating around the pool, only about 5 plastic chairs and 2 or 3 relaxers. Staff very friendly and helpful, just a general feel of old and needing updating.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ123456789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear JJ123456789

Thank you for your recent post, though I was sorry to read that you were not entirely satisfied with your experience at the hotel and particularly your spa experience.

This year we have invested in several areas to enhance the offer, such as poolside decoration, new steam room, gym and studio decoration etc.

In addition we have some new equipment arriving for the gym area that will be with us late December.

Thank you for your kind words regarding the service and treatments you received as these are areas that we do pride ourselves on.

We do hope you will come back again soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2013

We stayed here for one night on a stopover.
The hotel is right next to the Merry Hill shopping centre. There was plenty of car parking available and hotel has a nice entrance. Reception is big, spacious area, and the receptionist was very friendly and quick to check us in.
Our room was on the 4th floor, a really big room - with great views out over the canal. The room was clean, with everything we needed (except biscuits), bathroom was nice with a great powerful shower. Bed was big and comfortable and was very impressed with the room.
We used pool and leisure facilities twice during our stay - and again were very impressed. Jacuzzi was nice, good sized pool, and great steam room and sauna.
We didn't eat whilst at hotel so can't comment on food.
I would definitely recommend this hotel, we couldn't have been happier with it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Dear Gareth P

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience by posting a review. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brierley Hill
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Brierley Hill
98 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
2.6 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Property: Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Address: Level Street | The Waterfront, Brierley Hill DY5 1UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Brierley Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley. In the heart of the Black Country just 11 miles to the west of Birmingham, this fine modern hotel overlooks the picturesque Canal Marina and is just minutes away on foot from the prestigious Intu Merry Hill shopping complex. The hotel boasts 138 rooms & suites as well as impressive conference and banqueting facilities, catering for up to 600 delegates for meetings, weddings and conferences. Relax in our Le Club leisure centre whilst enjoying a beauty treatment or workout in the gym before taking a dip in the heated pool. Visitors can explore many various attractions, from Dudley Zoo, West Midlands Safari Park, Cadbury World and the Black Country Living Museum. Birmingham city centre is a short drive away with excellent shopping at the Bullring shopping mall, theatres and the Barclaycard Arena to watch all the major music artistes from around the world. With excellent access to the M5, M6 and M54 motorways and Birmingham International Airport, the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley looks forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, HRS, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Merry Hill Hotel Dudley
Dudley Copthorne Merry Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing