We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Freezing Cold Pool”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
derbyshire
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Freezing Cold Pool”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

The room was very tired, but grand. Swimming pool almost too cold to swim in. Staff very friendly but room wasnt ready on arrival and ask alfred had to be put into room quickly whilst we waited, free booklet wasnt with the pack, when asked got a photocopy! Told tickets posted never arrived said posted again never arrived had to ollect from the hotel on the day wasnt a problem because very near to Dudley Zoo, this was a Groupon deal. Very hot in the room with restriction on window and no air con. I suppose the price reflected the hotel. Staff at reception on arrival very kind and helpful. Breakfast was lovely.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank katherineDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear KatherineDerbyshire

Thank you for your kind words reagrding the staff and breakfast offer in your recent post. I was disappointed to read that you had experienced a couple of other issues whilst with us and with gaining your zoo passes. Please accept my sincere apologies for this.

The pool temperature is regulated at a temperature slightly higher than public swimming baths so I am supprised by your comment, though if I knew the date of your stay would be happy to review our records.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    319
    353
    182
    81
    51
See reviews for
169
319
30
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

We booked a double room as we were attending a family wedding. The reception staff were very helpful and polite. The whole day was great! All staff involved for the wedding were brilliant, the flow of the day was perfect. The double room was clean, tidy and bed was very comfortable. The self serve breakfast was lovely, again greeted by friendly polite staff that showed us to our tables. We have stayed here before and was pleased, and this stay was equally as good.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Tina B

I was delighted to read your recent review and see that you had enjoyed your time with us. Thank you for sharinging your experience.

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

This hotel has not had very good views but we found it ecellent. Good location, superb rooms and wonderful breakfast. The staff were very helpful. The only thing bad was the telvision was not an up to date one, but even so it still did the job. Ecellent.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear Anne C

Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review following your time with us. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your time with us and hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashbourne, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I booked in for one night. My room 120 was a mini suite and looked very promising as a good value business rate room. I was worried that the noisy extraction fan I could hear maybe a problem, but felt it may die down when I returned from my night out. I arrived back at 10.40 and tried to settle down, but the noise was too loud and after 2 hours of trying to sleep I called reception who were excellent and along with the night porter transferred me to a spare room down the corridor. Both the receptionist and night porter were exceptionally helpful. I was told I could sleep in the new room and leave my stuff in the noisy room, but I decided it would be easier to relocate even though it was about 1am. The new room was a disabled room, which was fine and I slept very well in peace. I think anyone would find it very hard to sleep in room 120 or any near to it as the noise from the fan was excessive and I would be very surprised if no one had complained before about this. All credit to the receptionist and the night porter, but I could of done without the hassle as I was tired in need of good nights sleep.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Dear DerbyshireJames

Thank you so much for your review and kind words regarding the service you recieved, though I was sorry to read of the impact on your comfort caused by the noise. Please accept my sincere apologies for this.

Please feel free to contact me when returning to the area and I will be able to allocate a room accordingly.

In addition the interuption will be investigated with our property mainteneance team.

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

My wife and I had to find temporary accommodation in the interim whilst moving house locally. We considered renting a property short term but they all required a minimum of a 6 months contract. We anticipated it would be only for 4-5 weeks. Although we have stayed many times over the last 15 years at functions we were anxious about it all and after talking to The Copthorne we decided to stay. I have to say that we were very apprehensive.....but we need not have worried in the slightest.

The staff were extremely helpful and always courteous and nothing was too much trouble. The room was fine and clean but as other reviews state they can be warm as there is no aircon. The Health club is excellent and very clean and was never overcrowded.

I agree it is a little hit and miss at times in the bar and restaurant but the foot fall was so unpredictable and it must be a supervisors nightmare to try and predict staffing levels. The one saving grace was that the staff worked great as a team and everyone got stuck in at busy times. Overall the food was good although a little on the high price side, and I think we detected a change of chef during our stay which resulted in a small noticeable change sadly.

As with most 20+ year old hotels in the region it is time for a refit but understandably in these these austere times the board must be cautious and only do the essentials and remedial work as and when required until the economy and confidence picks up.

Yes, it would be nice to air conditioning and plusher carpets (I think the rates would go up though) but the hotel is immaculately clean, convenient to local amenities (not that I am a shopper) and the staff friendly and helpful. Housekeeping could not do enough for us, they made us feel at home.
Thank you all for an excellent stay which extended to 9 weeks.

PS. The Black Country breakfasts are wonderful......

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Whats_The_Fuss_About
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Whats_The_Fuss

Thank you so much for your kind words. It was a pleasure to be able to make you feel at home whilst you waited to move in.

Be sure to pop in from time to time

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Country, UK
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Clean large comfortable room, pity no air conditioning because it was very very hot, lovely view over the waterfront at night, staff very polite and helpful. The disco from an event could be heard as we had the window open but was not overtly disturbing, however we could tell when it was the break for buffet. Bathroom is lovely, very clean and the weighing scales were a nice touch! Lovely comfortable clean bed, really relaxing stay.

Room Tip: Ask about air conditioning hot hot hot!!! Friday night, could hear the disco and dj from the event...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ms-HappyBlackCountry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear Ms-HappyBlackC

Thank you so much for sharing your recent experience, we hope to welcome you again soon.

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed August 9, 2013

I stayed for one night. Unfortunately there was a wedding here. The other guests are treated as if they do not exist. Went to the restaurant. Waited 1/2 hour for my drink before and no sign of anyone to take my order. Right now I'm hungry but they do not care. Disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lucyblue6666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, August 14, 2013
Dear lucyblue6666

Thank you for your recent post. I was disappointed to read that you felt as though we had not offered you the same service level as other clients. Please accept my sincere apologies for this.

May I suggest that whne you are returning to the area, you contact me directl? - matt.ward@millenniumhotels.com

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brierley Hill
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Brierley Hill
98 reviews
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
2.6 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Property: Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Address: Level Street | The Waterfront, Brierley Hill DY5 1UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Brierley Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley. In the heart of the Black Country just 11 miles to the west of Birmingham, this fine modern hotel overlooks the picturesque Canal Marina and is just minutes away on foot from the prestigious Intu Merry Hill shopping complex. The hotel boasts 138 rooms & suites as well as impressive conference and banqueting facilities, catering for up to 600 delegates for meetings, weddings and conferences. Relax in our Le Club leisure centre whilst enjoying a beauty treatment or workout in the gym before taking a dip in the heated pool. Visitors can explore many various attractions, from Dudley Zoo, West Midlands Safari Park, Cadbury World and the Black Country Living Museum. Birmingham city centre is a short drive away with excellent shopping at the Bullring shopping mall, theatres and the Barclaycard Arena to watch all the major music artistes from around the world. With excellent access to the M5, M6 and M54 motorways and Birmingham International Airport, the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley looks forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HRS, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Merry Hill Hotel Dudley
Dudley Copthorne Merry Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing