We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food and views.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Although on this occasion we only went for a meal, we have previously stayed at the hotel and also got married here. This time was no different to any other, staff were very friendly and helpful, food was lovely and served without delay and the hotel and clean and quiet. I couldnt of asked for better. The only downside is the drinks are very pricey......

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank williams80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Williams80

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your time with us again and thank you for posting your review.

Thank you again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,019)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

684 - 690 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2013

Second stay here. Hotel generally clean. Rooms a fair size and comfortable, but often noisy. However No air con. Room very hot enable to open window more than a few inches. Ask for fan but were told they were all out. Maybe they should buy more. So sleep was difficult.

Breakfast good. Evening meal expensive for what it was and bar prices! wow £4.08 for a small bottle of cider. Good food pub across the bridge. Weatherspoons methinks. Drinks less than half price, suggest you try this first.

Room Tip: Had a room at the rear overlooking cannel. However late night noise from pub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank capt_moonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear Capt_Moonraker

Thank you for yuor recent review and kind words regarding the size and cleanliness of our rooms.

I was sorry to read that you experience was uncomfortable due to the weather conditions. I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Excellent customer service, large room with good sized bathroom. Extremely clean through out. Great nights sleep. Only disappointment was the bar food which sounded fancy on paper, was basic on the plate. Swimming pool good size and an added bonus. Would recommend staying here and visiting Dudley zoo & castle :)

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry_gillard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear kerry_gillard

Thank you for taking the time to post a review following your recent stay with us and visit to the surrounding area. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the facilities and service recieved, though I was disappointed to read that you had not been entirely happy with the bar food. Please accept my sincere apologies for this.

I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I chose the Copthorne as part of a 'jolly' to celebrate her Society's 50th anniversary and to show her colleagues from all around the UK the delights of the Black Country. Canals, local industry, Stourbridge Glass, Ma Pardoe's 'faggots 'n paes', the lot. We used the hotel as a base for two night's stay plus a formal meal on the first night. We were not disappointed - in fact, we were delighted with just about everything from the service and hospitality to the warmth of welcome, which included several discreet approaches by the Manager himself, Mr Ward, to ensure we were all OK. Nothing intrusive, just sheer professionalism. As my mate Arnie says: 'I'll be back'. Great stuff.

Room Tip: Overlooking The Waterfront, if possible; just remember this was once the very heart of the mighty Ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank HarleymanG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

Dear HarleymanG

Thank you for your kind words following your recent visit to the hotel and surrounding area. It was a real treat to be able to support you in showcasing what we have to offer in the region and hope to work with you again in the future for similar projects.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel many times and although it needs an urgent makeover its not a bad place for a stay.
Our check in experience was spoiled by us being told our room was not ready at 12:30pm even though we had paid for the Club package which includes a 12:00pm check in. So the hotel lost out on a lunch for the two of us.
The room was good and very clean and an excellent view of the canal basin from the 4th floor.
I checked the on screen billing next morning to find that they had charged me twice for my stay but that was soon sorted out by the excellent duty manager.
Ok its tired and service sometimes lacking but its like an old shoe,comfortable.
Makeover time please!

Room Tip: Go for a Club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard1242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Richard1242

Many thanks for your recent post and subsequent kind words.

We are working with our central team on various area that will enhance the hotels offer. The most recent would be the redecoration of the poolside area, with more to follow.

We look forwards to welcoming you again soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2013

We got this hotel with expedia through their secret hotels deal. It was described as a 4 star hotel with full spa facilities. We got a good deal and stayed for 2 nights. The hotel is large and has a rich 1980's style opulence about it. The reception staff were efficient (without being charming or friendly) the room was well furnished but had an absurdly small television (the kind you might put in a boat.) The room was warm. The bed was soft. It was all OK rather than splendid.

We had a drink in the bar. The tables were sticky - and it looked like they hadn't been cleaned for ages. That put us off. We had a swim and a soak in the spa area - and that was above average.

The staff at the spa were professional. All the spa facilities were working and were clean and inviting. Later we chanced another visit to the sticky-table bar. The bar staff were very helpful and the drinks were served quickly and elegantly. The service was so good we stayed for another round of drinks - but why was the place so tacky?

Our room overlooked the canal. And on the other side of the water are several cafes/pubs/eateries. But most of these were shut and/or boarded up. The Wetherspoons was still open though - and so we took breakfast there. It is quite a small Wetherspoons property - but the prices and service were good there - as always.

Just a short distance away is the Waterfront - Merryhill shopping development. This is an amazing place (if you don't know about it already) with all the shops and dining you could ever wish for.

We took a short walk down the canal tow path in the sun. It was very pleasant.

To get into Wolverhampton cost us £12 for a minicab.

This hotel seems to still be languishing in the glorious memories of it's heyday. But it needs a thorough clean up, refurb and a sort-out if it is to be still seen as a luxury 4 star resort.

Room Tip: Overlooking the canal is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank neilmach_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Neilmach_UK

Thank you for your recent review. I was pleased to see that you had made good use of the facilities avaialble and had enjoyed your time in the Leisure Club.

We hope to welcome you again soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013

The booking was made in in March and the charge for B & B was £71.98 per couple, we felt good value for money. We were a party of ten, been friends since the 1960's like to have a get together on neutral ground. This was a perfect venue, lovely walk along the canal. Excellent swimming pool area. The room was clean and tidy and the bed comfortable. The meal on Saturday night was delicious. The breakfast was also excellent. All the staff were helpful, attentive and friendly. Close to the Black Country Living Museum which we all visited en route home.
Would definitely use this hotel again.

We had a room on the first floor above the spa entrance and could hear the A/C unit but for one night it did not matter.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter and corner suites are large & sunny. Higher floors have les...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sile47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Dear Sile47

Thank you so much for posting your review. I was delighted to read that you and your friends had enjoyed your reunion. Thank you also for your kind words regarding the services recieved.

Should you be keen to look at any future gatherings, please feel free to contact me as we can also look at activities locally for you to consider in your free time - matt.ward@millenniumhotels.com

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brierley Hill
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
2.8 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Brierley Hill
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
7.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
812 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 21 in Wolverhampton
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Address: Level Street | The Waterfront, Brierley Hill DY5 1UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Brierley Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Price Range: $76 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley. In the heart of the Black Country just 11 miles to the west of Birmingham, this fine modern hotel overlooks the picturesque Canal Marina and is just minutes away on foot from the prestigious Intu Merry Hill shopping complex. The hotel boasts 138 rooms & suites as well as impressive conference and banqueting facilities, catering for up to 600 delegates for meetings, weddings and conferences. Relax in our Le Club leisure centre whilst enjoying a beauty treatment or workout in the gym before taking a dip in the heated pool. Visitors can explore many various attractions, from Dudley Zoo, West Midlands Safari Park, Cadbury World and the Black Country Living Museum. Birmingham city centre is a short drive away with excellent shopping at the Bullring shopping mall, theatres and the Barclaycard Arena to watch all the major music artistes from around the world. With excellent access to the M5, M6 and M54 motorways and Birmingham International Airport, the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley looks forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Merry Hill Hotel Dudley
Dudley Copthorne Merry Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing