We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely but overpriced food”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Title says it all really, particulary the restaurant! Booker beware!

Rooms are nice and of a good standard but eat out!

Breakfast was lush mind - plenty on offer and the service was of a good standard.







  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tripreview84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear tripreview84

Many thanks for your recent post and kind words regarding the hotel. I should mention that we currently have three menu's on offer ranging from bar snacks with some old favourites, to our restaurant offering a set menu as well as a la carte. Each offering a different dinning experience and price tag.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,020)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

694 - 700 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were attending a wedding nearby and my husband booked us into this lovely hotel for the night. We had a suite and the whole experience was luxurious. Wonderful staff, a delicious breakfast, spotlessly clean and lovely views of the canal. I wish we'd been able to stay longer to make the most of all the things to do in the area. I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lulu191959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Lulu191959

I was delighted to read your recent review, thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience.

We do offer a package called "Leisure for longer", this is available on our own website that gives you a dicount when staying three nights or more.

We hope to welcome you again soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

We got married at this hotel a few years back,we return every year without fail,we do the themed nights here and also the chirstmas meal with Santa about 70 of us in total. I must speak truthfully and must say the staff are superb so friendly and also always there to help,nothing it to much bother to me or my family. The food speaks for itself and i have never had a bad meal here so i cant for the life of me understand bad reviews about the food.. The room is excellent clean and very tidy as i would expect from such a good chain of hotels. I will continue to use this hotel as long as werre alive,it holds nothing but great memorys and great times for me and my family,we love it here and always made to feel special and welcome..

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded June 25, 2013

Dear Craig D

Thank you so much for your kind words. It is lovely to read that you are such a fan of the team and services on offer.

We look forwards to welcoming you again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Really nice hotel me and my husband stooped here for 2 nights from the 14/6/13 to 16/6/13 the staff was very pleasant and the room was very clean with a view of the water front if we needed out like towels etc the staff would be with you right away there was nothing wrong at all we are very pleased and we will be staying again thanks so much

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liljobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded June 26, 2013

Dear Liljobi

Thank you so much for your review, I was delighted to read that you had both enjoyed your time with us and will be returning.

We look forwards to welcoming you again soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

My daughter and I booked this hotel to access the NEC in Birmingham. We had tickets for BBC Good Food show. We did not want to stay in Birmingham centre as we thought it may be a bit noisy. Our hotel was nice and quiet and it only took 45 mins to the NEC. There is a very nice shopping centre 5 mins away with a few eating places. We made use of the hotels swimming pool and jacuzzi which was enjoyable and good to relax in after all the walking we had done at the NEC. Our room had a nice view of the canal and was a good size and very clean. Our only complaint was that it was very warm and there was no air con but this was soon rectified when I mentioned at reception. A large fan was brought to our room within ten mins! Also the tv was a small portable and didn't have a very good picture. We found the breakfast excellent, plenty of choice and staff very helpful. Unfortunately dinner was a disappointment. I chose a salmon dish and it was burnt to a crisp and sat on a bed of frozen vegetables! The waitress apologised and replaced it with another one.

Room Tip: Book a club room, good size and nice view of canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Chris W

Thank you for posting a review following your recent stay and subsequent trip to the area. I was disappointed to read that you had an issue with your salmon, though pleased to read that this was rectified very quickly.

I really appreciate your comments and commendations for other services and facilities on offer.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

This was our 2nd visit here . the Food .staff and room were excellent. nothing was too much trouble. clean rooms
bar prices were a tad high but this is normal for hotels . Witherspoons and another pub just over the canal were a cost effective option.
spa, sauna area and pool were fantastic , clean and heated .
the clubroom option included wifi -dressing gowns complimentary water and toiletries .

we have also stopped in other local hotels in the area (park inn and the de vere village) which are not really in the same league

Room Tip: have the breakfast in room option .Club room option is well worth the extra pub next door and withe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank steve R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear Steve R

Thank you so much for your kind words following your recent stay with us at the hotel. I was delighted to read that you'd enjoyed your experience with us.

We look forwards to welcoming you again

Yours sicnerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2013

I got a good deal on staying one night, and I have been in Copthourne Hotels before, so decided to stay. It is a lovely hotel, up on the hill, next to the Marina area of the Canal. The area is very clean and tidy and modern with the old Canal running though it. We ate at the pub next door which was good too. Walked the dog along the canal, the authorities have tried very hard to promote business and all the new offices around make it a bit sterile, but it is a suprisingly nice place to be. It is just above a huge shopping mall. The gym, pool, breakfast, bed etc, was, of course, excellent. So it you fancy some shopping or a good gym or a stroll along a canal.

Room Tip: not above the disco or smokers area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billybiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded June 24, 2013

Dear BillyBuscuits

I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your time with us and made the most of the surrounding area.

Thank you so much for sharing your experience

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brierley Hill
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
2.8 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Brierley Hill
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
7.8 mi away
The Mount Hotel
The Mount Hotel
#3 of 21 in Wolverhampton
812 reviews
5.3 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 21 in Wolverhampton
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Address: Level Street | The Waterfront, Brierley Hill DY5 1UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Brierley Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Price Range: $76 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley. In the heart of the Black Country just 11 miles to the west of Birmingham, this fine modern hotel overlooks the picturesque Canal Marina and is just minutes away on foot from the prestigious Intu Merry Hill shopping complex. The hotel boasts 138 rooms & suites as well as impressive conference and banqueting facilities, catering for up to 600 delegates for meetings, weddings and conferences. Relax in our Le Club leisure centre whilst enjoying a beauty treatment or workout in the gym before taking a dip in the heated pool. Visitors can explore many various attractions, from Dudley Zoo, West Midlands Safari Park, Cadbury World and the Black Country Living Museum. Birmingham city centre is a short drive away with excellent shopping at the Bullring shopping mall, theatres and the Barclaycard Arena to watch all the major music artistes from around the world. With excellent access to the M5, M6 and M54 motorways and Birmingham International Airport, the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley looks forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Merry Hill Hotel Dudley
Dudley Copthorne Merry Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing