We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't think of a reason to stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Can't think of a reason to stay here”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Fortunately this was just a one-night stay on business, but it will certainly be my last.

Merry Hill is a strange mid-1980s development centred around a big shopping mall, and my guess is that the hotel has never been updated since it was built nearly 30 years ago.

The room was clean, but faded with an odd configuration of a double and a single bed with a triangular table pushed to one side to make room for the single bed. When I arrived I wanted to watch cricket on the TV but I quickly found out that this was a major problem. The TV was a 17 inch box TV at least 25 years old, The TV was a Philips17HT3402 in case anyone wants to confirm its age! it carried maybe 8 channels excluding sports channels, but only three of the channels gave anything like acceptable viewing quality. Both picture and sound quality were extremely poor.

So I decided to get Sky Sports on my laptop and attempted to log on to the wifi system (chargeable!). After 3 failures, I tried to phone reception for help, but after waiting 3 minutes for a reply I dialled the Concierge instead. After a minute I was automatically transferred to the operator, and then gave up after a further 4 minute wait for a reply. I went down to reception and was given a code to access wifi, but I need not have bothered. I did get connected, but the connection was unbelievably slow so that trying to load streaming video consisted of 45 seconds of viewing followed by 30 seconds of buffering - a total waste of time and I quickly gave up!

I tried to console myself with a pint of beer in the (empty) bar but the price of £3.80 gave me no consolation.

I took a shower. The bathroom is as outdated as the rest of the room, but the shower was crazy. The fixed shower head jetted out a painful fine spray but it had no adjustment of any sort and a 20 second shower was enough for me! I stepped out of the bath and almost fell headlong as I discovered that the base of the bath was almost 6 inches higher than the floor - very unexpected and very dangerous.

I had paid the advance booking no-refund rate of £50 bed only and if I hadn't paid in advance I think I would have checked out within an hour of my arrival.

This hotel is just not in the league of the other Copthorne Hotels I have been to - it's a shame to see what was once a well-reputed name for quality dragged down to this level.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AllenKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear MartyCR

Many thanks for your recent post, though I was disappointed to read of the issues you had experienced whilst with us. Please accept my sicnere apologies for this.

We have a roll out plan agreed for TV's throughout the country with ours scheduled to arrive later this year.

Whilst we do not have Sky Sports in the bedrooms, this is available in the bar area located on the ground floor.

I was disappointed to also read of your internet issues. We have a help desk available to us via our supplier which may have been able to resolve this matter.

Please feel free to let me know personally if you are returning to the area, whereby I will do my level best to ensure you a comfortable return - matt.ward@millenniumhotels.com

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    353
    183
    81
    51
See reviews for
169
320
30
230
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (248)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Had a 2 night stay here for a weekend away, all was great. Great hotel, lovely food and very friendly and helpful staff. Good choice of food and drink in the restaurant, very good facilities in the hotel, great location as its close to local attractions.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMH34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear SMH34

Many thanks for your recent review. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your time with us.

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at the Copthorne a few years ago and really liked it - on my return, however, I was shocked by how dated it seems. The rooms are a bit gloomy and old-fashioned, and just seem a little unloved. Dumb, outdated ideas like paid wifi still in place - are we not yet at a point where free wifi is a basic expectation? Also, as many others have commented, the tv is like a relic from another age. Tiny, boxy, with poor reception. The staff and service all seemed good at this hotel (in my limited experience of a two-night stay) but really - this place is screaming out for an update.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waltz2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My colleague and I stayed at the Copthorne for 3 nights - company booking made for two rooms. Due to corporate rate arranged, it was assumed that our booking was for bed only. Fortunately we had a copy of our booking. For the subsequent 3 mornings, our breakfast booking had to be verified as well as us being asked to sign for our breakfast so charges could be raised.
My colleague found a used tampon in bathroom waste bin.
There was a hole in the bathroom door.
Decor very jaded, dated and mismatched.
Old television.
In my room, same jaded decor and completely at odds - one 'bouncy' office chair, and an easy chair with holes in the upholstery and braid loose and falling off. After complaint was made, this chair was replaced with one from the bar area.
Bath towel was thin and washed out.
Desk area - side panel veneer was peeling off.
Cigarette burns in carpet.
Flat lumpy pillows.
No classic music channels available on radio channel of antiquated television.
No television guide available.
Hotel stationary / brochure not reflective of a 4* hotel.
Shower useless as shower curtain did not prevent water getting onto the floor.
Duct tape across the carpets in the corridors and in the bar / restaurant area.

Work-wise - very convenient to stay there, but certainly would not be my choice; the owners need to spend some time and money to get problems sorted. Maintenance and upkeep sadly lacking - these problems cannot be blamed on the management and staff of the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MyraPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear MyraPaula

Thank you so much for your recent post, though I was saddened to read that you and your colleague had not enjoyed your time with us. Please accept my sincere apologies for this.

May I recommend that you contact me directly when due to return to the area as I would very much like to make up for your previous experience - matt.ward@millenniumhotels.com

I hope to hear from you soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dudley, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Myself and 7 friends had booked a spa day using a groupon voucher at this spa facility. Having been on spa days before we were all excited. This is the worst spa day I've had. We phoned the day prior to our booking to check times, and to we if we needed to provide our own towels/robes etc. on the phone we were told our treatments would begin at 10am and that we should be there for 9:30. Upon arrival we were told we'd missed our first treatment as it was at 9:15. We were also told that although there were plenty of towels in the spa, there were only 4 robes in the whole of the spa. Yes, 4. And we hadn't got in early enough to get them.

Moving onto the lunch, it was good food, but we had to wait a good 10mins for someone to seat us even though the restaurant only had 2 sets of couple in. Also found a small piece of plastic in one of the deserts, which the waitress told us was an apple pip. It wasn't , it was plastic.

When we returned to the spa for the rest of the treatments there was much confusion over times of treatments with two of our girls being told 3 different times for their treatments. Depending on who you spoke to the appointments were either 3:45, 4:30 or 4:45.

At the end of our spa day we sat in the reception area waiting for our lifts home. While waiting we heard the staff behind the desk saying that 'we are just waiting for them lot to move now' in an annoyed tone. As we got up to leave and were walking through the door we were suddenly called back to reception to tell them our groupon security code, that they all of a sudden needed, but waited until we were leaving to ask for, even though they were sat with us for 20 mins while we were waiting for our lifts. All in all the day was disappointing and very lacklustre. Wouldn't recommend. We felt that we weren't getting the same level of service as other guests, purely because we were groupon customers.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Aurora113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Aurora113

Thank you for your review though I would appreciate the opportunity to investigate your comments further.

Can you please provide me with details of your experience, i.e. date, lead name etc?

matt.ward@millenniumhotels.co.uk

Many thanks

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Absolutely disgusted with the response from the hotel, after me and my colleague both had our purses stolen whilst at a conference at this hotel. Management offered no apology, failed to return calls and offered no support in terms of police investigation.

Stayed May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank JodieColb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Jodie

As with a comment posted earlier, please contact me directly as I will be happy to support you and learn more about your experience.

matt.ward@millenniumhotels.co.uk

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Nice reception and communal areas, rooms good size a little dated but not bad. Leisure facilities fine except steam room filthy and no steam at all. Breakfast ok but lots of things had run out had to keep asking for plates, juice and other things which should have been out.

Had a meal in the hotel. Food was lovely but portions reiculously small for price. Meal was overpriced really. Ood location for shopping and beer tour as this is why we stayed here.

Overall a good stay but probably wouldn't eat again for the price!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Laura

Many thanks for your post.

I was disappointed to read that you had not enjoyed all aspects of your experience. Please accept my sincere apologies for this.

We offer three menu's at the hotel which also enable people to dine for a variety of price levels. These include bar menu, table d'hote and a la carte, should you be returning to the area, please do let me know matt.ward@millenniumhotels.co.uk

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brierley Hill
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Brierley Hill
98 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Birmingham Oldbury M5 Jct.2
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Birmingham Kingswinford
2.6 mi away
Station Hotel
Station Hotel
#5 of 6 in Dudley
226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Property: Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Address: Level Street | The Waterfront, Brierley Hill DY5 1UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Brierley Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley. In the heart of the Black Country just 11 miles to the west of Birmingham, this fine modern hotel overlooks the picturesque Canal Marina and is just minutes away on foot from the prestigious Intu Merry Hill shopping complex. The hotel boasts 138 rooms & suites as well as impressive conference and banqueting facilities, catering for up to 600 delegates for meetings, weddings and conferences. Relax in our Le Club leisure centre whilst enjoying a beauty treatment or workout in the gym before taking a dip in the heated pool. Visitors can explore many various attractions, from Dudley Zoo, West Midlands Safari Park, Cadbury World and the Black Country Living Museum. Birmingham city centre is a short drive away with excellent shopping at the Bullring shopping mall, theatres and the Barclaycard Arena to watch all the major music artistes from around the world. With excellent access to the M5, M6 and M54 motorways and Birmingham International Airport, the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley looks forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Merry Hill Hotel Dudley
Dudley Copthorne Merry Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing