We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still as good as the first time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Reviewed January 22, 2013

I have lost count of the number of times that we have treated ourselves to a weekend at this hotel. Perfect location for Merry Hill Shopping Centre - literally a five minute walk, and in the other direction is Brierley Hill High Street with more shops. Rooms are very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast and evening meals are good quality. We will certainly be going back.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the canel tend to be quieter. Also, the rooms above the entrance teend to be the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulturner5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Paul

Many thanks for your recent post. I was delighted to read you comments and am pleased to see that you have been enjoying the facilities and service on offer, as well as the surrounding amenities.

We look forwards to welcoming you back again soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,089)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

829 - 835 of 1,089 reviews

Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I have now stayed at this hotel twice on business and on both occasions have found the staff to be friendly and helpful. The hotel is well located and the main hotel areas are modern clean and tidy. In my opinion however the rooms are tired, old fashioned and could really do with updating. The rooms are comfortable and clean, just not what you would expect of a 4* hotel and at the price you pay. I had room service on this occasion and it was nice however I ate in the restaurant with a colleague on my first stay which was a mistake - expensive food which was disappointing.... It appears this has now improved. In summary - comfortable acceptable well located slightly dated but would stay again.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LittleMilli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear LittleMilli

Thank you for your recent post and kind words about the team and services received.

So that you are aware we operate three menu's in Faradays Bar and Restaurant; a bar menu, plus two options in the restaurant itself, which includes and set menu which is well received and great value for money.

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I stayed here for one night, which was paid for by the company - the annual Yuletide knees-up!

The reception staff are very pleasant and obliging. The rooms are clean and the towels are fluffy. The beds are comfortable.

Part of our festivities was the Broadway show. It was better than I expected - not just a bunch of pub singers, but some genuinely talented girls and boys.

The food for the evening was slightly worse than school dinners and only mildly warm. This, I suppose is to be expected, as serving upwards of 200 people at once, well...

The breakfast is buffet style and acceptable for what it is. I usually ask for a poached egg though - the fried variety tend towards the rubbery.

We also had a buffet lunch, which was fine.

What was really unacceptable though, we're the bar prices. I know places like this like a healthy mark up at the bar, but they charge more for a glass of cheap red plonk served at below room temperature than one can pay for a whole bottle of something eminently drinkable from the supermarket. The hideously overpriced bar is out of place at this venue. It is a 4* hotel - nothing more.

Overall then, it's not a bad place. If its a good time you're after at Christmas, it works. Just bring your own bottle!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Officerincharge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Officerincharge

Thank you for your recent feedback. I was pleased to read that you had enjoyed your stay overall and in particular the entertainment offered with our Broadway show.

We do offer pre-order options ahead of party nights which enable people to buy wine and drinks packages at a slightly lower price.

Thank you once again and I hope that we will see you back to celebrate Christmas 2013.

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed here 31st dec 2012 for the family new year party, the room was spacious and comfortable and the leisure facilities were very good. The food was excellent both on the evening and buffet breakfast and the organization was also very good together with the staff, the two things that i could complain about was the very small basic old television and scandulous prices of the drinks behind the bar.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jason251268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Jason

Thank you for your recent post. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your New Years evening at our family event.

Please be aware that we do offer drinks discounts for items purchased in advance. In addition we are currently offering 10% off the ticket price for 2013 and include a welcome drink of bubbly. This is available to bookings, where deposits are paid before the end of feb 2013. Please do let me know if I can help you with this booking matt.ward@millenniumhotels.co.uk

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Just wanted to let you all know what an absolutely fab night we had at the New Year’s Eve Hogmanay Ball.
The reception was lovely, the waiters and waitress service excellent. One guy called Ali was extremely polite and very informative about what he was serving. They were all excellent.
Then we went through to a beautifully decorated room, it was quite stunning. The food was scrumptious, compliments to the chef. The Maître ‘D’ was the perfect host and on point all night. I know I may be going on a bit, but it was just a perfect night (which is difficult to find), right down to the bag pipes and the Burns poem for the “Address of the Haggis” .
Entertainment (two singers) and DJ were fab.
Your team did you proud, fantastic night all in. Well worth every penny. If you are looking to book a traditional Hogmanay next year this is the place to be. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: we did not stay over as we live close.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angela t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Angela

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent New Years Eve experience. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed your experience.

We are currently offering people 10% off last years price plus a welcome drink of bubbly for all bookings where deposits are paid before the end of Feb 2013. Please do let me now if I can re-book this for you matt.ward@millenniumhotels.co.uk

We hope to welcome you back soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed here 31st Dec 2012 and attended the Flashback Disco event. The rooms are comfy and basic but at £85.00 for two including All you can Eat breakfast on New Years Eve you cant complain! But the shower was one of the most powerful I have ever used! IF we didnt have the party to get too I would have stayed under that all night!
The Flashback Disco was in the Earls Court section to the right of the main Lobby. The room was very large and in my head there was about 1000 people in there! (I may be a little off) We had booked as a party of 8 and most the tables were for 10 people so there was 2 others on our table which we didnt mind at all! The food was amazing! I was so shocked that when catering for that many people at the same time how fresh and beautiful the food was! Especially the Roast Parsnip Soup!! Plates were cleaned off the tables in a more then reasonable time and just a nice maybe 10min break between courses! We had a minor issue with the bar as we had qued up to get drinks ready for the midnight celebrations (understandably they closed the bar for 20mins so staff could see the New yr in too) as the bar man decided the shut the bar with a few people still waiting to be served. After my other half pointed out how long we had been waiting the bar staff so realised the error of their behalf and apoligised. The Dj played great music that you would expect with a Flashback Disco there was something for every one! We danced, laughed and socialised with everyone around us! The meal and party night itselfs was great value approx £40 per person. Bottles of house wine approx £20 a bottle.
We would strongly recommend this evening to all! Im sure we'll be attending again!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aims0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear guest

I was delighted to read that you had a great night with us seeing in the New Year at our Flashback event.

We do offer a pre-order service. This also enables you to gain a discount on prices and includes wine and various other drinks packages.

We are currently offering people 10% off last year's price plus a welcome drink of bubbly for all bookings where deposits are paid before the end of Feb 2013. Please do let me know if I can re-book this for you matt.ward@millenniumhotels.co.uk

Thank you once again

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Stayed again on business. The food quality has increased immensely but sadly it seems like the rooms are still tired with so room for improvement. No wifi for free even though am a frequent visitor to Copthorne Hotels. A delay in adding loyalty points. Tv very very small and some of the rooms are quite noisy with footfall outside, being able to hear the lift call buttons etc.

It a shame as the staff in this hotel are lovely and try their best, but at this day in age, things like wifi are an essential and tv's bigger than what you used to find in your kitchen at home would be nice, with more than 5 channels!

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Ian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2013

Dear Ian C

Than you for your recent post. I was delighted to read your comments about the team and will be sure to pass your kind comments on.

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brierley Hill
Travelodge Birmingham Dudley
#2 of 2 in Brierley Hill
115 reviews
Station Hotel
#6 of 7 in Dudley
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#8 of 21 in Wolverhampton
980 reviews
Ladywood
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
Macdonald Burlington Hotel
#43 of 118 in Birmingham
3,073 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Address: The Copthorne Hotel Level Street | The Waterfront, Brierley Hill DY5 1UR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Brierley Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Price Range: $72 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley. In the heart of the Black Country just 11 miles to the west of Birmingham, this fine modern hotel overlooks the picturesque Canal Marina and is just minutes away on foot from the prestigious Intu Merry Hill shopping complex. The hotel boasts 138 rooms & suites as well as impressive conference and banqueting facilities, catering for up to 600 delegates for meetings, weddings and conferences. Relax in our Le Club leisure centre whilst enjoying a beauty treatment or workout in the gym before taking a dip in the heated pool. Visitors can explore many various attractions, from Dudley Zoo, West Midlands Safari Park, Cadbury World and the Black Country Living Museum. Birmingham city centre is a short drive away with excellent shopping at the Bullring shopping mall, theatres and the Barclaycard Arena to watch all the major music artistes from around the world. With excellent access to the M5, M6 and M54 motorways and Birmingham International Airport, the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley looks forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Merry Hill Hotel Dudley
Dudley Copthorne Merry Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing