We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice for this area” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Essex, England
Level Contributor
153 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Good choice for this area”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We have stayed many times at this hotel over the years. It was really smart when new and we have felt it has been getting tired more recently. On this most recent trip our impression was that money was being invested to freshen it up, for example new carpets in the bedrooms. The adjacent parking is a boon and the check-in was prompt and efficient. The value for money was terrific for the rate we got (£63 per night and club room) and we were very happy with the restaurant service. The kitchen and waiting service was excellent. On Saturday night the hotel was full and the Sunday morning breakfast buffet was outstanding for over 200 covers -- very tasty fresh food with good choice. On Monday morning, with only 20 covers expected, it was individual table service and that was also very well done. Although the hotel is purpose built the sound insulation is mediocre and the place gets noisy on a Saturday night with people moving around and talking in to the early hours. Other than that we found the room was very comfortable. The location is perfect for the expansive Merry Hill shopping mall which provides a choice of other dining options. Although the hotel is in the middle of the old industrial Black Country there is much of interest to visit in the area and wonderful country close at hand.

Room Tip: For the better view, ask for a room overlooking the canal basin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heraldthewake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Heraldthewake

Thank you so much for taking the time to share youre recent experience. I was delighted to read that you had enjoyed various aspects of your stay, including the food and service on offer.

You are most correct in that the Black Country has many gems to offer visiting clients and well worth checking out.

Thank you once again for your kind words

Yours sicnerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    336
    175
    78
    50
See reviews for
160
307
29
216
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

Stayed in this hotel when visiting the area on business. I have stayed in other holes within the group and I am pleased to say I did not feel let down. Checkin was fast and efficient and when I got in to my room I was pleased with the size and amenities. Only major thing I would change is to put a larger tv in the room......small criticism given how good everything else was.
I also ate in the bar and was happy with the quality of the food and service.
Breakfast was also very good with prompt attentive service for anything requested.
Overall I would recommend and will be definitely stzying again when I return next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear David W

Thank you for your recent feedback. I was delighted to raed that you enjoyed your experience with us.

I do hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Yours sincerely

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kidderminster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

Every year, my wife and I spend a night away to celebrate our wedding anniversary. This year I booked a bed and breakfast deal at the Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill.
We arrived on the afternoon of the 16th November and were really impressed by the reception area. We were greeted with a smile from the receptionist and was allocated a room on the second floor at the far end of the building. We made our way to the room and it initially seemed very pleasant. The room had a double aspect window arrangement overlooking the carpark at the front of the building. However, things go a little downhill from here.
There were tea and coffee making facilities but no biscuits, which I thought rather odd. Below that was a cupboard which was locked, which I guess was hiding a mini bar. If we had upgraded, maybe that would have been an unlocked cupboard - We'll never know. It would have been nice to have the choice. In the bathroom, the complimentary toiletries consisted of a bar of soap and tiny shampoo sample, not even enough for one person. Poor Show! In the corner of the room was a portable tv from the last century with limited chanels. On closer inspection of the room, there were a number of tea or coffee stains on the wallpaper. The room seemed "tired" and was in need of complete revamp. Having already read the reviews of the hotel restaurant we decided to eat out, as there are an abundance of restaurants in the area within walking distance.
After a reasonable nights sleep, we made our way down for breakfast in Faraday's Bar. On entering we thought that we had walked into a disco as the background pop music was blaring away. I complained and they turned it right down. We sat down on the lower of the two tiers adjacent to the double fire exit doors overlooking the canal. I would describe Faradays as a "Littlewoods restaurant with bling", a little tacky for my liking. Kids were allowed to run around and the whole experience reminded me of something from Butlins Holiday Camp. However, staff were very pleasant and I have to admit that the breakfast was one of the best that I have ever had. Everything cooked to perfection. My biggest concern though was the following obsrevations from where I was sitting:- There was what I would describe as a cradle positioned directly in front of the Fire Exit doors. On top of the cradle was placed a large tray. This tray was used as a "dumping ground" for crocks, plates, cups and food waste etc by the waiting staff. Only when the tray was full would it be whisked away and to return when empty to its resting place once again. Not only did it make me feel a little sick having to witness this act just a couple of feet away from our table, but to place this contraption in front of a Fire Exit in the first place beggars belief. Health and safety issues there I'm affraid. Following breakfast, we made our way to the second floor, down the corridor, squeezed past four double beds upstanding to attention outside our room (don't ask 'cos I don't know) picked up our bags from our room and went to reception to check out.
Different time, different face. Receptionist seemed preoccupied, obviously she was dealing with more important things than dealing with guests wishing to check out. Yes, we did have a nice stay - Yes, we appreciate your thanks for staying with you & Yes, we did have a safe journey home. Alas, we were asked none of this which is "bread and butter" etiquette of the hospitality trade. Copthorne Merry Hill strives to be a 4* establishment but has 3* values. Alas, standards are obviously slipping.

Room Tip: Ask fo a room that has been recently decorated
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dud444y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for business, I stop in the area on a weekly basis and decided to try a new hotel.
I had room service and ordered the king scallops. I had been fine all day and around 9pm, shortly after eating the scallops I became violently ill and was up all night with sickness.
By the time I was fit to check out in the morning - I was still quite ill but wanted to get home, I mentioned the issue to reception who called the manager (really just to ensure it didn't happen to anyone else). When the manager arrived I felt like I was being interrogated, I could only just put two words together at the time and was very pale, so it certainly wasn't the time to be spoken to as though I was a child in a very accusing manner and I wasn't really fit to respond. The manager then disappeared and asked me to wait a few minutes. I waited for a few minutes but was desperate to get home so I left my number with reception and left.
The service by the manager was poor. I spoke with her on a couple of occasions aftertwards and she still refused to remove the scallops from the bill.
Needless to say, after the way I was spoken to I will never be stopping in a Copthorne hotel again and nor will any of my business guests.
I have never written a review on here despite staying in hotels on a weekly basis. But this was beyond a joke.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linds649
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

My boyfriend & I stayed at the Copthorne for 1 night at the weekend. The room was ok but in need of updating. The bathroom looked nice but the bath itself needed replacing as there was stains which put me off. Our offer included breakfast the next morning & the jugs which hot water was served in, were filthy. I wanted some fruit so I took some grapes from the fruit basket which clearly hadn't been washed as they were very sticky.

When attempting to make a booking with the spa before our trip we were told that the spa was fully booked.

The worse part of our trip was the beds, we both woke with bad back pain as the bed caved in the middle. Clearly a very old bed.

The one thing that made the hotel for us was the waterfront view. The canal was lovely to walk along first thing in the morning.

Overall not bad but in definite need of updating.

Room Tip: I can't comment on the higher standard of rooms but I would hope the beds are not as bad.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CasperT2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, England
Level Contributor
112 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stay at this hotel now and then when we visit the midlands to see family.
We only stayed the one night but had a great time.
Each time is excellent and each time we would not consider anywhere else.
Rooms are first class and the staff so friendly.
If you want a hotel with excellent facilities and near to the brilliant Merry Hill shopping centre look no more.
Will definately be returning.
Thank You

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisChester_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enfield, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

Have never been to a UK hotel and had such helpful friendly service from ALL the staff....and they were all English!! Nothing was too much bother or trouble. Pool and all it's facilities were really really clean as were the rooms and everywhere else. Unusual as well for a hotel to be happy to cater for a family of 5 without us having to split up into 2 rooms. Perfect location too being opposite the 'Westfield' Merry Hill Shopping Centre. Wish there were more hotels like this around!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LYNN528
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMMerryHill, General Manager at Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Lynn528

Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I was pleased to see that you had enjoyed every aspect if the hotel as well as surrounding amenities.

I hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back soon

Best regards

Matt Ward
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brierley Hill
2.8 mi away
Village Hotel Birmingham Dudley
1.9 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley (Kingswinford) Hotel
2.1 mi away
Premier Inn Stourbridge Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Dudley Town Centre Hotel
2.8 mi away
The Quality Hotel Dudley
5.4 mi away
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
Ramada Park Hall Hotel and Spa
#7 of 20 in Wolverhampton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 837 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley

Property: Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley
Address: Level Street | The Waterfront, Brierley Hill DY5 1UR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > West Midlands > Brierley Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brierley Hill
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley 4*
Number of rooms: 138
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley. In the heart of the Black Country just 11 miles to the west of Birmingham, this fine modern hotel overlooks the picturesque Canal Marina and is just minutes away on foot from the prestigious Intu Merry Hill shopping complex. The hotel boasts 138 rooms & suites as well as impressive conference and banqueting facilities, catering for up to 600 delegates for meetings, weddings and conferences. Relax in our Le Club leisure centre whilst enjoying a beauty treatment or workout in the gym before taking a dip in the heated pool. Visitors can explore many various attractions, from Dudley Zoo, West Midlands Safari Park, Cadbury World and the Black Country Living Museum. Birmingham city centre is a short drive away with excellent shopping at the Bullring shopping mall, theatres and the Barclaycard Arena to watch all the major music artistes from around the world. With excellent access to the M5, M6 and M54 motorways and Birmingham International Airport, the Copthorne Hotel Birmingham Dudley looks forward to welcoming you as our guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Copthorne Hotel Merry Hill Dudley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Copthorne Merry Hill Hotel Dudley
Dudley Copthorne Merry Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing