We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,257)
Filter reviews
3,257 results
Traveler rating
1,402
824
497
295
239
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,402
824
497
295
239
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ryder cup afternoon tea great golf golf shop play golf main bar round of golf relaxation room spa experience sunday lunch golf break leisure club lovely spa groupon deal scones an overnight stay spa facilities
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 3,257 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Re Visit to Belfry

We booked a two night “luxury break” at the Belfry to celebrate our 41st anniversary and would add that we spend 2 day breaks at many 4/5 star country hotels all over the UK rather than going abroad and eat rubbish food. We last visited The Belfry 28 years ago and had a wonderful time and hoped to revisit that time. BIG MISTAKE! The room was clean and modern but very small.
There was no air con, no fridge, no bath, no complementary water and only one beside table which was most inconvenient. Really not up to the standard that we have come to expect on a luxury break, a B& B but not a 4 / 5 star hotel.
If we had not already paid we may just have turned around and gone home. However, we had so decided to make the best of it. With one or two exceptions things went down from there. We had been given a special bottle of champagne (Louis Roederer) by our son for an anniversary present and took it with us with some choc’s and strawberries, as you do.
We normally enjoy a bottle of bubbles before we go to the hotel restaurant and pay £45.00 for a bottle of £6.00 worth of wine but an evening meal in a restaurant is just not the same without a bottle of wine, silly I know but it just isn’t. As such we called reception and asked if we could have the use of a champagne bucket and two flutes. We were questioned as to if we had taken our own alcohol into the hotel and informed that this was not allowed so no, we could not have flutes and bucket. We were told that it was not hotel policy to allow food and drink of any kind to be bought in. Flabbergasted! We had made the same request at some of the finest hotels both in the UK and abroad including the Savoy, Waldorf and even the George IV in Paris and never been refused. I am of course aware that the Belfry is a business and as such exist to make a profit. But really! That really and I mean really set the tone for the rest of our stay. As I said, if we could have turned round! Oh and before I forget as we arrived a little before the 3pm check in we decided to have a cup of tea in the lounge £10.00 odd for two cups of tea. What a rip off.
Anyway to continue we had booked into the restaurant for our evening meal so decided again to make the best of it.
The restaurant itself was very busy with lots of groups of noisy golfers and resembled something like a dining room that you would find in a 3*hotel in Tenerife. Not at all intimate or even inviting let alone romantic and as we had no choice of where to sit we took our table in a long row of strangers no more than a foot away from us, luckily the couple next to us were very pleasant but very unhappy with the environment and food and the hotel in general. One very disconcerting point was that we were seated, remember no choice, right alongside an area where the dirty plates were deposited after been collected from the tables. Very nice, other people’s leftovers within two feet of us. So romantic! The meal itself, we upgraded to the A la carte, was very nice and the aforementioned £45.000 bottle of £6.00 wine acceptable although we had to pour it ourselves, I know what a chore! And so to bed a quite good night’s sleep. Oh and reception had relented and provided us with some complementary water. Thanks very much and we did call and say so.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent, efficient staff and a good choice of food but again very noisy with even more groups of what seemed to be business delegates or buyers being “bribed” with golfing days out.
A trip to “Sutton Coldfield” don’t bother, what a tip, was followed by an afternoon in the “spa”. Sorry, your local swimming baths has a nicer atmosphere. Fights for a lounger, no drinking water by the pool and dread of dread “professional” swimmers with goggles are in the pool. Never a good thing!
Back to the room to get ready for the evening meal and decided to go with the set menu and tap water. We were seated at one of the very few individual tables, much nicer than the night before, and made our way to the carvery where the set meal was served, self-service in a 4/ 5 * hotel Really!!
The “Slop” on offer was awful, no meat as such A curry, some sort of foreign lamb concoction and a fish pie. Awful really really awful. We would add that the choices of starters were good and the deserts were excellent. However, the noise in the dining room was a disgrace. You honestly could not hear your partner across the table and we could not wait to get out.
We went to the deserted bar and paid out £14.00 for 2 gins and 1 tonic but at least we could have a quiet conversation.
Breakfast the next morning was excellent but as before resembled more of a canteen than a 4/5* restaurant.
In conclusion, what a waste of “hard earned” and we will never return again and suggest you do the same. Unless that is you are with a golfing group of six or more or on a business jolly
As a final point the terms and conditions state that the Belfry will charge you their price if for instance they find an empty bottle of champagne or crisp packet in your room which has not been purchased from them i.e. £15.00 bottle of bubbly from Tesco, very nice I would add, would be charged to you as a bottle of house champagne at approximately £50.000, Wonderful. Enjoy your stay we didn’t.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at The Belfry Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Nigel S
It has been most regrettable to read that your expectations of the Resort were not met on this occasion, and that our facilities and hospitality have failed to delight. As a large Golf and Leisure complex with many facilities appealing to a wide audience we are disappointed that you have left the Resort feeling this way.
We thank-you for your observations and valuable feedback and hope that you shall choose to return to The Belfry offering us the opportunity to restore your faith with ourselves.
Kindest Regards
Chris E
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This hotel just oozes charm as you drive up to it.

It is relatively easy to find once you come off the motorway and is well worth the travel no matter where you travel from.

There are plenty of car parking spaces around the hotel even at busy times.

The check in was smooth and efficient and the staff all very professional whilst being polite and extremely courteous.

In the hallway as you enter there is a stunning chandelier made from golf clubs and for those golfers amongst us it is simply attention to detail personified.

The room was immaculate as was the ensuite shower room and toilet.

There was even a Dyson fan in the room which you do not get very often if ever in any hotel room I have stayed in previously and was a really nice touch.

The bed was extremely comfortable and plenty of pillows.

There are several eateries on site and as we were on a golfing break decided to opt for Sams bar due to the proximity to the golf courses.

The menu choice was very good indeed and not that expensive really.

We opted for the sharing platter and was more than enough for 2 people - at £20.00 it seemed expensive but when it arrived was definitely worth the money and included Chicken Wings,Chicken Goujons,an immense plate of nachos and dips along with a multitude of onion rings.

The burgers were £16.50 each so this sharing platter definitely constituted value for money and definitely hit the spot - so we got 2 between 4 hungry golfers.

A round of drinks for 4 was over the £20.00 mark but again in line with most hotels I have stayed in.

The thing I was most impressed with was that each and every member of staff were so friendly and helpful with nothing too much trouble.

We did not get time to use the spa as were playing golf both days we ere there - reviews to follow.

The staff in the golf shop were extremely helpful and professional and very welcoming.

I would definitely suggest trying to book an early tee time as all courses tend to be booked all day resulting in around at least 4 and a half hours plus for a round.

All in all a beautiful hotel in an amazing setting and there are always deals to be had - I would advise staying on a Sunday night as it is a little quieter and better deals on the golf for the Sunday and Monday.

Will we be going back - most definitely as it is one of the best golf resorts I have had the pleasure of staying at and have stayed in quite a few over the years - and this is up there with the best of them.

So if you haven't been then why not - get yourself booked and experience a truly wonderful golf resort.

Room tip: Away from the busy car park - although you do get an upgrade option of views over the golf courses which tend to be a little quieter also.
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at The Belfry Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Stewart B
Well what a privilege it has been to read such a complimentary review, having the knowledge that we have been able to offer you with impeccable Hospitality and a faultless customer journey which has been immensely enjoyable.
We thank-you for taking the time to share such a wonderful review and look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Belfry in the future.
Kindest Regards
Chris E
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although i paid more per month so i can cancel my gym membership any time they still want me to pay for an extra month to leave and to top it off because i have canceled my direct debit i need to call a company called harlands to re instate my direct debit they cant just take my payment by debit card at the hotel spa! i have been on hold with harlands for half an hour and i now give up. Do not join this club i warn you!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Carlton000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at The Belfry Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Carlton000
We are sorry to hear of the difficulties you have been experiencing with your Membership and would politely request that you contact our Membership Team here at The Belfry whom shall be happy to offer some assistance with this matter.
Kindest Regards
Chris E
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I visit the belfry leisure club most days every week and love it!! The facilities are fantastic. I do classes most days and can’t fault the trainers, Nicole, Rachel and chris are motivating, friendly and always make me feel glad I’ve made the effort to leave the house after a long day at work!! I attended a spin class this evening and absolutely loved it, chris pushed us all and I then did boxfit with chris and I loved it!! I would recommend all to give it a go you won’t be disappointed

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Lizhop1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at The Belfry Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Lizhop1
We are so pleased that we are able to assist you with your fitness regime here at the Resort and encourage you with the motivation needed for the continual benefits this offers. Your kind review is very much appreciated and shall be relayed to the individuals mentioned whom shall be most appreciated.
We thank-you for sharing your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Kindest Regards
Chris E
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Whilst you expect to pay top whack for the golf at excellent courses, the Hotel room was nothing special and did not represent value for money. But there is no excuse for the rip-off prices charged e.g. £50 for a buggy, £5.50 for a pint of Becks Vier lager (Stella £6), £4.50 for a pot of tea for 1, £4.50 for a "small" Americano, £2 for a small bottle of water to take on the course, £33 for the cheapest bottle of wine (not at all special), £7.50 for a single shot of malt whisky (again, not particularly special), over £9 for a bacon bap and 1 coffee. A great golfing experience marred by the Resort's greed. Won't be back!

Date of stay: September 2019
Thank mel l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chris E, General Manager at The Belfry Hotel & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear mel l
It is with disappointment to read of how your experience of the Resort has not met with your expectations. We would like to take this opportunity to explain that our food and beverage tariffs are displayed throughout the outlets enabling all visitors to make informed choices. These and are reflected in the quality produce sourced and service afforded to our Guests, which are regularly compared with those of our competitors. Buggy hire tariffs reflect the many enhanced features our fleet offers, which enable players a far superior golf experience.
We thank-you for taking the time to share your opinions and do hope that we may be able to welcome you back to The Belfry in the future.
Kindest Regards
Chris E
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews