We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice local pub”

The Shakespeare Inn
Price range: $6 - $23
Cuisines: British
Description: We are a small local very British village pub, Welford's best kept secret! We offer a warm friendly welcome plus great beers, snacks and sandwiches, or perhaps you'd like to try anything from our main menu or specials board, such as a juicy sirloin steak or delicious horseshoe gammon, not forgetting our famous fresh beer battered fish and homemade chips. We are situated off the main road through Welford on Avon, approximately five miles from Shakespeare's Stratford upon Avon, (we are tucked away next door to the butchers). The famous Welford maypole, the tallest in England, is 100 yards away. We are a great pit stop to rest weary legs if you are walking the Cotswold Way, or discovering the myriad of paths that meander through this beautiful village. In the winter we offer roaring log fires and great banter, in the summer our garden is a secluded haven.
Restaurant details
Description: We are a small local very British village pub, Welford's best kept secret! We offer a warm friendly welcome plus great beers, snacks and sandwiches, or perhaps you'd like to try anything from our main menu or specials board, such as a juicy sirloin steak or delicious horseshoe gammon, not forgetting our famous fresh beer battered fish and homemade chips. We are situated off the main road through Welford on Avon, approximately five miles from Shakespeare's Stratford upon Avon, (we are tucked away next door to the butchers). The famous Welford maypole, the tallest in England, is 100 yards away. We are a great pit stop to rest weary legs if you are walking the Cotswold Way, or discovering the myriad of paths that meander through this beautiful village. In the winter we offer roaring log fires and great banter, in the summer our garden is a secluded haven.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Happy atmosphere dogs welcome beer nice. Food served all day. Didnt eat but looked very nice. Not top dollar like the one up the road.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank Michele D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 76 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2019

Popped in for lunch with my family, made to feel really welcome, food was good and everyone went out of their way to make our visit enjoyable. Hope to see a lot more of this place.

Date of visit: September 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2019 via mobile

The Shakespeare Inn is a hidden gem in Welford on Avon. The staff couldn't have been more friendly or welcoming, ther food was excellent and really good value for money

Date of visit: July 2019
Thank RichardD469
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2019

We went there twice for dinner from the Three Ways B&B (fabulous too) in the next village Weston-On-Avon - a short walk through the wheat fields . What a lovely time. The staff and locals were so friendly and the food just yummy. On the Monday night was a darts tournament. What a hoot - such friendly people. We had a great time, thank you very much.

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank AussieBob-Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2019 via mobile

Recently moving into this lovely little village we discovered this little gem of a pub. And we ha e been truly welcomed by the staff and all the locals. Myself and my family frequently use this pub for a quick drink, a party night, meals out and have fell in love with it. We can not recommend this pub enough. The food is great pub food at the right price and the quality is top class.

Unfortunately there is a review below mine regarding a gent serving behind the bar one day. I was very sad to read this as I was there this day and know that he was simply helping out as a member of staff had not been able to make it into work that day. He has lived in the village all his life and is one of the nicest men you could wish to meet.
We hope this don’t put you off our lovely country pub. Pop in and see for yourself.

Date of visit: April 2019
1  Thank Tinsqunit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shakespeare Inn also viewed

Welford on Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Welford on Avon, Stratford-upon-Avon
 
Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire
Long Marston, Stratford-upon-Avon
 

Been to The Shakespeare Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing