We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The only thing good about this place was the young girl that works there, her service was second to none”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of The White Bear Hotel - CLOSED

The White Bear Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Dining on a budget, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Birmingham
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“The only thing good about this place was the young girl that works there, her service was second to none”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

We called in here for food,ordered starters which were ok,wanted steak, was told they had no steak, so we asked for Burgers, one chicken one Beef, They were just awful,the buns had just been defrosted and were freezin cold, the Chicken burger consisted of chicken strips put between two freezin cold buns,I asked to see the boss who was sitting having a drink, and was told he was to busy, So he sent over £10.00 !!!! to make up for the awful experience we had here, never again,avoid at all costs,

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Livi196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nickie C, Owner at The White Bear Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Livi196
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I would like to apologies that you feel you had a less an enjoyable meal and experience at The White Bear. The experience you describe is certainly not consistent with what we strive to provide at The White Bear.
If you would like to discuss this further then i would love to hear from you.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    17
    10
    1
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“Absolutley dreadful should have a warning on the door and the menu”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We visited this pub/ restaurant on a visit to Warwickshire and being charmed by the barmaid, Helen, who was praising the food decided to book a table for that evening. Gave our order and waited for this fabulous food to arrive!
It did Roger had a very small piece of fish accompanied by mushy peas, which he hates and as the menu said peas we presumed garden peas which he then asked for to be told that there was no other pea stocked so he asked for carrots same reply. Only mushy peas.
I took a look at the menu absolutley no other vegetables.
I had ordered the steak pie supposedly homemade and delicious what arrived was a car crash on a plate. 5 thin smal strips of grey meat, tough as boots a sauce which was full of cauliflour and sauce as thin as tea. I sent it back and requested the lasagne to be told in exactly these words
"You'll have to wait 15 minutes as chef makes it fresh"
No apolagy just very curt and who can cook a lasagne in 15 minutes.
The lasagne duly arrived with its 'garlic bread' 2 thin slices of buttered baguette, but only on one side, which as it cooled, dried out around the edges so it had only been microwaved. The lasagne was tasteless and cold in the middle, obviously from a deep freeze and again microwaved but not properly.
We were then asked if we wanted the bill, no offer of coffee or desert, although the lady at the next table had apple pie. It was about 11/2 inches wide and 1/2 " thick so nothing lost there.
The bill arrives and we have been overcharged by a pound, When it next arrived the bill had gone from £21 to £29 we sent the bill back and next time it came it was £13.50 so we paid this and left.
So if you want a disasterous meal go here, if you want to eat in the area go to the White Hart in Newbold

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrea31020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

Avoid if you're not from round these parts. Unfriendly bordering on openly hostile to non locals.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank Bamfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire UK
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Over priced for such plain food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2012

After having heard some positive comments about the food thought we would give it a try. I ordered Chilli which looked very grey and watery with no garnish and little taste. My husband had the chicken and Stilton pie which looked ok but was watery and tasteless and poorly presented. Felt the meal Overall lacked imagination and had a very 70s feel with everything served with chips and peas. Service was pleasant but very disappointed at value for money.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AndyandLiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Simply outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2011

Great people
Great food
Great accommodation
In a fantastic location.the White bear/falcon is one of the nicest places I've ever stayed in.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Davemc8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Bear Hotel also viewed

Shipston on Stour, Cotswolds
Shipston on Stour, Cotswolds
 
Shipston on Stour, Cotswolds
Shipston on Stour, Cotswolds
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing