We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
219
85
27
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
219
85
27
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel superior room live music decanter of sherry roll top bath staff were very helpful and friendly an upgrade fish cakes checking in sunday lunch room was large coffee machine free standing bath return visit great atmosphere stayed two nights high street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Visited here yesterday with the family, just the most phenomenal meal we’ve ever had! We all opted for a Sunday dinner, both beef and chicken, everything was cooked to perfection, the beef required no chewing, cooked to perfection pink and so tasty. The veg was unbelievably fresh and served with the perfect amount of gravy. The accompanying red cabbage was also so flavoursome, could t fault anything with the meals. The sticky toffee pudding finished me off, the texture, consistency and flavour was outstanding. Only criticism is I don’t think the ice cream should be put into the skillet/ pan it came to the table on As was melted by the time it came to eating it but it didn’t matter too much as was like eating it with cream as opposed to ice cream. The waitresses were all so attentive and couldn’t do enough for you. Highly recommended this place for outstanding food!

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Byrne518
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello there,
Thank you so much for your lovely review! We are very proud of our Sunday roasts and feedback like this makes all our hard work worthwhile!
We hope you visit again very soon,
Thanks,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very warm welcome on arrival. Stayed in a deluxe double room.
Lovely room, very comfortable bed, super spacious bathroom with deep rolltop bath and huge walk-in shower.
Lovely selection of teas and a Nespresso Coffee machine.
Very nice Breakfast cooked to order in the morning.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank john1bgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there,
Thank you very much for your review, I'm glad to hear you had a great stay in the hotel and enjoyed the amenities in the room and our wonderful breakfast. I will pass your compliments onto our breakfast chef!
We hope to see you back again soon!
Thanks,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Classic room well decorated with modern fittings. Lovely bar, great food and excellent helpful staff. It’s a pleasant little town with a few nice shops but it’s very small - so you can walk it all in an hour or two. Good base for the area though. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Zebroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, we're glad you had a lovely time with and enjoyed everything Shipston had to offer!
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely 2 night stay in a spacious, very comfortable room. The George take great pride in the small things providing luxurious toiletries, artisan coffees and treats in the rooms.
The staff are a credit to the hotel, esp Lee, they are friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble.
We ate at the restaurant both evenings and the food did not disappoint, fresh produce and ample portion size. The vegan burger was amazing and that’s coming from a meat eater!
Cocktails were fab too. We will definitely be back for another visit.
Thank you for a wonderful break.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 324sadiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your great review, Lee is a highly valued member of our team and he will be thrilled to know he made your stay a memorable one!
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2020 via mobile

Less than one hundred pounds per room so we arranged to meet friends coming out from London had a fab night in the tapas up the street... A couple of good antique shops and breakfast at the bower house was great too

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 469jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2020

Thank you for such a great review, hopefully next time we can make it 5*!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews