We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (347)
Filter reviews
347 results
Traveler rating
219
85
27
10
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
219
85
27
10
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel superior room live music decanter of sherry roll top bath staff were very helpful and friendly an upgrade fish cakes checking in sunday lunch room was large coffee machine free standing bath return visit great atmosphere stayed two nights high street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 347 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A very warm welcome on arrival. Stayed in a deluxe double room.
Lovely room, very comfortable bed, super spacious bathroom with deep rolltop bath and huge walk-in shower.
Lovely selection of teas and a Nespresso Coffee machine.
Very nice Breakfast cooked to order in the morning.

Date of stay: March 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank john1bgood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi there,
Thank you very much for your review, I'm glad to hear you had a great stay in the hotel and enjoyed the amenities in the room and our wonderful breakfast. I will pass your compliments onto our breakfast chef!
We hope to see you back again soon!
Thanks,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Classic room well decorated with modern fittings. Lovely bar, great food and excellent helpful staff. It’s a pleasant little town with a few nice shops but it’s very small - so you can walk it all in an hour or two. Good base for the area though. Highly recommended.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Zebroski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your review, we're glad you had a lovely time with and enjoyed everything Shipston had to offer!
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely 2 night stay in a spacious, very comfortable room. The George take great pride in the small things providing luxurious toiletries, artisan coffees and treats in the rooms.
The staff are a credit to the hotel, esp Lee, they are friendly and helpful; nothing was too much trouble.
We ate at the restaurant both evenings and the food did not disappoint, fresh produce and ample portion size. The vegan burger was amazing and that’s coming from a meat eater!
Cocktails were fab too. We will definitely be back for another visit.
Thank you for a wonderful break.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank 324sadiab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you so much for your great review, Lee is a highly valued member of our team and he will be thrilled to know he made your stay a memorable one!
We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2020 via mobile

Less than one hundred pounds per room so we arranged to meet friends coming out from London had a fab night in the tapas up the street... A couple of good antique shops and breakfast at the bower house was great too

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank 469jon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2020

Thank you for such a great review, hopefully next time we can make it 5*!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2020

Nice pub in a nice small town. Food took a while but was tasty if slightly expensive but pretty standard for the area. Had good friendly service from Akira who had good knowledge of the beers on offer.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank Andytbf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded February 20, 2020

Really good to read how you enjoyed your experience with us! I will certainly let Akira know how impressed you were with her service, please do visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews