We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Shipston on Stour
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
216
80
27
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
216
80
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel superior room live music decanter of sherry roll top bath staff were very helpful and friendly an upgrade fish cakes checking in sunday lunch room was large coffee machine great atmosphere free standing bath return visit stayed two nights high street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 338 reviews
Reviewed December 29, 2019

It was a treat.....we were treated by an old friend....and the George is a treat! We hadn’t been before but first impressions are so important. Friendly staff throughout. Fairly quick service on a busy lunchtime. Beautiful food served hot and attractive. Excellent choice. Good ambience with a selection of various side rooms suitable for family occasions. And,although I wasn’t paying(!!) ,the prices seemed to be very fair for the quality . If around again,it’s a great place to eat. Well done,George!!

Room tip: The marmalade ice cream!!
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NotLordPercy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded January 1, 2020

Thank you so much for your lovely review.

We're thrilled that you enjoyed your experience with us and we very much look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2019

We had to pre-order our lunch but this was not a problem as there was something for everyone. Sea Bass/Turkey?Lamb all proved to be popular and did not disappoint. The price was also reasonable for this time of the year and also the service was very good.

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Service
Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 20, 2019

Thank you Carol for your review.

We're really pleased that you enjoyed the food and service that you received at the George.

Pre-ordering during December for large groups is a tool that we use to ensure that service runs smoothly for you on the day. Clearly from your review, this was the case, however I am sorry if this procedure meant that your experience was only 4/5 overall.

We very much hope to see you again soon and next time earn a 5/5 score.

Kind regards
Matthew Hiscoe
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2019 via mobile

I stay here about once a month and am here at the moment. The rooms are beautiful the staff very friendly and the food amazing. The manager remembered my name the second time I stayed and is always very welcoming. The value for money is second to none. I keep coming back and wouldn’t stay anywhere else in Shipston-on-Stour. If there was a George in every town life would be perfect.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank Sheffield-Andrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2019

Wow, what a great review! Thank you so much for this, it is reviews like yours that really make all of our hard work worth while! We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019

Room 9 - Windows - awful weather, unfortunately it followed us inside via either the outside guttering or window lintels - pouring inside above the windows - spent most of the night emptying plastic containers capturing the constant water ingress - no sleep at all. This is not a new fault, the damp on the walls bear testimony. Lots of apologies and promises of refund but these types of building failures could be remedied sooner and no one should have to spend the night protecting the carpets and flooring on behalf of the owners - avoid Room 9 unless assurances given. The staff were friendly and very apologetic but it didn't compensate for our terrible night at The George Town House.

Room tip: Avoid Room 9
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vlove610716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, General Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2019

I'm really sorry that the heavy rain downpoor spoilt your experience with us. This unfortunately was an unexpected occurrence and beyond our control during your visit.

I'm also sorry that you feel that we could have done more whilst you were with us. We did offer to pay for you to stay in another hotel which you declined. We also offered you drinks at the bar on the house which you refused and we refunded you your entire evening meal and drinks which totaled more than the cost of your stay.

Please rest assured that we have resolved the issue caused by the extremely heavy rain experienced during your stay. We have also had further heavy rain since you stayed with us and this has not caused any further problems since the repairs have been made.

Kind regards
Matthew Hiscoe

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2019

2nd visit and the pub is great. I had fish and chips and my wife had the sandwich. Perfect pint and lovely in front of the fire. Good staff too. Very dog friendly! Lots of different areas to find your spot.

Date of stay: November 2019
    • Service
Thank LordShires
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeorgeTownhouse1, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2019

Thank you very much for a great review! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews