We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Shipston on Stour
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
216
80
27
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
216
80
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel superior room live music decanter of sherry roll top bath staff were very helpful and friendly an upgrade fish cakes checking in sunday lunch room was large coffee machine great atmosphere free standing bath return visit stayed two nights high street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
319 - 324 of 338 reviews
Reviewed May 30, 2016

Hadn't been in the "new" George Townhouse since its refurb. As we were in town for the Wool Fair, we thought we'd pop in for a coffee. I asked first if we could bring our dog in with us, and the staff said this was ok as long as we stayed in the bar / snug / lounge area, which was fine. Ordered coffee and cake (rich chocolate cake) and sat in the window looking out over the wool fair. Very nice décor indeed and much brighter than previously. The restaurant area was also very smart. Staff were polite and friendly and the girl who brought our coffee over to the table even brought a little dog treat over for our dog, which was a nice touch. Hope to return soon but next time for a drink / meal.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tosca1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2016

Dear Tosca1962,

Thank you very much for your kind review, im glad that you like the refurbishment & we look forward to your return!

Best wishes

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2016

Just had a 2 night stay at this wonderfully refurbished hotel. The room and amenities were absolutely first class. Staff were both friendly and professional. The evening menu was varied with an excellent choice and the breakfast was superb with local produce used where possible. We found the location of this hotel was ideal for local tourism and for visiting the Cotswold towns and villages also Warwick, Stratford upon Avon and Cirencester with the nearby remains of a Roman villa. We strongly recommend the George Townhouse and hope to return at sometime in the future.

Date of stay: May 2016
Thank johnwI4050MB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 13, 2016

Dear johnwI4050MB,

Thank you very much for this great review, i will make sure the team are all aware of your comments and we look forward to seeing you again soon

kind regards

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2016

The room #7 was adequate but a bit on the small side - the door nearly touching the bed on entry. The food was good, but trying to enjoy breakfast with vacuum cleaning going on nearby was annoying. Staff were helpful, obliging and friendly.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2016

Dear Kevin C,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. I am pleased to read that you found the team here helpful & friendly. I must apologise for the early morning hoovering, i will raise this with the housekeeping team and solve this for future stays.

Thanks again & we hope to see you soon

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2016

Just returned from a night at the George. Must say that the whole place has recently been refurbished and to a very high standard. The bar area is trendy and modern, and the rooms are wonderful. Can't praise the staff highly enough, all were professional and friendly. The breakfast was superb, plenty of choice and an excellent full english. We would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 27, 2016

Dear LorraineCoventry,

Thank you so much for your great review, so pleased that you enjoyed your visit to us and we very much hope to see you back again soon!

Bets wishes

Pete

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2016

What a gem of a find, stayed at the George Townhouse as was heading into Birmingham for business. Great food, stunning rooms and lovely staff. Very Soho House but at a fraction of the price, would highly recommend.

Date of stay: May 2016
Thank Only12345678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2016

Dear Paul G,

Thank you very much for your kind review, it is greatly appreciated and we look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Kind regards

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews