We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Shipston on Stour
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
216
80
27
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
216
80
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel superior room live music decanter of sherry roll top bath staff were very helpful and friendly an upgrade fish cakes checking in sunday lunch room was large coffee machine great atmosphere free standing bath return visit stayed two nights high street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
328 - 333 of 338 reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2016

Solely a restaurant review based on three visits in the past week with different friends.

Brakspears have done a fabulous job of restoring and refurbishing The George, they must have invested a fortune. What a real pity therefore that members of the staff seem to be so poorly trained, both in knowledge of their menu and in the right note to strike when waiting on customers. Service was slow and I have had to approach the bar several times to chivvy things along. And a pity too that the food I tried (Caesar salad, smoked salmon sandwich) was below expectation. The salad consisted mostly of rocket leaves, one halved egg, a few beans and bits of quartered potato, the sandwich was on doorsteps of bread which meant you could barely taste the salmon. Definitely think work needs to be done on presentation and ingredients, definitely not value for money. The George really could be a goldmine and a wonderful asset to our lovely town; if it goes wrong from the beginning it will be hard to row back.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Linsensuppe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Linsensuppe,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on here for us. I have fed your comments back to the rest of the team here and the kitchen team are working very closely with our executive chef to make the necessary adjustments to the menu. There will be changes occurring in the next few weeks and i do hope that you are willing and able to give us another opportunity.
The front of house team are also undergoing a period of review as we had planned at this stage from the outset and we are in a stronger position now to be able to deliver on both food and service quality. These are both things that are inherently important to us and we really are working very hard to improve these.

I do hope that you are able to give us another chance in the near future and please do let me know if you are able to and i will look after your booking personally.

Many thanks once again

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2016

Brilliantly refurbished and an excellent Sunday lunch but clearly understaffed in bar and restaurant areas, £16.50 for a roast lamb lunch but meal was well worth. Only recently reopened, it is to be hoped they will get staffing right soon

Date of stay: May 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank UKTemples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear UKTemples,

Thank you very much for your review, it is greatly appreciated and has been shared with the team here. We have definitely found our feet now and are pushing everyday to achieve our own high standards that we set out at the beginning. The menu is also under review and will be changing soon as well so i do hope that you will give us another opportunity to impress in the future.

Many thanks once again

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2016

We dined here last night with 4 friends. The refurbishment is beautiful, and is now has a really contemporary atmosphere. The place was PACKED, with people eating mainly which was great. Our waitress was very friendly, but clueless about the menu. We asked her to describe 2 of the main dishes and she had no idea what either of them were - very disappointing and a basic requirement surely of all wait staff. That aside, our order was taken swiftly and our wine delivered. Sadly the food just took an absolute age to arrive, we assume it was a kitchen issue on such a busy night as there were plenty of wait staff. When the mains arrived, 2 people in our party who ordered the lamb unfortunately found their food to be lukewarm at best. It was however rectified quickly and efficiently, and the food in general was beautiful. Given that we had such a long wait for our starters and mains, we decided against dessert, which was a shame as we all really wanted to try them. We spoke to the supervisor on duty about our long wait for food, and he kindly reduced our bill to compensate. Overall, we had a really super evening, and would return in a heartbeat. I just hope that the issues I have raised will be addressed in order to improve future experiences.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah5144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Sarah5144,

Firstly thank you for taking the time to write your review for us, your comments and experiences are invaluable to help us iron out those teething problems and set the right standards here from the off.
We are currently working very hard, after reviewing the menu and kitchen, to put in place measures to prevent exactly the problems that you faced during your experience. The team front of house are also undergoing a period of review as was always the plan after such a large opening. We really feel that we have learnt an awful lot over the last few weeks and can confidently provide the levels of service and food quality that we pride ourselves on and set out to achieve.

I really do apologise once again for your experiences but i do hope that you have not been put off of returning entirely. Please do let me know if you are planning to return and i will personally take care of your booking.

Many thanks once again

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2016

'The George Townhouse' or 'The George' as it was and probably will still be known as has had an absolutely fantastic refurbishment! At last! It's a great property, right in the middle of Shipston and it's needed a lot of TLC for a while..
Brakspear, the new proprietors have wisely spent a stack of cash making it look absolutely top quality. My friend and I popped in for lunch and had a tour of the rooms too. It's such a shame I live so close, I would be there for a weekend in a shot!
I couldn't fault anything- the food, service, ambience, decor, staff were all lovely. Relaxed atmosphere but everything was running smoothly given they had only opened a couple of days earlier. There's plenty on the menu covering all price brackets. Go and eat or stay over but go ASAP - I don't think you'll be able to get in soon!! This is going to be a huge hit & deservedly so. If you're staying, ask for the second room suite- wowzers!

Room tip: 2nd floor suite is fabulous!
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelh798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Rachel H,

Thank you so much for leaving such a great review for us! It was so pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much. The hard work and design that has gone into the property is something that we are all very proud of and we hope that as many people can appreciate it as we all do. Your very welcome to stay any time!

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return!

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

We dined here as a family of four on the George's first fully reopened weekend. It's been refurbished inside and out to a very high level and is now a very nice venue again.
Staff were bright and helpful from the off. The food overall was very good. The individual chicken pie was delicious, the burger was tasty and I'm told the plaice was good as was the child's pasta. We shared three desserts and they were delicious too.
The only real negative was the white wine was served room temperature, it wasn't until the last drops were left in an iced wine cooler that it got down to the required level. A minor point maybe but a no-no for any decent restaurant.
Three adult mains and a children's main, desserts and a few drinks plus bottle of wine for about £90. We'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Gardner-utv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Paul G,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback on your visit to us here at The George Townhouse. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your meal & was really frustrated to read that there was a problem with the wine that was served to you. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of the team here and will ensure that this sort of issue does not get repeated in the future. We pride ourselves on providing great service, great food and quality drinks & your comments will only help us to further achieve this.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you back again in the very near future.

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews