We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Shipston on Stour
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (338)
Filter reviews
338 results
Traveler rating
216
80
27
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
216
80
27
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lovely hotel superior room live music decanter of sherry roll top bath staff were very helpful and friendly an upgrade fish cakes checking in sunday lunch room was large coffee machine great atmosphere free standing bath return visit stayed two nights high street
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
331 - 336 of 338 reviews
Reviewed May 5, 2016

'The George Townhouse' or 'The George' as it was and probably will still be known as has had an absolutely fantastic refurbishment! At last! It's a great property, right in the middle of Shipston and it's needed a lot of TLC for a while..
Brakspear, the new proprietors have wisely spent a stack of cash making it look absolutely top quality. My friend and I popped in for lunch and had a tour of the rooms too. It's such a shame I live so close, I would be there for a weekend in a shot!
I couldn't fault anything- the food, service, ambience, decor, staff were all lovely. Relaxed atmosphere but everything was running smoothly given they had only opened a couple of days earlier. There's plenty on the menu covering all price brackets. Go and eat or stay over but go ASAP - I don't think you'll be able to get in soon!! This is going to be a huge hit & deservedly so. If you're staying, ask for the second room suite- wowzers!

Room tip: 2nd floor suite is fabulous!
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachelh798
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Rachel H,

Thank you so much for leaving such a great review for us! It was so pleasing to read that you enjoyed your time with us so much. The hard work and design that has gone into the property is something that we are all very proud of and we hope that as many people can appreciate it as we all do. Your very welcome to stay any time!

Thank you once again and we look forward to your return!

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016 via mobile

We dined here as a family of four on the George's first fully reopened weekend. It's been refurbished inside and out to a very high level and is now a very nice venue again.
Staff were bright and helpful from the off. The food overall was very good. The individual chicken pie was delicious, the burger was tasty and I'm told the plaice was good as was the child's pasta. We shared three desserts and they were delicious too.
The only real negative was the white wine was served room temperature, it wasn't until the last drops were left in an iced wine cooler that it got down to the required level. A minor point maybe but a no-no for any decent restaurant.
Three adult mains and a children's main, desserts and a few drinks plus bottle of wine for about £90. We'll definitely be back.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Gardner-utv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Paul G,

Thank you very much for your constructive feedback on your visit to us here at The George Townhouse. I'm pleased that you enjoyed your meal & was really frustrated to read that there was a problem with the wine that was served to you. I will be sharing your comments with the rest of the team here and will ensure that this sort of issue does not get repeated in the future. We pride ourselves on providing great service, great food and quality drinks & your comments will only help us to further achieve this.

Thank you once again and we hope to see you back again in the very near future.

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016

We had a look at the outside menu and decided as it was advertised on the menu that there was a 2 course set menu for a reasonable price served between 12pm -3pm we would visit for lunch to try out the new restaurant.Set menu is advertised for Monday to Saturday,12pm -3pm & sometime also in the evening.We arrived on Saturday at lunchtime to be told as we were about to order that the set menu was not on as they had only been open for a few days!Why have it advertised then?!Not impressed and not even sure that is legal.Deceptive advertising to bring people in.Food average,nothing to shout about.Certainly not as we had to pay full price.Will go elsewhere until they fulfill what they advertise.

Date of stay: April 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Mark N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Mark N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write your review on here for us. I am really sorry to read that you felt deceived by the menu displayed outside in our display box. Of course it is never our intention to falsely lure guests through the door and i am very sorry that on this occasion you have left unimpressed, i can clearly see why!

We have set ourselves some very high standards at the George and as you can imagine, opening a new business of this kind takes a huge amount of planning and organisation. On this occasion we have let you down not providing the fixed price menu as advertised & on the quality of the food in general. We have had some early teething problems with this menu and are working very hard to fulfill this promotion & make the necessary changes. This hard work should come to fruition within the next few weeks and we will be able to deliver on what we had previously advertised.

Please do accept our apologies and we do hope that you will give us another opportunity in the near future.

If you are willing to give us another try, please do contact me directly and i will take care of your booking personally.

Many thanks once again

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2016

This lovely hotel has just been refurbished all I can say is wow! The staff were very welcoming with special little home made fudge and shortbread biscuits for us to make us feel at home. The food was top class locally sourced and cooked to perfection,needless to say breakfast was amazing with many different combinations cooked to your preference.The decor was stunning I couldnt stop looking around me all the time ,it made me smile.We cannot wait to go back .Top class and well done to you all!!!!!!

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Brenda L,

Thank you very much for your very kind review, really pleased to see that you enjoyed your time with us and liked the changes that we have made. All of us here are very excited to be in the new George and are eager to keep up the standards that we have set ourselves.

We really hope to see you back again very soon & thank you once again

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2016

Brakespear have heavily invested in the George turning it into an elegant yet friendly venue. The food has been excellent, the prices are fair and the service has been great. This is such a central meeting place for the town that like many locals we were keeping our fingers crossed for the reopening and we have not been decepointed. Great addition to our town.

Date of stay: April 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank Jens H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rasinkernow, Manager at The George Townhouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 19, 2016

Dear Jens H,

Thank you so much for your kind review, so pleased to read that you liked the changes here, we agree that The George is great for the town & we are all very excited about the future here.

Best wishes

Pete Nicholas

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews