We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible place”

The Black Horse Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shipston on Stour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Horse Inn
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

This pub is absolutely incredible. The staff are amazing. The thai food is PROPER. not some westernised crap that they THINK we want to eat, its legit. The beers are proper ale. The lager is cold. You cannot go wring here. The shiznit.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank osaka-bumano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 19 reviews

Reviewed October 12, 2012

Referred to as The Hidden Gem - WoW! Lovely old pub, thatched, flagstone floors, friendly people and great staff! Had a fantastic lunch deal of Thai food - not what you would expect in this setting but beautiful fresh and tasty food. A hidden gem that really shouldn't be hidden!

Room Tip: Not a B & B but still great location :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lalionrouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We went for a drink at lunchtime in this beautiful thatched pub and had a shared Thai mixed starter as a light lunch. It was so good that we booked for a full meal in the evening. Tiny restaurant which only seats twenty or so, so best to book. Wonderful authentic Thai food at very low prices, and presented excellently. We have eaten many a Thai meal, and whilst we are not experts, the food here was well above the average, bordering on perfect.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Keith P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

A great traditional British Pub and returned perfectly back to how it should look since the new owners took over. Plenty more beers on tap and a welcoming atmosphere. Very friendly staff and well run. Really good pub garden.

The Thai food is fabulous and worth trying.

Would recommend.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TCP1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2012

we went here for a birthday meal with my parents and we found the waitress and the food to be delightful best thai food we have ever had.the only little negatives are small dining room was very noisy and the puddings were a bit of a let down compared to main courses

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank clairebear76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Came across this restaurant by accident (were recommended it by some locals in another pub) on a recent trip to the Cotswolds. What a find! Fabulous freshly cooked authentic Thai food, at very reasonable prices. Staff very friendly, great atmosphere. Can't recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AnneHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2012

I wasn't sure if to write this review as it's only a small reasrurant with around twenty covers, so more people that reads this will want to enjoy the fantastic food.
I've eaten at the Thai boat house at Stratford and Thai at Banbury, never again the food here is far better and without the cost and fuss. We had the set meal B. It came with starter selection and two or three main course, all main dishes were very well cooked and very tasty and fresh, wife wasn't a fan of the starters but never is of fried food. My advice is got for Thai red curry it was so nice.

Don't forget this is a pub to so you can get a good selection of beers and lagers and wines and not just the normal Thai beers.
We et as a family of four and including my drinks the bill came to £60, great value

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank bridger24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Shipston on Stour hotels
0.3 mi away
The White Bear
The White Bear
#2 of 2 in Shipston on Stour
85 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Inn
The Falcon Inn
#4 of 11 in Shipston on Stour
65 reviews
0.3 mi away
The George Townhouse
The George Townhouse
#1 of 2 in Shipston on Stour
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
The Old Kiln House Bed and Break...
#1 of 11 in Shipston on Stour
197 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Norman Knight
The Norman Knight
#3 of 11 in Shipston on Stour
16 reviews
3 mi away
The Old Manor House
The Old Manor House
#1 of 2 in Halford
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Address: Station Road | Shipston on Stour, Shipston on Stour CV36 4BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston on Stour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Shipston on Stour
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Horse Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse is "The Hidden Thatched Gem" of Shipston being the oldest pub in Shipston and the only remaining Freehouse. Offering a wonderful selection of Cask Ales and Ciders and now benefitting from the arrival of The Black Horse Thai Restaurant serving fresh authentic Thai food . Lovely outside Beer Garden and two quintessentially ancient English Bars and seperate restaurant ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Shipston On Stour
The Black Horse Inn Shipston On Stour, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing