We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“lovely”

The Black Horse Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Shipston on Stour
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Black Horse Inn
warwickshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“lovely”
Reviewed May 26, 2012

we went here for a birthday meal with my parents and we found the waitress and the food to be delightful best thai food we have ever had.the only little negatives are small dining room was very noisy and the puddings were a bit of a let down compared to main courses

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clairebear76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
11
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Came across this restaurant by accident (were recommended it by some locals in another pub) on a recent trip to the Cotswolds. What a find! Fabulous freshly cooked authentic Thai food, at very reasonable prices. Staff very friendly, great atmosphere. Can't recommend it highly enough

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnneHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mickleton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2012 via mobile

I wasn't sure if to write this review as it's only a small reasrurant with around twenty covers, so more people that reads this will want to enjoy the fantastic food.
I've eaten at the Thai boat house at Stratford and Thai at Banbury, never again the food here is far better and without the cost and fuss. We had the set meal B. It came with starter selection and two or three main course, all main dishes were very well cooked and very tasty and fresh, wife wasn't a fan of the starters but never is of fried food. My advice is got for Thai red curry it was so nice.

Don't forget this is a pub to so you can get a good selection of beers and lagers and wines and not just the normal Thai beers.
We et as a family of four and including my drinks the bill came to £60, great value

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank bridger24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 7, 2011

We stayed at the Black horse as I was playing cricket in Shipston and was going to the Proms too , from ball one we were made so welcome the pubs location is so ideal too just a short stroll into town , everyone who works at this pub are so helpful and I would not hesitate in staying again , the rooms were just right for what we wanted with our son Noah , as mentioned breakfast is excellent, I would also say dont get to caried away on the scrumpy , if you want a clear head in the morning

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank langham3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2010

Stayed for two nights to meet friends locally. Found pub to be warm and all staff very friendly. Continental breakfast delivered to room very good. Small fridge in room very handy for milk etc. Nice clean room separate from bar so you can come and go as you please.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank starstruckuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Cheshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2010

We stayed at this pub and were more than suprised at how nice the spacious recently
re -furbished room was that we stayed in. It was at the back of this lovely pub in the garden . It even had a settee and a litlle fridge. We had intended to go out on the evening but the menu was so good we stayed and ate in the garden and were made to feel more than welcome by everyone. Breakfast was probably better than most hotels we have stayed in and served in the lovely dining room they have there.
We will definitely be staying here again and I would recommend this as a good central stay to see the cotswolds.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BijanSale_Cheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shipston on Stour
0.2 mi away
The George Townhouse
The George Townhouse
#1 of 2 in Shipston on Stour
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Falcon Inn
The Falcon Inn
#3 of 11 in Shipston on Stour
4.0 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Old Kiln House Bed and Breakfast
The Old Kiln House Bed and Break...
#1 of 11 in Shipston on Stour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 mi away
The Norman Knight
The Norman Knight
#5 of 11 in Shipston on Stour
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.9 mi away
Halford Bridge Inn
Halford Bridge Inn
#2 of 2 in Halford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
3.9 mi away
The George at Brailes
The George at Brailes
#1 of 1 in Brailes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Black Horse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Black Horse Inn

Property: The Black Horse Inn
Address: Station Road | Shipston on Stour, Shipston on Stour CV36 4BT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Shipston on Stour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Shipston on Stour
Hotel Class:3 star — The Black Horse Inn 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Black Horse is "The Hidden Thatched Gem" of Shipston being the oldest pub in Shipston and the only remaining Freehouse. Offering a wonderful selection of Cask Ales and Ciders and now benefitting from the arrival of The Black Horse Thai Restaurant serving fresh authentic Thai food . Lovely outside Beer Garden and two quintessentially ancient English Bars and seperate restaurant ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Black Horse Hotel Shipston On Stour
The Black Horse Inn Shipston On Stour, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing