We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, friendly owners, great prices”
Review of El Cafe

El Cafe
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Spanish, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: El Cafe is a spanish cafe bar in the heart of Shipston On Stour. Come down for an authentic Spanish coffee, a selection of Tapas or a few glasses of wine! The times that we advertise are for food orders/bookings, as in true Spanish style we close when we have finished, we like to fiesta in the evening but in the afternoon we close at 3pm for our siesta, this is so we can do fiesta!!!
Neath, South Wales
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly owners, great prices”
Reviewed June 27, 2013 via mobile

This place is very accommodating, especially if you have children. It's also open from 5pm, which is an advantage over other restaurants in Shipston which serve from 6pm. If you have kids and want to eat early, this place is perfect. 5 hot tapas dishes for £16, all very authentic and tasty. Try the manchego cheese with honey, with optional ground coffee to sprinkle on top. Delicious. Would go back to this place, without question.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellis R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElCafe-Shipston, Owner at El Cafe, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello Ellis R,

Thank you very much for your review.

I hope your journey back went well for you all. It was a pleasure having you all here at El Cafe.

Next time your about please try to pop in and will be very proud to look after you again. I will get you try a couple of hidden specials.

Thank you,

David & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    18
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fab Tapas!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Met up with friends at El Cafe last weekend having read that it was so good & we weren't disappointed! The tapa's were excellent the house wine excellent & guess what, the service was excellent too!!! We'll definately be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SophiaWitney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElCafe-Shipston, Owner at El Cafe, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Hello Sophia,

Thank you very much for your review it is very much appreciated and we understand the time it takes to do.

Please let us now next time you are in and we will have to treat you.

Thank you,

David and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“best in town”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

for quality service, food, wine and authentic atmosphere there is no finer establishment I know of. Lisa and Laurie were great hosts and next time I look forward to meeting David too. Congratulations on a great bijou bistro and the arrival of the baby. See you again.
Andrew

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElCafe-Shipston, Owner at El Cafe, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Andrew B,

What can I say but thank you very much for the review.

I am so happy that you enjoyed it here at El Cafe and that the team looked after you so well. I will be taking them out for a couple of drinks. Izabella is doing very well and mother too, just some sleepless nights but it is all good. Please. Let us know next time you are in so we can thank you personally.

Thank you for the lovely review.

The Boss (Mum), Izabella, Lisa, Lauri & David.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

They say quality comes in small packages well this is it its great in every way staff owner and whole place is friendly, also the food is outstanding.

11 out of 10 for me.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mccall89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElCafe-Shipston, Owner at El Cafe, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Mocall89,

Thank you very much for this lovely review.

We are really happy that you enjoyed your time here at El Cafe and would like to thank you personally for this. So please let us know the next time you are in so we can give you something back.

Once again we really thank you for the review.

David & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Trip advisor you have done us proud”
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

We live locally but would probably never have found this place without reading the reviews on Trip Advisor, but we will certainly be going back! Amazing! So much character packed into this tiny little cafe. We had a selection of 5 tapas, which at £16 between two of us was a bargain. Would particularly recommend the chorizo and the garlic prawns but it was all fantastic. The chocolate dessert pot was also to die for. Can't wait to go back and try everything else on the menu. Service was fantastic and all in all unbelievable value for money. A great night out!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloucestershiregirls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ElCafe-Shipston, Owner at El Cafe, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Hello Gloucestershire Girls,

Thank you very much for the great review.

Next time you are in please let us treat you to a little some think special in our tapas. I do little tapas treat at the weekend. But if you let us know you are coming I will do something for you.

Once again thank you for the for taking your time on writing the review. We really appreciate it.

David & the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Cafe also viewed

Shipston on Stour, Cotswolds
Shipston on Stour, Cotswolds
 
Shipston on Stour, Cotswolds
Armscote, Ilmington
 

Been to El Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing