We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“back on our list” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn

The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn
Ranked #10 of 185 Restaurants in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
hinckley leics.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“back on our list”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

Back on our list of lunchtime venues with friends after a break of some time since changes of ownership. Have been twice in the last week and on both occasions was made very welcome and pleased to say food quality and service are what one wants for a weekly treat. Menu is comprehensive and ideal for all tastes from grandparents to children. Understand restaurant is to undertaken refurbishment during November and am sure this will enhance the atmosphere and quality of this very rural country inn.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dordee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    50
    16
    4
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“top rated service :)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2012

Have visited this pub several times over the last few years and we always get such a warm and friendly welcome its as though its our local! The food is of exceptional value and quality. Hubby always has the mixed grill...to say it comes out on a plate is a lie, its a huge tray! I have never seen so much food on one plate! Hubby hasnt been defeated yet though! Surf and turf is highly recommended as I always have that. My parents normally have specials on the board but no matter what you have its top notch! The pub is welcoming to all whether we go as couple or as family with the kids. Highly recommended to all. Cant wait for the next time we go!

  • Visited November 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Gleanster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
146 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“CHEAP & GOOD QUALITY”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

Visited for the first time on Sunday, had the Sunday lunch the veg seemed freshly cooked and it was very enjoyable. Hubby had the gammon and have to admit I was very tempted the food was good and EXCELLENT excellent value for money and good old fashion pubs. I will be returing

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 504202Sunlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Visited this pub for the first time in many years recently for lunch and was impressed by the food and price. On arrival there were not many customers there but those that were all having food, mostly sizzlers! Landlady was pleasant and welcoming. 3 of our party had liver and onions with mashed potato which all remarked was delicious and only priced at £4.95. I had the 8oz Rump steak which was cooked to perfection and again was reasonably priced at £7.95. The only comment I would make is that the pub was rather bare inside and could do with some homely touches, pictures, knickkacks etc.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Bad Attitude, Bad Service and Unwelcoming”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

After visiting the Sarah Mansfield, I was left very disappointed. The landlady was rude, dismissive and most unwelcoming. The food was cold, soggy and of poor quality. It seemed as if we were inconveniencing the landlady by asking for food and drink, which I thought was a norm when visiting pubs. We had heard good reviews, but I think I would rather go to where the chips are served as a dish, rather than resting on the landlady's shoulders!!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emma G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Sarah Mansfield Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing