We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good restaurant”
Review of Thai Orchid - Rugby - CLOSED

Thai Orchid - Rugby
Price range: $22 - $80
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Rugby, UK
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“A good restaurant”
Reviewed October 5, 2012

The Thai Orchid is a good restaurant but it is a bit pricey. The portions are not large, except the desserts which are massive and really good value. The wine is quite expensive (the same house wine is £4 cheaper in La Casa Loco 5 minutes walk away).

What I really like however is the flavours of the food, spicy but not overwhelmed by heat, with the subtle flavours also showing through. I would recommend this restaurant but be prepared to pay for what you get. The service is vey quick though, esopecially considering there are only 2 front of house staff. I would recommend booking if you are arriving after 20:00 to 20:30 time as it gets very busy from then on in.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Baldipaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    47
    19
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

I have eaten here before and always enjoyed the quality of the food and service. The staff are so polite and welcoming and I think they bring out the best in their customers! (Well except the toddler on the next table!)

It was early Friday night and there was a very large party next to us but the service was excellent. I was with my grown up sons and my proxy nephew and we all enjoyed the meals we had. The food is beautifully presented and they do the best sticky rice ever!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alhaurin el Grande, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent meal”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Went to this restaurant on recommendation and after reading the reviews here. Got there early on Monday, just after 1900, and it was virtually empty. Greeted cheerfully and made to feel very welcome. There were enough prawn crackers not to worry about a starter! The main courses were excellent. The house wine is £4.25 a glass, and the desert wasn't really worth £4.50, and some may agree these were slightly overpriced, but the food prices were about what we've come to expect.
I can understand why there is a mention here that the service was quick. I felt it was very efficient rather than "too" quick.The young lad mentioned the desert trolley as the main course crockery was being cleared, but retreated a respectful distance when we said we wanted to wait a few minutes.
Overall, excellent, and we were making arrangements to return with friends before we even got home.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank IPBushy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Valentine heaven”
Reviewed August 29, 2012

Happened to book the Thai Orchid for valentines day,, the food was mouth watering, the service was wonderful, the price spot on, beautiful food lovely hand carved room decorated in traditional thai style, wonderful

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Delamigo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, Uk
Level 6 Contributor
294 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Thai worth tying up for”
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were on a canal holiday, four of us. Tired of the dreadful pub grub served by grubby pubs along the way, moored at Bridge 58 (Masters Bridge) and wandered into Rugby. Turning right brought us to another of the bland pubs we'd been trying to avoid so we turned left, past Tescos and on into Rugby town. It's about a mile and a half into town. Opposite Rugby school, in Sheep Street, we stumbled across the Thai Orchid, offering a Sunday fixed price buffet for £12.50. A guy outside said it was fantastic so, on that recommendation, in we went. We were not disappointed - he was right.

Service was quick and oh so polite. How lovely to really feel welcomed. The buffet was a cavalcade of choices, from cold starter bites and soups, to meat, prawn and vegetable dishes with varieties of rices, noodles and sauces. And every dish a tasty excursion into Thai cuisine. We returned for seconds so we could have more of the things we liked best and try some of the dishes we missed. It makes my mouth water just to write about it. Then there were the desserts; okay these were not especially Thai, but lots of good old favourites like profiteroles, creme caramel, trifle, ice-cream..... mmmmm.

We were not offered a drinks menu - perhaps the evening customers get one - but got what we wanted in the way of wines and a decent Chinese beer.

We were probably the last to leave that lunchtime and luckily checked the bill because the next table's coffees had drifted onto our account. But the staff were contrite and amended the bill with no fuss. And, for all this lovely food, with the drinks, we paid about £16 each. What value!

Now, the evening, full a la carte menu is always going the be more pricey than a Sunday lunchtime deal - main dishes come in around £16 - but this quality of food, the lovely welcome and the beautiful Thai furnishings are well worth paying for. For us, it was worth the walk and next time we are on the Oxford Canal, we'll certainly tie up at Bridge 58 again.

You don't have to come by boat but, if you're in Rugby, make your way to Sheep Street and give the Thai Orchid a go.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank John V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Thai Orchid - Rugby also viewed

 
Dunchurch, Rugby
Rugby, Warwickshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing