We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Being treated as a guest instead of a customer”

Diamond House Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Diamond House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 11 Rugby B&B and Inns
Ilford, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Being treated as a guest instead of a customer”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

I am lucky enough to work in an industry which means I stay in hotels all over the world - so I believe I am more than competent to give an honest assessment of this hotel.

What I would say about this one is that as many of the reviews have stated, it's not the world's most up to date boutique hotel - quite the opposite. What it lacks in the latest mod cons it more than makes up for in service - good old fashioned personable service.

Instead of a customer or a room number, Simon, the owner, makes you feel like a guest in his home - a friendly chat, a lovely home cooked breakfast made to order - when you are on the road for weeks at a time, believe me, someone to say a pleasant 'good morning' to you and mean it - is a welcome break from the usual.

Internet was on the whole fine - the room was clean and the parking safe and convenient - breakfast was good and on occasion superb! The bed was so comfortable it was all I could do to stop myself falling asleep whilst watching early evening TV.

As stated above I have read some of the comments by people and ask myself what do they want for £45 a night?

I would book to stay again in an instant - I would urge others to do so as well.

Room Tip: Rooms ABCDE are right next to the rear car park - ideal for checking in and out
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    11
    4
    18
See reviews for
7
15
1
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2013

Room seven is not a room it's a cell sky light for a window,mould in the sky light.filthy walls no heating (it's a electric storage heaters that are turned off at the wall so I turned it on to store the heat from that night so it would be release through out the following day ready for when I arrived back from working out doors .got back and they had switched it off at the wall.still freezing so I complain about everything and the nasty foul staff shouted at me and blamed the state of the room on me but had to stay that night did not sleep a wink in the child size bed

Room Tip: Not room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rugby hotels

Chester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This was the worst hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay in. The decor is very outdated and tired as were the fixtures and fittings. We had a 'penthouse', well it was in the attic. The room came with full kitchenette, whereas it would have been more suitable having a full bathroom rather than the toilet come shower cubicle it had. The toilet was so close to the opposite wall if you are over 6 foot tall you'd have to sit on the toilet sideways. The toilet overflow drained into the shower tray (nice!). The wash basin was attached to the wall outside the bathroom and was so small not even a child would be able to wash their face. There was a fuse box and exposed mains cabling in the corner of the room...when I say exposed I mean copper wire showing. The bed appeared to be a wardbrode laid on its side with mattress on it. The mattress was really old and totally worn out. The pillows inside the pillow case were ancient and a horrid yellowy brown. The duvet was tiny and didn't cover the bed.
Breakfast average at best. I could not recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Look elsewhere in Rugby
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toby p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Firstly the cover picture is NOT of the Diamond House Hotel 30, Hillmorton Rd, Rugby as it is now. Having read some of the other favourable reviews and cannot disagree with some of the views. The place was OK, the rooms were tired but clean. The corridors were shabby. The breakfast was good if basic. I think if I was going on a fishing trip or the like I would use this hotel, it is also nicely situated near the town centre. It is not the place to take the wife if she is particular and two couples turned up, had a 'discussion' and left. That said the staff were really nice and I don't want to do down this place it was OK for a Lads trip and for that I would defiantly use it again but I wouldn't take my wife.

Room Tip: Get there soon and see what rooms are available
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kandaharG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Stay here every year for a fishing club AGM / drinkathon. It's not the ritz, but it does the job and the breakfast fills a hole in the morning. Rooms are a bit tired but they're clean and the kettle works. If you need somewhere to just dump your stuff and sleep then it's a good place.

Room Tip: Car park round the back is logically more secure, though we've not had any problems out the fron...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fairweather76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed at very short notice and I admit our first impressions were that the hotel is in need of some TLC and modernising. The owner was very friendly and welcoming and our room was spacious and warm. The furniture was a bit mismatched but plenty of room for your belongings and above all the room and bathroom were clean. Good to have wifi and breakfast included. This has the potential to be a great hotel but does need a lot of investment and I suspect these things take time when you are not a big chain.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 which is a family room (one double, two singles)
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Unfortunately we booked in here to attend a funeral. The room was cold, damp and musty smelling, we turned the radiator, which helped get rid of the musty smell. I went to breakfast once in our 2 day stay, it was like being at a half way house.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 10ogara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugby
0.2 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
0.4 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#12 of 13 in Rugby
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Ibis Rugby East
Ibis Rugby East
#1 of 2 in Crick
377 reviews
1.6 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.7 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond House Hotel

Property: Diamond House Hotel
Address: 30 Hillmorton Road, Rugby CV22 5AA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Diamond House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Priceline so you can book your Diamond House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing