We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average to Very Good”
Review of Loon Fung - CLOSED

Loon Fung
Price range: $10 - $65
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Takeout
Description: Loon Fung is a family run restaurant situated on the outskirts of Rugby just off the M6 Junction 1. We provide an excellent selection of all your favourite chinese cuisine as well as something different for those wanting a real taste of China. With an excellent selection of food choice, easy access from the motorway and ample amounts of free parking there is no reason not to visit! We hope to see you soon.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Average to Very Good”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

I felt compelled to write a review as I can't put my hand on my heart and agree that this is the best restaurant in Rugby.

If you want a Chinese then yes it's good - though I love chinese the food hear isn't quite to my taste so I won't be hurrying back. I tried it as a take away first and thought it was fairly average, though definitely not as good as the Chinese in Brownsover but we decided to give the restaurant a go anyway.

The decor is quite basic & to be honest I found it bland so if your looking for romantic or opulent then give the place a miss. The service was slow as they were fairly busy (about 1/3 full) and no doubt they cook everything from fresh but the waitress's were very friendly so it was tolerable and the prices were reasonable though slightly on the high side.

All in all I wouldn't put anyone off from going but no way does it deserve an award as best in Rugby nor could I recommend it (sorry).

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank XXXChrisXXX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    15
    15
    1
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant”
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I often stay in the hotel next door to this restaurant and since visiting the first time I always go back. Connie is a great host, remembering my name every time I visit and it is not too often! The food is always top class as is the service and very, very reasonably priced. I would definitely recommend a visit as I am sure you will be looked after, have some great food, a wonderful experience and get looked after.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Toby D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connieflower, Manager at Loon Fung, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hey Toby,
Thanks for your review. See you the next time your visiting rugby.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Highly recommend!!! :D”
Reviewed February 3, 2013 via mobile

Have eating here a number of times and always had great service and the food is always brilliant, you can tell its all freshly prepared. So much choice, slowly working our way through the menu!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SCBage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connieflower, Manager at Loon Fung, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thanks for your review :)
I wonder how far you have got along the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“This really is excellent!!”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

We saw the trip Advisor reviews and thought we would give it a try. We were not disappointed.

The restaurant was clean and tidy as we walked up to it and the foyer was also clean and uncluttered. We were seated quickly and had a lovely window view.

Service was quick and extremely polite. However, the real kicker was the food. The prawn crackers were fresh, the spring rolls had a really fresh crunch and loads of texture and flavour. The prawn dumplings were again fresh and tasty. For the main we had a sizzling beef dish that was really hot and spicy. The beef was lean and we ate every bit of it. Even the wine was pleasant and complimented the meal perfectly.

I can honestly say that I have not had a Chinese meal as nice as this ever. Go there, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank paulnkerrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connieflower, Manager at Loon Fung, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hey Paul and karrie,
Thank you for such a positive comment.
See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Forgot my prawn crackers!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013 via mobile

Only thing that I would say negative is they forgot the prawn crackers I ordered - so went back and got them!

Really good goood though, will do anything you want and staff are friendly!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 02peterh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connieflower, Manager at Loon Fung, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Hi Peter,
Thanks for your review. Sorry about the prawn crackers. Glad everything else was good. :)
See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Loon Fung also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing