We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence
ely, Cambs
Level Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A Lovely Hotel”
Reviewed October 28, 2010

This is a really good hotel. We ate there on the first evening and the meal was of a high standard. The breakfast was also very good, as was the service at meal times. The room that we stayed in was spacious, clean, and well decorated. The main building is most impressive and the hotel is set in super grounds.
A few minor negatives: the shower in the room would not run hot and the toilet seat was very loose. Bar prices are rather high and service at the bar in the evening is, at best, intermittent (with the exception of one evening when the excellent 'Sue' manned the bar).
We stayed three nights and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ApprenticeEly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thank you for your comments

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us at the hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed the food & service in our new Wineglass restaurant.

I will also pass on your comments to Sue for the service she provided.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    266
    229
    96
    44
    43
See reviews for
105
274
13
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2010

My wife and I stayed here on Friday 8th October. I was travelling from Southend on Sea and my wife was travelling from our home in Wirral, both journeys take about 2 1/2 hours and we wanted to find a nice hotel where we could meet halfway and stay over.

The hotel looks the part, nice driveway, set back amongst some beautiful shrubs and trees and the house itself looks beautiful.

However...my wife arrived before me and found that there was a wedding on in the hotel. After travelling for 2 1/2 hours she couldn't even get a seat in the bar because it was packed with the wedding party. My wife went to the bar and then asked them if the wedding party would be going to another bar later on and the lady behind the bar said that there was only one bar and that the wedding guests would be using it as well.

We have nothing against the wedding party, after all, it is a great venue to have a wedding but for other guests it is a nightmare. My wife spoke to a duty manager who really couldn't have cared less if she tried.

Then a lady called Chanelle (we think) came to speak to us (I had arrived by then) and said that as we booked through laterooms, they should have mentioned something about a wedding being on. I explained that they didn't and also that I spoke to the hotel reception myself at 8.30am on the Friday morning to book the restaurant that night and that they didn't mention there was a wedding on either.
If we had known that we would have cancelled the booking as it was before 12 on the day of arrival but by the time we got there it was too late.

We were located in the stables area at the back of the hotel (which is very nice indeed) but our cold taps ran hot even after leaving them running so they must have a plumbing problem as well.

We got a taxi to a local mexican restaurant in Church Street (about 5 mins and lovely it was too) and both the taxi drivers on the way in and out said that the hotel is dead when there isn't a wedding on, so it does seem to cater specifically for the wedding crowd.

The saving grace was the lady in charge of the reception, Chanelle. She was courteous, polite and listened to us and then offered us a couple of free drinks in the bar (by this time we were sitting on a sofa under the stairs)
The problem is that the hotel caters specifically for the wedding market which is fine but they need to get another bar or put a room aside for the wedding party so that 'normal' guests can also relax in peace.

We would stay again but the hotel must inform all potential guests whether there is a wedding taking place or not and then let the guests decide themselves if they still wish to stay.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank harro2904
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback during your stay.

I am glad that Charelle was able to help with your stay and that you appreciated her efforts to look after you.

We have wedding guests & non wedding guests staying at the hotel every weekend and both have equal access to the facilities of the hotel.

Hopefully we will get the chance to welcome you back to the hotel in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northampton
2 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2010

We stayed here for a couple of nights after our wedding. I have to stay the reviews of this place were good, but it was even better than we expected.

The place itself is stunning- set in acres of woodland. You feel like you are miles from anywhere.

Tha accomodation was clean, cosy, spacious.

The food was out of this world. The breakfasts were good, but the evening meal was amazing. I cant remember the last time i had such tasty food.

The service throughout was very good- friendly and helpful.

And there is a beautiful walk through fields an along a river.

Overall i couldnt fault it 10 out of 10

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allesandro66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 23, 2010
Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback

It’s great to hear the positive comments about our new Wine glass restaurant. I will also pass on your comments to the gardeners who put in great efforts to maintain the grounds at the hotel.

Look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

Small restaurant didn't seem busy but had to wait 45 minutes for table.Left with menu for ten minutes,ordered cold starter which took another ten minutes to arrive and looked like an afterthought,main course not a great improvement.Didn't even consider dessert.Just totally ignored throughout the meal and very disappointing.Reception staff were welcoming and helpful,room large and spacious and hotel in nice secluded surroundings.Unfortunately good things about the hotel overshadowed by the dismal meal and service in the restaurant.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ticketybooScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 24, 2010
Thank you for your comments

I am glad you enjoyed the majority of your stay and I will pass on your comments reference the reception team.

It is also disappointing to hear your comments reference the restaurant. I assure you that this is not the normal standard.

We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed September 23, 2010

We stayed at the hotel on the weekend of our friends Civil Partnership ceremony. It was a great venue for the event. Close to the motorway yet out in the country. Great grounds, plenty of parking. Pleasant room, nice and warm, clean and well presented. Very friendly staff who were pleased to help. Enjoyed the Breakfast! plenty on offer and a great choice!
The bar prices were eye watering. Drinks were very expensive. At least I didn't wake up with a hang over........ I couldn't afford to!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luaprekol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This is a lovely venue to get married. The great gothic architecture really did lend itself to our Chrismas wedding. It's as good a price as anywhere of the same standard. There is a sense though that every single little item is charged for - no complimentary little freebies here. Staff are professional though and it all went very smoothly which is the main thing.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndJR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 5, 2010

We had booked the bridal suite based in the old stables, we got a great deal of dinner, bed and breakfast - £160. The drive up to the hotel was excellent. The hotel itself has an air of mystery and gothic charm. The check in was smooth and it was good to be able to check in a 2pm. The suite we had was room 48, it was based over two floors. The decor was nothing spectacular or modern but it was comfortable and in keeping with the building. We had pre-arranged champagne and chocolates for the room and they were there waiting for us and the champagne was lovely and chilled!!!

Unfortunately we found that the toilet was leaking in the bathroom and had left a small puddle in the middle of the bathroom floor. When we informed reception the duty manager (Bianca) came to see us to offer her apology, as she was aware there was a problem with the plumbing. We were offered another room but we did't like it as much. We were then offered free wine with our dinner that evening and extra towels to help mop up the water!! We were happy with that! Bianca was very attentive and apologetic. The funny thing was that when my hubby had a look at the toilet he found that the cistern was over filling, he easily solved the problem so the toilet did not leak again that whole weekend!!!

There was a wedding in the hotel that night so the restaurant had been moved to the drawing room. We had it all to ourselves all evening. The food was faultless and very tasty!!!! The free wine was good too!!!!!

In the morning the breakfast was served as a buffet style continental and cooked. All of it was great! Basically it was a great place to get away to have a romantic weekend. It was made all the better by the good deal we got!!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rachel_e_white
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugby
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
4.8 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
424 reviews
4.0 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
203 reviews
3.0 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
#1 of 1 in Easenhall
192 reviews
6.6 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
2,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownsover Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownsover Hall Hotel

Property: Brownsover Hall Hotel
Address: Brownsover Hall Hotel Brownsover Lane | Warwickshire, Rugby CV21 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Rugby
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownsover Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter at Brownsover Hall. Picture is the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Brownsover Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brownsover Hall Rugby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing