We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building, first class staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Reviewed April 25, 2014

Spent a night here in one of the stable rooms (we'd recommend one of those!) in April, Beautiful gothic building full character which we loved, and a little creepy, which we also loved. Also booked wineglass restaurant for dinner which was decent food-wise though the service a bit slow and the atmosphere a little dead. Despite there being a wedding on the staff were attentive. We were very impressed with the polite bar man (shane?) despite being obviously very busy took time to chat to us and everyone he served. Definitely worth another visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a stable room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cassy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2014

thank you so much for your kind comments and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
It is kind of you to mention Shane by name and pleased you enjoyed his company in the bar.

welcome back on your next visit to Rugby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (796)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

536 - 542 of 796 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very simple quick review, stayed here a few weeks back on a work stayover and had a half dent room. Was housed in the old stableblock and enjoyed a good nights sleep.
Reception is wonderful. staff obliging and the history of the jet engine (Frank Whittle) a nice bonus.
Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask to be housed in the stable block, it gets you away from the coming and goings of other guests.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebenRichWoodbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you very much for your short review. History creates stories and stories give a place character, this differenciates Brownsover Hall from many other properties. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and welcome with us. See you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had a recent weekend stay booked as a present. The hotel was a lovely old hall with a stable block where our room was.The room was great having it's own sitting area and bedroom on the floor above.
We ate both nights in the hotel as there was very little locally and the food was good, but the restaurant lacked atmosphere, was cold in certain areas and there was some overspill of noise from the weddings on both nights in the other rooms.
The hotel does seem to be set up more as a venue for weddings and as a result other guests do suffer a little.

Room Tip: Go for the rooms in the stable block if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gupta65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 18, 2014

Thank you for your comments and sorry you felt marginalised. Brownsover Hall has many faces, we are excellent as a wedding venue, but welcome the majority of our guests, weekday and weekend, equally for business and pleasure throughout the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We lunched here at one of the few times they didn't have a function, although the signs of past and future ones were all around: litter of pink feathers, confetti and cigarette butts on steps, staff rushing about with table cloths and decorations. We ate in lonely splendour in the dining room. The Gilbert Scott building and the grounds were ( just) diverting enough to make it a reasonably interesting experience, but we felt that the food was overpriced by about 15% for the main courses and 30-40% for the desserts. A rabbit main course was quite tasty but expensive at £16.95, the vegetarian gnocchi was a very small portion, and the desserts were very ordinary indeed at £6.95 each. It must be difficult to cater for individual diners and drop in customers in a place that is principally a wedding and party venue - on the evidence of our experience, they aren't really succeeding. Perhaps when the new housing developments nearby are built there will be more walk-in custom and they will be able to focus more on that aspect. As it is, I wouldn't revisit.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank LadyMustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your review. Prices can be a very subjective issue. we believe we offer value for money. At lunch time it is possible to choose from a fixed menu option for 2 courses for £16.95 including coffee or tea and three course for £19.95, also including coffee or tea. Interestingly enough, we served 93 covers on Saturday with a combination of lunches, afternoon teas, bar snacks and dinners in the restaurant and private rooms, so we are very much open and welcoming for drop in business. Try us again on another occasion.!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2014

Nice imposing hotel as you driver up the driveway to the entrance, there are rooms in the main hall and also a 'stables' block round the back. Check in was ok, efficient and too the point. I was allocated a room in the main hall so was looking forward to seeing it as previous reviewers had pointed out large spacious rooms. What a disapointment, room was on the 3rd floor and very small, almost an attic type room, was clean but space a real issue and electric heating gave off an interesting aroma whan switched on, eventually had to switch it off. Evening meals were good with friendly staff who were attentive without being over your shoulder, breakfast were also good with a similar attention to detail and service. All in all a hotel with character but needs to watch as its a fine line between character and shabiness. One word of advice for the hotel, put a bell in the bar, saves guests going to reception or hunting down a member of staff to serve you.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the 3rd floor of main hall, think they are numbers 15 - 18
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scot67Glasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Thank you for your comments and advice which we will certainly look into. Admittedly the rooms you mention are the smallest in the hotel. This is to be expected in a historical building, by the same token other rooms in the main house are oversized. Ultimately it is priced accordingly, so if size is what you prefer, I suggest you ask for one of our Executive rooms next time.
I look forward to welcoming you back on future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014 via mobile

We got married here on Saturday 15th March 2014, and we had the most magical day.
The day had one or two small problems (lost thank you cards and my belongings not being taken to the bridal suite) but apart from that perfect, perfect, perfect!
Our wedding planner Lesley is a true star, every step of the way she was helpful, supportive and just a really nice person. We truly can't thank her and the team looking after us on the day enough.
We had our issues with a member of management over planning parts of our big day, but with a lot of help from others the issues were resolved.
I would recommend Brownsover Hall in a heartbeat, it is a beautiful venue with a mostly perfect team behind it.

Our thanks and best wishes,

Mr & Mrs Watts :)!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank K-Watts123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 26, 2014

Thank you very much for your kind comments. I am delighted you enjoyed your wedding and that it was an enormous success. It was kind of you to mention Lesley by name, she is a true professional and dedicated to her job. Nothing makes her happier than to know the Bride and Groom retain great memories of their special day. Welcome back for many anniversaries in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Tried the Sunday jazz lunch and must say Lincoln Noel and his drummer and bass player did an amazing job. The food was reasonably priced and service wAs very good. Well worth attending for the overall experience

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gmbrownsover, General Manager at Brownsover Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 19, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments and I am delighted you enjoyed our Sunday Jazz lunch.
Much of its success is due to the magnetic charm of Lincoln Noel but I also believe the combination of a delicious Sunday roast and relaxed friendly service hits the spot!
Welcome back to many more Sunday jazz lunches, hopefully soon as a monthly event.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Rugby
4.0 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
553 reviews
6.6 mi away
Coombe Abbey Hotel
Coombe Abbey Hotel
#3 of 39 in Coventry
3,010 reviews
4.8 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
3.0 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
#1 of 1 in Easenhall
207 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brownsover Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brownsover Hall Hotel

Address: Brownsover Hall Hotel Brownsover Lane | Warwickshire, Rugby CV21 1HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
#3 Family Hotel in Rugby
Price Range: $84 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Brownsover Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winter at Brownsover Hall. Picture is the main building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Brownsover Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brownsover Hall Rugby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing