We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We might have found our new local....”

Romna Tandoori Restaurant
Ranked #48 of 195 Restaurants in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $19 - $32
Cuisines: Asian, Indian, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Hinckley
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“We might have found our new local....”
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Recently moved to Rugby, so finding a new curry house was clearly on our priority list.

We had walked past a few curry houses on Albert Street and Railway Terrace on the basis that we would eat somewhere closer to the centre of town and only stopped at the Romna because we were tired of walking!

It was pleasantly busy even though it was early evening. However it is quite small so it fills up quite quickly.

Food was class, particularly the kids chicken biriani. They certainly didn't scrimp on small portions or trying to bulk out the dish with veg. It was bursting with chicken.

We took a punt and had a couple of the chefs specials. Never seen these previously at other restaurants (and can't remember what we had!) but we were both happy and there were no complaints.

Prices are very reasonable compared to our previous 'local'.

I agree on the grubby carpets which does bring the place down. Only other gripe was our table was by the front door, and whenever the door opened we got a waft of freezing March night air, but now that we know that we will sit elsewhere in the future.

Overall no complaints and very happy....We will obviously have to explore other curry houses (surely you have to play the field a little bit before settling down), but the Romna has set the bar very high.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mrandyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    28
    6
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent Traditional Indian Restaurant”
Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Visited the place with my family and have to say the service, value and amazing quality of food didn't disappoint me. Tried some items and everything was cooked to perfection. Staff are wonderful and polite, will defiantly make it a regular with the family.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tammi09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service,... just a bit lacking in atmosphere”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Been here a couple of times or so now and the food has been first class. The staff are attentive, but some are obviously 'drinks waiters' and others are 'food waiters', which made us laugh when we dined there recently! :) The flooring could do with a good clean and a bit of audible background music definitely wouldn't go amiss. A great place to eat, though and - so far / touch wood - the best indian I've tried in Rugby! Highly recommended and worthy of the 'very good' rating I've given it. They cater for my vegan partner without any fuss, too! :)

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
2,101 reviews
1,195 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3,851 helpful votes
“Not impressed at all!!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Decided to get a takeaway from here due to its high ranking & wish I'd stuck to my usual choice of Cinamon Lounge in Dunchurch!!
Had Pavida Garlic Chicken Tikka to start, which was plentiful but totally tasteless, followed by a House Special Biryani which also tasted bland. Won't be eating from here again!!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Leedsaway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We regularly get takeaways from The Romna, but it was a family birthday so decided to eat in with our 2 teenage children. We were not disappointed, staff friendly, service good and food excellent. Try the Tetul lamb yum.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank debs50ish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Romna Tandoori Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Romna Tandoori Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing