We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tired decor & 3am nightclub/bar boom music!!”
Review of The Rugby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rugby Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 426 helpful votes
“Tired decor & 3am nightclub/bar boom music!!”
Reviewed February 23, 2014 via mobile

Unexpectedly stayed here on a Saturday night & selected this hotel purely out of convenience. We were walk-in customers & charged £70 for the night. The decorum is very tired & old fashioned in places & really would benefit from the help of Hotel Inspector, Alex Polizzi! However, to it's credit, it's as clean. We were allocated room 103 which sits above the main entrance to the hotel & unfortunately is bang opposite Lloyds Bar which was playing boom boom boom music until 3am which didn't provide for a settled, comfortable nights sleep at all & we feel we should have been warned about this prior to taking our money & reservation. Of course post 3am we were then subjected to the various sounds associated to throwing out time of any disco-bar/nightclub; shouting, screaming, fights, bottles rattling, police sirens & vomiting; all of which again kept us awake throughout the night. In addition, we experienced additional disruption after the disco-bar/nightclub closed from the flag pole which was mounted to the wall outside our bedroom window; this was because it creaked & rattled all night & seriously needs an application of WD40! All in all, most definitely wouldn't stay again and/or recommend.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Navilluso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    39
    23
    19
See reviews for
22
31
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burnham-On-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

Very nice hotel, few little things could do with updating and a couple areas looked a little tired.

My room was a single and was ok, the bathroom was very small. I'm a slim built man and I could only just shower myself in the shower! Bedroom size for a single was good.

The bar area was a little tired, but the employees friendliness made up for this.

Breakfast was self serve and was good.

Overall nice place.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Blismore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 17, 2014

We booked the Warwick Room in the Rugby Hotel for a meal for 28 people to celebrate my 60th birthday. The room was perfect and well presented, lovely food served very efficiently and the staff couldn't have been more helpful. Thank you to everyone at the Rugby Hotel and I can recommend it to anyone who is looking for a good meal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed February 12, 2014 via mobile

I liked it ! The receptionist is so kind, the room is tidy and warm. If you have a long day , you can refresh and sleep in a good enviroment. There are lot of possibilities in the near .
Very good, I can recommend to everyone :)

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Viktoria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

Was struggling to find a room last minute in the Rugby area - found this hotel on the web. It is located on a pedestrian High Street, so I had to park in the 24 hour ASDA behind the hotel (was a short walk). I arrived late after a long journey - the staff were very welcoming. It was a work trip and I had paid more for a room with a work area and I also requested a bath. I had to carry my suitcase up quite a few stairs (there was an offer of help, but it was quite light) - no lift. When I entered the room (on a cold Feb night), the cold air hit me immediately (a window had been left open!!). The radiator was freezing - I saw that there was a heater, that was plugged in - but absolutely no heat was coming from it. I rang down and they kindly brought me up a new heater......I'm sure this broke all sorts of H&S regs?! The TV was tiny and the "workspace" was about 60cm by 60cm and all the space was taken up with the kettle and Info book! I did get the requested Bath, but the Bathroom was so cold I didn't bother. Lots of drinks available and biscuits. Shower not very powerful in am and very cold. The staff were so nice - I did get money off when I politely told the truth when asked how my stay was. No time for breakfast - downstairs looked lovely - very modern. Not a great trip if I'm honest, but the brilliant customer service made up for the cold!! Bed was comfy and room was clean.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 7, 2014

I have been stopping at this hotel for about 7 weeks now on and off due to work commitments in the area. I can positively say it has been a very pleasant time, all the staff are very helpful and friendly, the breakfasts are a very nice standard with plenty of choice, and my morning chats with Nigel after breakfast putting the world to rights are always good for a laugh.
The rooms are of a good standard but the heating is a bit hit and miss but there has always been a fan heater in my rooms to keep it warm, the beds are very comfy and always had a great nights sleep. I do agree with some of the other reviews about the showers though depending on which room you get the showers can be a very low pressure but others are great. The free Wifi is very temperamental but apparently this matter is being looked into as the signal has a tendency to keep dropping off ( bit annoying when you are trying to watch sky go on my laptop). These are a few minor problems but it does not stop me from re-booking week to week as the rest of the service is TOP NOTCH. :-) The location is great if as I am you are there for the week you are in the centre of Rugby town with all the restaurants and bars.

Room Tip: 1st Floor Rooms seem to have better shower pressure and more stable Wifi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We held a team meeting in the hotel for about 20 people. Rooms were adequate although the showers were not great. Breakfast is straightforward and nothing fancy but hit the mark. The lunch menu was excellent - the burgers particularly good. Bar stayed open late which is always a positive.

For a work event, the hotel ticked all the correct boxes and I am sure we will hold another there at some stage.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank MattStev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rugby hotels
0.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
1.6 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
#1 of 1 in Thurlaston
74 reviews
3.5 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
436 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rugby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rugby Hotel

Property: The Rugby Hotel
Address: 22-23 Sheep Street, Rugby CV21 3BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rugby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Rugby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing