We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gteat hotel”
Review of The Rugby Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Rugby Hotel
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
northanpton
1 review
“Gteat hotel”
Reviewed January 8, 2014

The rugby hotel in the centre of rugby is in easy reach of shops i was in a nice single room the hotel as no lift but as for help with your luggage and my only snag was the shower did'nt work so i used the bath did'nt want to make a fuss as i was only there for 3 nites

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moldyboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    41
    39
    23
    19
See reviews for
22
31
10
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed December 20, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I had a great night out on Tuesday evening. I got a good voucher deal for 2 courses plus wine for two people.

The atmosphere was lovely, the service attentive but not intrusive and the food was fantastic!

I'd highly recommend this venue and look forward to a return visit soon.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Myniaroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013 via mobile

We popped in on a Friday lunch time, we only had 40 minutes and the bar was very quite, so we both ordered a burger and a drink, the burgers took ages to arrive when we inquired to delay were told restaurant was very busy, we explained in a hurry, and the waitress was very helpful and hurried the order up and refunded our drinks without being asked, when the burgers did arrive they were fantastic ( the best I have ever had) would go back, sometimes problems occur, but it's how they are handled, will go back lovely food reasonably priced and nice staff.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Cjw67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

We were staying in this hotel and when we returned in the eveing there was a rowdy crowd of people blocking the entrance most of them seemed to be smoking, they were attending a function held in the hotel, on trying to enter the hotel we were totally ingnored when asked to be excused so we had to push our way in only to invite snide remarks, this was very intimidating. I felt sure that the receptionist was well aware of people blocking the entrance and certainly must have been aware of the noise.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed very recently this week & had a great aground experience nice bar area & the free access in all area made a nice change to the normal chains I use.

Had a slight issue but sorted out fine!

Only gave 4 stars as did not use all facilities(restaurant)

Nice and central and close to lot of interesting restaurants and bars

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dazzareece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
daventry
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Went for lunch with friends and the whole meal was very good and tasty, we vegetarian and friend meat eaters. Had three course meal. Service was friendly and atmosphere relaxed. Well worth a visit, will go again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank roy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

We stayed at the Rugby Hotel for 2days the 27/28th October,we were their to attend our nephew's wedding.The hotel was very nice but on the day of the wedding we had no hot water,we were told that the cellar was flooded,we had to make do with boiling the kettle and having a strip wash the following morning there was still no hot water,at check out the receptionist apologised and said she would deduct the cost of the breakfast,on checking our bank statement they have not done so.They are now saying that the water was not off for that long,but I can honestly say there was no hot water in our room or in the room of our relatives.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Patk1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby H, Guest Relations Manager at The Rugby Hotel, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Dear Patk1949

Thanks for your feedback, and I am sorry that you had no hot water during your stay at The Rugby Hotel. We did indeed have a problem with the hot water boilers early in the morning which, when noticed, we called our engineer out who corrected the fault within a few hours.

Upon checkout you did mention to the reception team about your dissatisfaction and as a good will gesture we did take breakfast off the bill. On a separate note, the hotel was fully booked on both days and we received no further complaints about lack of hot water.

I also believe that I have been communicating with you away from tripadvisor to arrange the above refund and to arrange a return visit to the hotel in the near future to show that this is not our usual excellent standard we offer all of our guests.

If given such an opportunity we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rugby hotels
0.5 mi away
The Carlton Hotel
The Carlton Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
214 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
139 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
Travelodge Rugby Dunchurch
#1 of 1 in Thurlaston
74 reviews
3.5 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#6 of 13 in Rugby
436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Rugby Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Rugby Hotel

Property: The Rugby Hotel
Address: 22-23 Sheep Street, Rugby CV21 3BX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Rugby Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your The Rugby Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing