We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent dining experience but a little cramped”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Certificate of Excellence
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience but a little cramped”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014

A group of us went to the Carlton for a meal a few weeks ago, and can't fault the food or ambience. The staff were friendly and helpful, the menu options were good. The food was cooked to perfection, my rare steak was perfect - most places will still overcook a rare steak.

I can only list one small issue - the bar and the restaurant are both a little cramped but this didn't dampen our enjoyment of a very pleasant evening with good company, good food and good wine.

We will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RugbyGirl1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for leaving these great comments. We're glad you enjoyed your visit. Our bar and restaurant are a little 'cosy' so we always recommend that our guests book in advance of their visit!

We hope to see you again soon.

Regards

Jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    65
    22
    8
    6
See reviews for
32
58
16
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night en route and were very pleasantly surprised. The room was nicely decorated and immaculately clean, we had a delicious evening meal and the service was friendly and helpful. Goid value and highly recommended.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Chandramoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi there,

Thanks for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your stay.

Regards

Jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Five of us stayed here when we were working at a local boat show. We all had a single room each. The rooms were clean, tidy and had everything you needed. The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much bother for them; they got up extra early so we could have our breakfast earier and we kept the poor girl up late at the bar!

You won't get better for the money and we would definitely stay here again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank redandwhitekop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hello,

Thanks so much for your review. We really appreciate it when our guests take the time to leave their comments, especially when they are so complimentary! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to see you hear again soon.

Regards

Jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

We booked a table to celebrate my daughters birthday. We had a super evening, we felt really pampered. Service was impeccable. We had all three courses, because it was so delicious. And loved the dessert trolley! It makes a refreshing change to be so well looked after! Can't wait to take my family back!

Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisakimp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi there,

Firstly thanks for picking our restaurant to celebrate at, for your daughter's birthday. Secondly, thanks for leaving such a great review! So glad you enjoyed our food and the service here. We hope to see you again soon for another 3 courses!

Regards

Jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2014

I booked a table for 19 people for my partners 50th birthday, we had an excellent time. The food was brilliant and the staff were very helpful and friendly its a credit to the owner Jaspal and his wife Suki ,i would recommend this Hotel and restaurant to any one.We shall definately be returing soon and looking forward to another good meal. Chris Flint and guests.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Hi Chris,

Thanks for your kind comments. We're glad you all enjoyed yourselves!

Thanks

Jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2014

Lovely place home from home....with friendly staff who catered for everything we required. Amazing food at fab prices. Stayed in a lovely large room...very clean and comfy. The manager and staff are very friendly. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sukied14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, May 9, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for your lovely review. Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay and your visit to our restaurant. Hope to see you again next time you are in the area!

Regards

Jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broxbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2014

Staying with mates, so went for a small single room. The room was very clean and everything worked and it was well equipped. The breakfast was really nice and all the staff and owners extremely pleasant. We did not have Dinner there but the number of locals using it suggest evening meals are good too

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2014
Hello,

Thanks for your review - glad you enjoyed your stay. Maybe next time you and your friends will join us for dinner too!

Thanks

Jaspal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rugby hotels
1.2 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#12 of 13 in Rugby
3.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Rugby North (Newbold) Hotel
4.0 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#8 of 13 in Rugby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
3.7 mi away
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
Golden Lion Hotel & Inn
#1 of 1 in Easenhall
4.5 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Property: The Carlton Hotel
Address: 130 Railway Terrace, Rugby CV21 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rugby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central Rugby location makes us an ideal choice for your stay. We’re right on the edge of Rugby’s Town Centre and less than 3 miles from the M1, M6 and A45. Whether you’re in Rugby on business or looking for a base from which to explore all that Warwickshire has to offer, come and stay at The Carlton. As an extra incentive, our restaurant is known as one of the best in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Rugby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing