We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended, well priced, comfortable stay, great food & service!”
Review of The Carlton Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Carlton Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in Rugby
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Congratulations to everybody at The Carlton! In a world that is dominated by drab hotel chains the independent well run & affordable hotel is very much alive and kicking! I stayed at The Carlton for a week while on business in the area...my bedroom, one of the hotel's new boutique rooms was comfortable and comparable to what I have experienced at some of London's most well-known hotels. A special mention to the restaurant too...the food quality, service and attention to detail was fabulous and well-priced! I was told the hotel is family run - very believable as the welcome and service I got during my stay was excellent...well done!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrSinghJnr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2011

Thank you very much for your kind words. We like to think, being an independently run establishment that we can go that extra mile for our guests, and provide the best possible, personal service in both the hotel and the restaurant.
We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and everyone at The Carlton looks forward to welcoming you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

186 - 192 of 224 reviews

Reviewed August 7, 2011

Very friendly service, cozy flair and really tidy rooms make up for a really pleasant stay in the Carlton Hotel.
The only feature one may want to add would be a hair dryer for the ladies, however that is just a minor request. For travellers arriving by train, the location is almost ideal since you are doing one way (even with some luggage) within ten minutes. Also it is so central that one won't bother to take the car if not planning to return with lots of shopping bags.
In general I can only say: both thumbs up & thanks a lot for the warm welcome in Rugby.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirUther
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2011

We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at The Carlton, and thank you for taking time to write a review. We would like to note that (almost) all of our bedrooms do have hair dryers located in the bedroom drawers, it may have occured that you were allocated one of our doubles which has been re-furnished in preparation for an upgrade and redecoration- So we apologise for any inconvenience that may have been caused.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2011

We had a warm welcome when we arrived and were directed to our room, a boutique double, which had been decorated and furnished to a high standard. The ensuite bathroom contained a large shower and, like the bedroom, had recently been refurbished. The room was very clean and would put many hotels to shame. As we went out for the evening we were informed where extra free parking was available should their own carpark be full.
On Sunday six of our family had booked a table for lunch and were impressed with the quality of the meal. The service was very good and any requests were quickly attended to.
We thought the meal was excellent value for money. As more quests arrived in the restaurant we noticed that the air conditioning was switched on which kept the restaurant at a pleasant temperature.
We would not hesitate to stay again and congratulate the owners on their attention to detail.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 50schild1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Manager at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2011

We thank you ever so much for your kind review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your experiences in both our hotel and our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2011

We were looking for a different place to eat out in Rugby, so thought that we would give the Carlton's restaurant a go. It had a nice, welcoming feel to the restaurant and there was lots on the menu that I wanted to try. The food was of a really good quality, service was attentive - but not overly so. The restaurant had been recently refurbished and was a very nice environment to eat in. Overall, we were very pleased with our evening and will be returning!

Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
Thank sedge17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2011

We are very pleased to hear that you had an enjoyable evening with us here at The Carlton, and glad you appreciate the restaurant's fabulous new look. We look forward to welcoming you back for many more meals in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

I stayed in one of the standard single rooms for the weekend of the British GP and I had a great stay.

We received a very friendly welcome, the rooms where very clean and well stocked. My only compliant regarding the rooms is you can hear when your neighbours turns on their bathroom extractor fan. I did not find it a major issue.

The staff agreed to preparing breakfast 15 mins early then they would normally do as we had to get away early in the morning. They didn't have to do this and we was very grateful!!

The car park is small and we had to park on the street one night which wasn't really a problem for us but night be for another guest.

Breakfast was simple but very nice.

Its in a perfect location for the train station, pubs and food.

I will be staying again ! And would recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dx4100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2011

The Carlton are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, and thank you for sharing your thoughts on Tripadvisor.
We are always willing to go the extra mile for our guests and glad that you appreciate our efforts.
We would like to note that alternative, free, overnight parking (off of the street) is available to all our guests when our carpark is full.
We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2011

the carlton is what you get when u go to a hotel for a meal the place was thrown togethor too hot and no atmosphere had to whisper to one another because u felt like pepole would listen in.... with the over cramped tables and butter that could have been sat there from breakfast for all we knew.... with no large wine glasses or a 250ml of wine to offer. very poor. we where left with empty glasses witch when offered water should have been taken away as for the food the salad garnish was limp warm and dry the pate had no taste nore did the baked cheese the only thing that was tastey was the chicken tikka and ... as for the mains both the lamb and stake where over cooked and greasy and drench in oil the peas had lost all colour the mushrooms where over cooked the carrots where full of flavour and the sauce was at a push passable as for the pepper sauce well that was vile it was lumpy full of salt and over powering with pepper... the service was ok both younge girls where help full and friendly... over all bad food over priced not what you would expect from a resturant in rugby....

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jamjam123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2011

It is rather unfortunate to hear that you did not enjoy your meal with us at The Carlton, but we feel we need to take a defensive stance with regards to the comments you have made.
We believe you came to The Carlton with preconceived ideas about hotel food and not particularly in the best of moods. You mentioned that the place is “thrown together”- our restaurant has a very good reputation in the area- we have owned the place for thirty years, undertaking complete refurbishment of the dining room in January 2011. Professional interior designers were employed to carry out this project.
As a reservation was not made you were allocated the last remaining table for two in the restaurant- it has never been the policy of The Carlton to cram guests in like sardines. Our bar and restaurant are both air conditioned but we felt the air-con was not needed on this night as one of your party kept a jacket on all evening and other diners were comfortable in cardigans/jumpers. The restaurant was a little quiet that evening for our liking- all restaurants need a right mix of guests for a lovely atmosphere.
All of our meats are grilled and therefore should not be greasy, you particularly asked for your steak to be well cooked. We note that our peppercorn and brandy sauce may have been too hot for your liking, yet we feel the vocabulary you have used is unacceptable. Our chefs have been with us for decades, and have never had such hurtful remarks about their work.
We also don't agree with your comment the we are “expensive”, we feel our prices are very competitive- particularly in the Rugby area. For example, Pate-£4.75, Boxed Camembert-£5.25, Lamb Cutlets-£11.80, Rib Eye-£11.95, 175ml glass of Sauvignon Blanc £3.60. We have noted your comments about offering a 250ml glass of wine at the bar, and we will be ordering 250ml glasses this week.
Customers are given plenty of opportunity to give us feedback during their dining experience with us, and provided with a satisfactory questionnaire afterwards- which you did not complete. Our waitresses were under the impression that everything was absolutely fine with your meal and so there was no opportunity for us to even attempt to make you feel more satisfied, instead you have chosen to post your views on Tripadvisor.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2011

Absolutely terrible,more rooms than car parking spaces, had to park on main street and move every hour for fear of getting a ticket, no prewarning of restaurant dress code and get looked at like scum if not adhering to it, or ignored, personally preferred to be ignored,would never stay there again, if managing an hour can be considered as staying there.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank disgruntledcustome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JasRugby, Owner at The Carlton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2011

This reviewer has chosen to make false claims about our hotel on tripadvisor, this is clear from the confliction of claims in the reviewers title and review content (we can confirm he did check out within an hour and was not moving his vehicle every hour... he in fact advised us that he was more than happy to leave his vehicle parked on the street, and he was at no point looked at like scum by any member of staff here). If this guest had voiced his concerns over the restaurant dress code, then we would have waived the dress code on this occasion as we do often for other guests. We made attempts to contact the customer directly to resolve any issues he may have had, but have received no response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rugby hotels
0.3 mi away
Travelodge Rugby Central
1.2 mi away
Brownsover Hall Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Grosvenor Hotel
The Grosvenor Hotel
#12 of 13 in Rugby
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Rugby Hotel
The Rugby Hotel
#11 of 13 in Rugby
162 reviews
2.9 mi away
Dunchurch Park
Dunchurch Park
#1 of 2 in Dunchurch
553 reviews
4.0 mi away
Draycote Hotel
Draycote Hotel
#7 of 13 in Rugby
454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton Hotel

Address: 130 Railway Terrace, Rugby CV21 3HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Rugby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Rugby
#6 Romantic Hotel in Rugby
Price Range: $80 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our central Rugby location makes us an ideal choice for your stay. We’re right on the edge of Rugby’s Town Centre and less than 3 miles from the M1, M6 and A45. Whether you’re in Rugby on business or looking for a base from which to explore all that Warwickshire has to offer, come and stay at The Carlton. As an extra incentive, our restaurant is known as one of the best in the area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Carlton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Rugby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing