We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not cheap but nasty”
Review of Longshoot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Longshoot Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Nuneaton
Reviewed July 4, 2010

Group booking for two nights at full price. Was very annoyed that we were given a Z-bed for the second person in what was supposed to be a twin occupancy room. A Z-bed is offered as a freebie for a child. The receptionist was not very helpful an eventually a duty manager offered an alternate room. If we had booked late, I could understand the lack of choice of rooms,but we had booked well in advance and paid full price for two nights.
On the up-side, the pub has an excellent carvery and is very reasonably priced.
This is a very basic and dated MOTEL, so It is not a place to take a loved one to for a holiday.
The room had not been cleaned very well before our arrival ( approx 5pm) as there was underwear left by the previous occupants left behind on the bathroom door.
Definately one to book late and put up with for a one night stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 232 of 232 reviews

Reviewed September 18, 2009

When I arrived there was noone to greet me. The Manager on duty watched me carry the heaviest bag ever and didn't even offer to assist. Rushed me through check in and mumbled about the location of my room. When I asked him to show me, hoping he would assist with the bag, he pointed in a random direction and started dialling the telephone.

On entering the room, it was dark and dirty. The cups were dusty inside and I had to wash them. There were cobwebs on the ceiling and the bathroom was old and not especially clean.

The menu was carvery or basic with nothing healthy available. When I asked what time breakfast was I was told 'I dunno' probably about 7am.

The breakfast service was very good and very friendly and run by an older team who were a delight and couldn't do enough for you. One young waitress was also very helpful and friendly.

The rest of the team were unfriendly, unprofessional and unapproachable. When I complained about my room and the dirty cups I was told to put it in writing. No discount was offered and when I mentioned this, the older female receptionist without even raising her head muttered 'as I said, put it in writing'. I have advised my company never to send another member of staff there again.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindylouDorset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2009

My partner and I have been using the long shoot once a month when we come up to pick my stepchildren up for the weekend for 3 years now. We always arrive late at night after a 3-4 hour journey after work. Whenever we ring up to book or for any other query the staff are very friendly and helpful, and when we first started going there the night porter was also very friendly and gave good service. However the last few months there has been a different man who isn’t as friendly and takes forever to answer the intercom system, leaving us outside in all weathers waiting. Sometimes we have to go into the bar restaurant to actually find someone to book us in.

The hotel its self is chalet style giving you your own front door, rather than one to a corridor. The rooms are small, but adequate all with ensuite bathrooms, complimentary tea and coffee and TV, trouser press - just the usual basics you would expect. The windows are metal framed, and a lot don’t shut properly or the catches are broken.
Heating is electric storage type heaters, which soon warm the room up. In some of the rooms, the mattresses are well past their lifetime -room 10 in particular, making for a very uncomfortable lumpy night. The rooms are in need of decorating and the breezeblocks show through the plaster on some of the walls, and are not particularly well cleaned. Once you start looking behind movable furniture and in corners you notice what has been missed. I once split water on the bathroom floor, wiped it up with he bath mat, which came up black afterwards! It is also noticeable in the corners of the bathroom and one bathroom even had ants in it!
The bed linen is clean, the towels are always clean and the basic appearance is acceptable for an overnight stay. The Longshoot do a lot of fishing parties which if you are unfortunate enough to be staying on one of those nights there is little parking space by late evening (on one occasion we had to park up by the main road for the night), the fishermen tend to be very loud until late at night, and up early in the morning shouting and banging doors, so no chance of a lie in beyond 6 am on these days.
We have never eaten there, and on the odd occasion we have had to go into the bar/restaurant to find someone the food didn’t smell particularly appetizing to say the least.
Overall it depends what you want and are looking for. For us it suffices as an overnight stay and is close to where we want to be and the cheapest in the area. I don’t know if I would want to spend more than the odd night, and as I say the night staff leave something to be desired at times. If you want a more reliably consistent night the travelodge is just up the road who do quite a few special offer, there is also a days in nearby too, but obviously for twice the price.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlliKent_Uk_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Les chambres au premier étage sont plus calmes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GOODRIXOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2016, traveled with family
Thank dan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuneaton
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nuneaton
0.9 mi away
Travelodge Nuneaton
Travelodge Nuneaton
#6 of 12 in Nuneaton
82 reviews
1.5 mi away
Chase Hotel
Chase Hotel
#10 of 12 in Nuneaton
197 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
452 reviews
3.8 mi away
Best Western Weston Hall Hotel
3.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Hinckley Island
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longshoot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longshoot Hotel

Address: Watling Street, Nuneaton CV11 6JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Nuneaton
Price Range: $48 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Longshoot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Longshoot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longshoot Hotel Nuneaton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing