We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unofficial Travelodge dumping ground when they've sold on your room!”
Review of Longshoot Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Longshoot Hotel
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Nuneaton
Lancaster UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An unofficial Travelodge dumping ground when they've sold on your room!”
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We ended up here due to the fact that Travelodge Bedsworth Nuneaton sold on a room we'd paid in advance for - what a shock lay in store.Reminiscent of a shabby 1960's chalet-style holiday camp in it's concrete faded glory. Freezing cold - only source of heat a 12inch square fan heater in December, wallpaper peeling from a damp ceiling and an uncomfortable bed - great way to end a night out.Travelodge have evidently set up a link with this place and regularly re-locate guests due to over-booking, claiming they have a right to a first come first serve policy - in other words, if they have requests on the day for a room at a higher rate, those of us who have paid upfront at ther lower rate are ousted, without prior notice. Traveller beware! -You might think you're bound for Nuneaton Bedsworth but could end up here in a room resembling a prison cell. No exaggeration!

Room Tip: Don't go there and watch out for the Travelodge scam which leads there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Venicemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Longshoot Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear Venicemad,

Thank you for your review, we are sorry to hear of the issues you received along with your thoghts regarding the Longshoot.

We have passed your feedback to our management team and asked them to investigate, we have also sent you a direct message to discuss your review further.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    47
    51
    31
    53
See reviews for
31
64
20
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Longshoot provided us with clean, comfortable, good-sized accommodation. The reception staff were friendly, and the room fairly priced, if in need of a little updating, plus conveniently located for both Nuneaton and Hinckley. There was ample, convenient parking and a lounge area in the carvery restaurant for those just wanting a pint. Points deducted as the cleaning staff left our room left unlocked on one day, and the website-advertised vegetarian breakfast was not available. We also had to wait outside for quite a while in the cold for the receptionist when we wanted to check out. However, we enjoyed our stay and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Longshoot Hotel, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Heather D,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and have passed your comments onto our management team to help improve future services.

Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicstershire
2 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Well sorry I do not agree, I have stayed at the Hotel on many occasions and have only returned because I have been happy, it has to be said the rooms are a little tired, but I payed a price relative to the room, it was clean, warm & comfortable, my lock played up a little, but that is a problem that could happen and I'm sure does in any hotel where there are multiple rooms, all I had to do was report it, it was sorted, as for the receptionist she fully explained how to lock the door from the inside, gave me times for breakfast ( fantastic value for money). as for waiting to be served in the restaurant bar, the Hotel offers an amazing £3.95 carvery deal that makes it very busy at 5pm at night, so one has to wait 10 minutes, SO WHAT, once you have paid your carvery is instantly available, as for the staff smoking, what the staff do in their legally allowed break is surely up to them, the new law states no smoking in the building! Sorry but I live in a real world not a Hysterical one...get real £4.00 for a hotel room???????? Will stay again, good food - good service- and good value for money

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank geffers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Longshoot Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear geffers,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your time spent at the Longshoot and hope to see you again soon.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Booked this on laterooms, was a bargin at just £4, I thought this was a mistake but others in the area were £11-£15 on promotion so I gathered I had just been lucky. Well after a 3 hour drive I went to check in and pay and the over bubblely middle aged blonde women was quite welcoming, well until she saw how much the room was-after I had signed the contract with £4 on it. Started to tell me there must be a mistake well to cut a long story short she huffed and puffed telling my I should have checked with the hotel and that I had no common sense !! Well after she checked with the "manager" apparently I was correct and they did have to honor my price. She also informed me that the manager was furious AT ME !!!! How dare she talk to me like that if there was an admin error it had been on there system all week maybe instead of telling me I had no sense she should take a look at herself as clearly not spotting the error is down to her.
They would have to pay me to stay here again awful is too nice of a word

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Triptraveltriper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Longshoot Hotel, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Dear Triptraveltriper,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of the service you received, we have asked our management team to investigate your experience.

We have also sent you a direct message to discuss your comments further.

Many Thanks
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Nuneaton hotels

Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 31, 2012

There are no words to describe this hotel , the staff need a boost of manners and customer service , hotel is falling apart at the seams it needs to be dragged into at least the 20th century never mind the 21st one .Be wary of leaving personal belonging in your room ...like mobile phones , i will never stay there again if i was paid to, and will advise all my friends and family to steer clear , the hotel staff stood around chatting and smoking while customers waited to be served , especially the manager , who certainly does'nt believe in leading by example.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ann O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Longshoot Hotel, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Ann O,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear od the service you received and have passed your comments onto our management team to ensure future services are improved.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banjul, Gambia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2012

22/09/2012
cant find anyone to serve you in this hotel?
waited at the bar for 10 minutes to order carvery and drinks, ask a member os staff to help us, she called to someone who did not serve, so she came over to help us, the same happend at the carvery, this was at 5pm in the afternoon. the kitchen staff can be found in the back carpark smoke in case you have the same trouble. the rooms are poor especially the bathroom need attention. take care if you have children with you with the very powerful hot water from the bath and showers. never again will i stay there. i think the manager is a big guy with glass but you must be quick or you wont catch him

Room Tip: try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliff b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Longshoot Hotel, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Dear cliff b,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your review, we are sorry to hear of the experience you received and we will be investigating your comments further with the management team.

We have also sent you a message to discuss this further.

Regards
Good Night Inns
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We stayed at The Longshoot for an overnight, got there about 9pm. The first impression appearance wise is its like an american motel, had to ring for someone to come let us in, after they found our booking and gave us our key the first challenge was getting into the room, key did not turn in the door, you had to pull and jiggle the key until it finally clicked and let us in.

The room looked very basic and although it was on a busy main road would've been acceptable as somewhere to sleep till we left the next morning. After we got into the room and settled we soon discovered we weren't the only ones sleeping in the room, a multitude of insects were also there, from small flies to beetles and one big moth, ick! After killing as many beasties as possible we try to settle down to find several holes all over the duvet cover and the towel heater in the bathroom leaking all over the floor.

If we had anywhere else to go we would not have stayed, not what we were looking for after a 5 hour drive!!

Room Tip: Stay somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Miss_Sarah_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GoodNightInns, Guest Relations Manager at Longshoot Hotel, responded to this review, August 21, 2012
Hi Miss_Sarah_C

Thank you for your feedback.

We are sorry to hear of your experience, we have sent you a direct message.

Kind Regards
Good Night Inns Guest Services
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuneaton
1.2 mi away
Chase Hotel
Chase Hotel
#10 of 12 in Nuneaton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Hinkley
Premier Inn Hinkley
#1 of 3 in Hinckley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
3.6 mi away
Premier Inn Nuneaton/Coventry Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nuneaton
4.6 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
4.0 mi away
Best Western Weston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Longshoot Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longshoot Hotel

Property: Longshoot Hotel
Address: Watling Street, Nuneaton CV11 6JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 12 Hotels in Nuneaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Longshoot Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and HRS so you can book your Longshoot Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longshoot Hotel Nuneaton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing