We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Plough Inn

The Plough Inn
Ranked #27 of 153 Restaurants in Nuneaton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014 via mobile

i'm local and have realised wot a decent place this is excellent food nice presentation and good staff will return for sure

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amandazena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    30
    11
    4
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“First time we have walked out of the Plough disappointed !!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

Firstly there is no problem with the quality of the food. As always excellent. We are local and use the pub for family meals but have not been in for a while. Prices seem to have gone up and meal size gone down. We fully appreciate that prices need to go up but why ruin a winning formula! Meals were amazing and have taken many friends there who have been over the moon but walked out tonight really really disappointed. Not special or great value any more. just like all the other local pubs. Don't mind paying a bit more but not for a lot less!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 43outandabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedworth
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2014

We had been out for the afternoon to enjoy a lovely walk at Market Bosworth. On the way home decided to stop at a recommended pub in Shakerstone for a meal. We both selected our meals from a rather extensive menu to be told that's off the menu on three choices!! Decided to move on and couldn't think of anywhere that would serve us at 16-30 on a Sunday afternoon other that the "normal" Sunday lunch which, we didn't want.
Fortunately for us we stumbled across the Plough.
On entering we were greeted by a very welcoming member of bar staff who informed us that the main menu started at 17-00 and we would be most welcome to sit and wait whilst having a drink. We were given a menu which, I fail to see how anybody could complain at the choice. It's just like a full restaurants rather than a pubs!!
I chose the 4 hour slow roasted belly pork and was astounded at the quality of cooking and the way it was served. My partner chose the Baked Haddock which was again delightful. The only comment we would make is, the sauce should have been put over the Haddock as it was a little on the dry side. The vegetables that she asked for should have included carrots. However, this wouldn't deter us from going back again.
All the staff were exceptionally pleasant and very caring which makes the time we spent there even more enjoyable.
We would strongly advise anyone to try the Plough. We will certainly be returning!!!!!
I would like to add that the menu quite clearly states everything is cooked to order so don't expect to order and be served immediately like a previous comment.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jerry P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“DISAPPOINTED”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

I am a regular visitor the Plough and took a couple of friends with me on recommendation but I was so disappointed as were my friends with the food. I had Salmon and supposedly prawns (but found 1 !) in citrus sauce, pasta was overcooked, no hint of lemon whatsoever in sauce and very little salmon, and it was not worth £10.95! My friend had tuna steak in chilli/lime sauce, the steak was full of bones and dry, which should not have been the case, and my friends BBQ smothered chicken was OK but average and very fatty bacon covered the chicken. We had to wait quite a while for our food too. Has really put me off going again, sorry.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Galaxy1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Steak? Spot on! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014 via mobile

Visited this pub with a couple of work colleagues for lunch and what can I say? Service with a smile, friendly atmosphere and generous servings. Definitely a pub I would recommend and return to. The steak was cooked perfectly and great quality from start to finish. Thank you and see you again soon!

Helpful?
Thank besotedwithtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plough Inn also viewed

Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Plough Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing