We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pub for a drink”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuneaton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth
Ranked #2 of 9 Nuneaton B&B and Inns
England
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good pub for a drink”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My visit was for a drink and a pub grub meal, we did not stay overnight. The 'Hotel' is situated in lovely Market Bosworth, a typical old fashioned building with plenty of atmosphere. The beer on offer was varied and good quality. Our group ordered a variety of dishes from the the menu and specials board. Unfortunately the food was below average, my selection of lasagna was bland and tasteless the chips were under cooked, overall the presentation was poor. The staff were polite and helpful, worth a visit for a drink but on my experience I would suggest you give the food a miss.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJMESQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed one night, had a meal in the bar which neither of us were particularly impressed with. The pastry on the steak and ale pie was tasteless and the strangest pastry ive ever had and the gravy very watery, my partners steak was more medium well than medium rare as requested. the chips were overdone and seemed to be the last bits out of the chip basket, the breakfast the next day was much better, very tasty and served by a lovley friendly lady who really went the extra mile with service. The cleaner was also really friendly and chatty. The room was nice enough, clean and the bed was comfortable.The toilet was very noisy though and we did wish we had picked a room with a shower

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacquelinefleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Great pub in the middle of Bosworth. Large choice of real ales and excellent well priced home cooked food. The landlord knows his stuff and runs the pub well. The bar staff are polite and hard working. The locals are friendly and chatty. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shaun e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We ate there on 9th July. The food was superb, the service excellent. Could not be faulted. Wee ate in the Lion as the food in our Hotel (Bosworth Hall) was terrible. We thoroughly enjoyed our food. A stunning, comprehensive menu. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We visited the pub at lunchtime and were appalled at the high cost of the beer and the stale smell in the bar . £4.20 for a pint of Stella Artois is extortionate . The smell in the bar put us off ordering food

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warwickroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for the first time bank holiday Monday. Nearly every table was taken, very busy! Lovely lady served us & to be fair, she did say there would be a bit of a wait for food as everyone had just turned up at the same time. However, I feel that on a bank holiday & with glorious weather forecast, they should have expected to be busy & should have been better prepared. There was only 1 waiting staff who also kept popping behind the bar to help as there was only 1'bar staff too. There was a bit of a wait for food but both my husband & I thought it was well worth the wait. Both meals were beautiful & we will most definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fieldhead4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

After a long trip from the south, there was nice nourishing evening meal, including roast chicken with all the trimmings. This was provided by attentive, friendly staff, who also arranged for a cooked breakfast earlier than normal the next day. There was a wide selection of real ales, albeit from the Marston’s house range, to sample afterwards while relaxing in front of a warming real log fire, during this very cold weather.

Unfortunately, the large bedroom was at one extremity of the hotel, and so seemingly at the end of the central heating system. It also had three large single glazed windows, which meant heat wasn’t retained well in the room in the extreme cold weather. In addition the room was located over the [unheated] pub toilet area, so no heat was forthcoming from here. Yes; an electric fan heater [and extra blankets] were provided, so you weren’t cold in the end.

One slight [night noise] niggle was the toilet area [automatic?] flushes apparently ran all-night. This meant you could hear the cold water header tank [in the ceiling space directly above the room] constantly re-filling during the otherwise still night…

In the end; fine for a summer time visit, but could be a bit challenging during extreme cold winter weather.

Room Tip: Ensure all room heating working and blankets available in cold weather…
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brassed_Off_Jynxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuneaton
0.2 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,182 reviews
3.5 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
429 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Weston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Dixie Arms Hotel
The Dixie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Bosworth
53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Old Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
Old Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Congerstone
88 reviews
9.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nuneaton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth

Property: Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth
Address: 1 Park Street | Market Bosworth, Nuneaton CV13 0LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Nuneaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth Nuneaton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing