We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“£4.20 for a pint of Stella Artois! Rather a stale damp smell in bar”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuneaton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth
Ranked #2 of 9 Nuneaton B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“£4.20 for a pint of Stella Artois! Rather a stale damp smell in bar”
Reviewed July 4, 2013

We visited the pub at lunchtime and were appalled at the high cost of the beer and the stale smell in the bar . £4.20 for a pint of Stella Artois is extortionate . The smell in the bar put us off ordering food

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Warwickroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    24
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
10
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Ate here for the first time bank holiday Monday. Nearly every table was taken, very busy! Lovely lady served us & to be fair, she did say there would be a bit of a wait for food as everyone had just turned up at the same time. However, I feel that on a bank holiday & with glorious weather forecast, they should have expected to be busy & should have been better prepared. There was only 1 waiting staff who also kept popping behind the bar to help as there was only 1'bar staff too. There was a bit of a wait for food but both my husband & I thought it was well worth the wait. Both meals were beautiful & we will most definitely be returning again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank fieldhead4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

After a long trip from the south, there was nice nourishing evening meal, including roast chicken with all the trimmings. This was provided by attentive, friendly staff, who also arranged for a cooked breakfast earlier than normal the next day. There was a wide selection of real ales, albeit from the Marston’s house range, to sample afterwards while relaxing in front of a warming real log fire, during this very cold weather.

Unfortunately, the large bedroom was at one extremity of the hotel, and so seemingly at the end of the central heating system. It also had three large single glazed windows, which meant heat wasn’t retained well in the room in the extreme cold weather. In addition the room was located over the [unheated] pub toilet area, so no heat was forthcoming from here. Yes; an electric fan heater [and extra blankets] were provided, so you weren’t cold in the end.

One slight [night noise] niggle was the toilet area [automatic?] flushes apparently ran all-night. This meant you could hear the cold water header tank [in the ceiling space directly above the room] constantly re-filling during the otherwise still night…

In the end; fine for a summer time visit, but could be a bit challenging during extreme cold winter weather.

Room Tip: Ensure all room heating working and blankets available in cold weather…
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brassed_Off_Jynxed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

I am staying in market Bosworth for 4days and have visited the red lion 3 times and enjoyed the pub and the beer. Smashing coal fires and friendly staff. Will definitely visit again when in the area. Rob the barman is a nice chap and good company.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave willy .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Having lunch with local group it was our Christmas lunch. Menus for all twelve was given in to staff days before. Starters and dessert could not be faulted but main course was poor served on cold plates the salmon which was served withe savoury butter which just sat in two lumps on salmon because that was cold. Beef and turkey tender but tasteless, mashed potatoes lumpy and sticky. The "jus " was thin, watery and no flavour. Sat like half oxo in three pints water which was also served in cold gravy boats.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorlors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Visited this pub four times in the two nights we stayed in Market Bosworth.....5 minutes walk from the Bosworth Hall hotel. Unfortunately we didn't eat there as our hotel package included all our food. Each time we went in we were made to feel welcome and the bar staff chatted with you. You can tell its village pub and one the locals like as on Friday night it was particularly full. My wife asked to see the accomodation and she said they were impressive. The person who may have been the landlady was only too happy to show her around. The warm mulled wine kept my wife happy.
Lovely place and definitely will return there on any further visits.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Great country pub
Food is good value and very wholesome, menu is broad
Staff were very friendly and welcoming and were good with the kids
They have wifi!!! Which is great as mobile signal is non existent.
Fireplace is great
Would recommend if you are in the area

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank matthewdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuneaton
0.2 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,186 reviews
3.5 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
430 reviews
9.9 mi away
Best Western Weston Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Dixie Arms Hotel
The Dixie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Bosworth
53 reviews
2.7 mi away
Old Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
Old Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Congerstone
90 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth

Property: Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth
Address: 1 Park Street | Market Bosworth, Nuneaton CV13 0LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Nuneaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth Nuneaton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing