We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely and friendly”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuneaton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth
Ranked #2 of 9 Nuneaton B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“lovely and friendly”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Visited this pub four times in the two nights we stayed in Market Bosworth.....5 minutes walk from the Bosworth Hall hotel. Unfortunately we didn't eat there as our hotel package included all our food. Each time we went in we were made to feel welcome and the bar staff chatted with you. You can tell its village pub and one the locals like as on Friday night it was particularly full. My wife asked to see the accomodation and she said they were impressive. The person who may have been the landlady was only too happy to show her around. The warm mulled wine kept my wife happy.
Lovely place and definitely will return there on any further visits.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJEC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    24
    12
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
28
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Great country pub
Food is good value and very wholesome, menu is broad
Staff were very friendly and welcoming and were good with the kids
They have wifi!!! Which is great as mobile signal is non existent.
Fireplace is great
Would recommend if you are in the area

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank matthewdoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here a few months ago. The room was clean and comfortable and everyone was very friendly. Food was amazing, breakfast fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Great village. One thing I will say is that it was rather noisy up until 12.30am so maybe not one if you need a reall good nights sleep. But we had a fantastic time. Would recomend.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We decided to book for Sunday lunch as we did not know how busy the pub would get. Upon arriving a couple of hours before our booked time we decided to go in for a drink before having a walk around Market Bosworth. We told the bar staff that we would be back later for lunch to which the very pleasant trustworthy girl stated that we could pay for the drinks when we had got back and finished our dinners. The food was nice but wasn't served on hot plates so the meals soon went cold, the beer was very nice. Overall pleasant staff, decent food, good beer in traditional English pub surroundings....worth a try.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Northernboy33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Stayed again here in April for the second time in the last 12 months. Great accommodation, service and food. Brilliant atmosphere in the bar and this really makes the break an enjoyable one. No doubt we will return again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAEMEL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester U.K.
Level Contributor
75 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

Having visited the Red Lion as a pub on many previous occasions we decided to try their restaurant out along with a group of friends.
We all had starters and main courses which consisted of 5 steaks and one pork with pesto in a Portuguese sauce. 4 sirloins and one rib eye were ordered rare with the exception of 1 sirloin which was medium rare. All the steaks were ridiculously overcooked and were so thin that it would have been difficult to cook them rare in the first place. Had I been just with my wife I would have returned them but as we were in a group we decided not to have to wait for replacements. The pork with pesto nestled on a bed of 'Portuguese sauce' which looked like a tin if chopped tomatoes and tasted like it too.
All in all it was a very poor attempt at a very basic meal.
The staff were very friendly and competent but needless to say we will only be returning for a drink.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shako40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 26, 2012

What a fantastic Mother's Day we had at Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel. Not only did the cost of the food remain the same (most places up the prices for Mother's Day etc) but on arrival, there was a plant for the mothers as easter egg for the children - what a thoughtful gesture! The food and service was excellent. Simon and his staff were as welcoming and chatty. The whole meal was excellent, however, must say that the vegetables were cooked to perfection. We asked for more vegetables - this was not a problem. I finished off with their yummy bread and butter pudding. Certainly a place to book for Father's Day!

I have also eaten here a few times recently - nothing is too much of a problem - service with a smile. A good old traditional pub that always makes you welcome no mater where you are from!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WarwickshireWilma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuneaton
0.2 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
4,136 reviews
3.5 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
420 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dixie Arms Hotel
The Dixie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Bosworth
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Old Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
Old Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Congerstone
86 reviews
7.4 mi away
La Tavola Calda Hotel
La Tavola Calda Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nuneaton
65 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth

Property: Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth
Address: 1 Park Street | Market Bosworth, Nuneaton CV13 0LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Nuneaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth Nuneaton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing