We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Every thing a good British Pub should be” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nuneaton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth
Ranked #1 of 10 Nuneaton B&B and Inns
Halesowen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Every thing a good British Pub should be”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2011

Excellent range of real ales plus all of the usual lagers, wines and spirits. Excellent range of home cooked meals ranging from sandwiches and hot snacks to full meals. Friendly pub with friendly locals, most of whom seemed to be regulars or maybe fixtures ? The old saying applies " you went in as a stranger and came out as a friend"

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    23
    11
    2
    3
See reviews for
9
27
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bonnie Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Staying at Bosworth Hall (FABULOUS) and going into Red Lion as nice clean pub. NOT the only pub in the village at all!!! It was fine if you wanted a food during the day or a drink up until about 10pm but after that the attitude and atmosphere from the Owner Simon and his two staff (boy and girl) was rediculous and certainly not welcoming in any manner. We and others spent time in this establishment only to be treated like we were not welcome when we went down to finish our evenings off. The only people that appeared to be welcomed was the Locals! The Hotel that has a pub further up might not look as welcoming due to less tables but the atmosphere is so much better and at least they make you feel welcome.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2011

I was recently in Market Bosworth in the UK and we stayed at Ye Old red Lion hotel. What a charming, interesting place it was. The rooms were clean and very charming and above the only pub in town. Simon was the owner, bartender and also cooked our breakfast ( which was included in the cost of the room) what a great fun guy. We also had dinner there which was very enjoyable. Would recommend the place for others looking for a traditional English pub rather than a modern upscale hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredonia, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2011

If you are looking for a traditional English Pub, look no further that Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel in Market Bosworth. We were pleasently surprised at the size of our "family room". The three of us had our own bed and nice size bathroom. The beamed ceilings and rose floral bed covers really gave persionality to the room. The price of the room included breakfast the next day prepared by the owner, Simon. He is a great guy, you will find him behind the bar pouring a pint or two or sitting with you enjoying a pint or two. It is a great place for atmosphere, food and service!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NanceO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2011

Just popped in for a quick meal, didn't expect much, but it was lovely. Service was friendly & swift! Food was lovely, very enjoyable, we'll be back!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

Had a Pub meal and also a Sunday Lunch food was very good and Staff so nice and helpful, we shall definately go again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fiona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2011

Stayed at the Red Lion for one night in July. When we first arrived we were greeted by a very friendly young women and I must say, throughout our stay, the staff were extremely pleasant, helpful and attentive. We stayed in pleasant room which had all you would expect from a B & B. We ate in the pub in the afternoon and the quality of the food was good. Food was served throughout the day and the place was really busy. The bar in the evening was buzzing and busy and had a mixed age group of customers, this made for a really enjoyable time. We had a good nights sleep and in the morning were presented with a good quality breakfast. My only observation would be that it would have been nice to have a choice of egg at breakfast instead of just being served scrambled. Small gripe which didn't spoil this enjoyable visit to this pleasant area of the country. We would certainly recommend this accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RAEMEL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nuneaton
0.2 mi away
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
Bosworth Hall Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Market Bosworth
3.0 of 5 bubbles 4,023 reviews
3.6 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Dixie Arms Hotel
The Dixie Arms Hotel
#1 of 2 in Market Bosworth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Old Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
Old Ivy House Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 1 in Congerstone
5.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Royal Arms Restaurant & Hotel
7.4 mi away
La Tavola Calda Hotel
La Tavola Calda Hotel
#2 of 10 in Nuneaton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth

Property: Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth
Address: 1 Park Street | Market Bosworth, Nuneaton CV13 0LL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Nuneaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Ye Olde Red Lion Hotel, Market Bosworth Nuneaton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing