We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent all round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of India Red

India Red
Ranked #7 of 153 Restaurants in Nuneaton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

A family run restaurant with friendly helpful staff, a nice atmosphere along with excellent food. The sizzler starters are too die for! No other Indian restaurant in Nuneaton can compare and I can't go more that 4 weeks without a visit!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 54Rinky54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    230
    53
    20
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice enough”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Nice atmosphere & look to the place, with very convenient parking. Food was good but not great considering it's relatively expensive. Staff were friendly and service was fine.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rohan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Superb evening!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

An excellent evening was enjoyed by myself and 7 others at India Red. The service received was most welcoming and attentive from when we arrived until we left with!

The food is just amazing, a completely different dining experience from the norm!

I can't wait to return!

Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent, England
Level Contributor
68 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

We're pretty fussy about Indian restaurants. This one gets the 'thumbs up' from us.
We were visiting the town and chose it from Tripadvisor reviews. Being early we sat in a lounge area with the menu. The starters (which we never bother with) were very imaginative yet the main dishes were mainly old favourites.
Going to our table we found out why - it's a huge place. When you're feeding that many people, and it was Saturday night, you can't have a large variety without quality suffering.
And quality didn't suffer. It was really good.
Apparently a couple of large groups had caused a delay in the kitchen but the couple at the next table said that service is usually top-notch so we're not going to let that affect our rating.
The main thing we say is that he meals were not swimming in oil so they were a bit different to what we are used to but the taste was superb and our arteries will benefit. The sooner low-fat becomes the norm the better. So India Red leads the way.
If we were back in Nuneaton we would not eat anywhere else.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Two_Tankertonians
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Celebration Ruined”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Booked a table for 8.30 pm still hadn't started the main couse 2 hours later. Took them an hour and three quarters to get us sat down, they kept on saying the table would be ready in a couple of minutes, it wasn't. Restaurants shouldn't accept bookings when they can't fit everyone in. Ruined the evening, taking friend out for her birthday. I will stick to the Agra Palace.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Rocky S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiaredManager, Manager at India Red, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Customer,

Thank you for advising us of the issue you had on your recent visit to the restaurant, i can only apologise for the delay in obtaining a table that evening with a prior booking in place, if i can start with explaining it was myself that served your table and explain that this situation is extremely rare for our restaurant, we are a very populaur restaurant in the area and this is certainly not our standard of service. That eveving the restaurant was to capacity with bookings and even this is not an issue as this is the case almost every weekend, the issues we had were that we had three large bookings starting from 6-30pm, these larger tables were either early or late and one of the tables had a booking for 15 persons, then this booking was reduced to 9 and then increased without notice to 14 persons. We have a very strict booking rule in the restaurant and believe in quality not quantity and never rush or overbook and as every dish is cooked fresh and customised to the guests requirements we ask customers to allow sufficient times for a la carte cooking ,this is stated in the menu itself, although this still does not detract from the fact that your table was late i understand the booking was for 8-30 and from recollection i did sincerely apologies for the delay and understand the starters came out for you swiftly and by 10-30 the mains we out also. I also offered a gesture of good will by giving a complimentary round of drinks. I just wanted to state again that this was a unfortunate scenario which is far from the norm as you can see by the various other reviews including the one from the same night by other diners, as a restaurant we are thrown with sitautions like these other bookings which have a knock on effect and i tried my upmost to ensure i could resolve things a.s.a.p. I hope that the food was good as you placed a 4 star rating on the food category and hope that you can give the restaurant another try in the future to help us give you a great dining experience. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed India Red also viewed

Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 

Been to India Red? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing