We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Snail pace service...”
Review of The Bull and Spice

The Bull and Spice
Ranked #12 of 156 Restaurants in Nuneaton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
England
Level Contributor
316 reviews
190 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
“Snail pace service...”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Second visit to this restaurant and not as good as the first. Service was horrendously slow. Table booked for half seven and only just finished main at ten. Apart from serving of first drink everything was slow - even taking the order. More than an hour between starter and main course.

Food nicely presented as before. Portions did not seem as big as previously - maybe just hungrier as had to wait so long. Bit mean on the chicken content in main course. Tasty food, but not exceptional. Rather disappointed overall. Fortunately we were with good friends, which meant the wait did not seem so bad.

Maybe a Ramadan thing - with staff not performing at their best. Shame as on last visit both service and food were great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JJEnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    30
    5
    9
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
143 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Average food with friendly service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This place has been recommended but didn't quite stack up. Situated in an old pub, probably named "The Bull" with the "&Spice" added later, we have been welcomed in a friendly way. The poppadoms have been served with chutney where one was runny and left the impression of being stretched with water. Some dishes which supposed to be sizzling didn't do so and when asked we have been told it was due to health and safety reasons. Other metal bowls could not be touched due to the extremely hot dish and we burned ourselves on that. The tandoori grill made it hard to distinguish between the different meets and fish as it was covered in tandoori spice and all tated the same. Overall a shame as I felt generally well in this place, and though the food wasn't bad, I am not sure if I like to return.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ulrike_Christian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fabulous service”
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We decided to go here tonight for a meal with the children for my husbands birthday. This was our first visit and will definitely not be our last. From the minute we walked in the staff we very attentive,friendly and couldn't do enough for you. They firstly helped us choose dishes as we were indecisive. They made recommendations and as the dishes are made fresh to order they can tailor make any dish to how you like it. They heard me mention my husbands birthday then wished him a happy birthday and asked his name. When his food came out they started to sing happy birthday and his food had been plated with a candle in the
Middle and around the edge of the plate said happy 40th Birthday Lee. Such a lovely touch. All in all a great night with lovely food and exceptional staff / service. Thank you for making it special.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarahwilli77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Super food!”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Superb food that has improved since my previous visit (2 star). Original dishes, great service and good value are now the norm for this eatery. My only 'downer' is the decor - needs a make over to take it to the next level. The staff are attentive and friendly - always ask if you want a dish 'tuned' to your taste as the chef appears to be able to conjure up some really good bespoke curries! While Nuneaton continues to have some fine curry houses, this one certainly is pushing for a top 3 position! Well done.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
33 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Friends Birthday”
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This was my first visit and won't be my last. Service was fantastic, friendly helpful and attentive. My curry was delicious and flavoursome. It was my friends birthday and they wrote her name and Happy Birthday on her plate nice touch.
Price was reasonable too, definately worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Justinevb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull and Spice also viewed

Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 

Been to The Bull and Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing