We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Different”

Crossed Khukris Gurkha Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 156 Restaurants in Nuneaton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $13 - $19
Cuisines: Nepali
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Crossed Khukris is a warm and welcoming family run restaurant serving mouthwatering Nepalese cuisine at an affordable price, whilst not sacrificing on quality. Winner of the Godiva Gold award 2008 and 2010, we are voted as one of the best restaurant in Coventry and Warwickshire. We were also recognized as one of the best restaurants in the Warwickshire country by the 'AA guide to restaurants and pubs' in 2012.At Crossed Khukris, we aim to serve our customers with the best Nepalese foods, tantalizing your taste buds with our popular 'Hill Boy' Sauce and provide warm and friendly dining environment.Please do not forget to like our facebook page. We look forward to seeing you soon.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
171 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Very Different”
Reviewed December 2, 2013

My wife and I visited this restaurant as we 'fancied something different' we were surprised by the choice of Nepalese food.
On entering we were greeted by a traditionally dressed female who couldn’t do enough for us throughout our meal.
I had dumplings to start and they were very different, slightly spicy but also very tasty, with a peanut tasting spicy sauce, I then had Ghurkha Beef..... Very hot and spicy but so tasty too.
I had a couple of bottles of Ghurkha beer, which is quite strong (5%).

In all, the meal and drink was very nice and the venue was great.

We WILL be going back to try something else off the menu.

Thank you for our experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank werenotstoppingin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurkhalee, Owner at Crossed Khukris Gurkha Restaurant, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Richborntotravel,
Thank you very much for your very nice comments and very much appreciated. We are looking forward to serve you again. We wish you and your family merry christmas and a happy new year.
Regards.
Om
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    273
    75
    15
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent all round experience!!”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

A fantastic evening out!! Having eaten Nepaleese many times previously we can honestly say that this was the best we've had! As we'ed not been before we chose the safe option of the set meal for two and it was devine! The service was friendly and efficent, not to be faulted. it was very relaxed and un rushed. Highly recomended and we shal certainly be retuurning!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Charles D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurkhalee, Owner at Crossed Khukris Gurkha Restaurant, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Dear Charles,
We are very much delighted with your wonderful review and thank you very much for visiting our restaurant. We hope to see you again.
Kind regards.
Om
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
169 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“I am baffled!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013

So many good reviews; such a disappointing meal. We visited with friends and had the set menu. Great if you like carbs. Lots of potato, very little meat. Maybe it was the chef's night off but it can't hold a candle to the Nepalese restaurant in Leicester. The dishes didn't taste any different from the local Indian take-away. Not as tasty in some items. (One dish was exactly like a very mild chicken korma). To add insult to injury we were overcharged but didn't realise it until we were on our way home. Oh, and the drinks! Goodness me. £2.00 for a small soda and lime. That is the most I have ever paid for such a humble drink.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dianthus2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurkhalee, Owner at Crossed Khukris Gurkha Restaurant, responded to this review, December 1, 2013
Dear Dianthus2000,
Tthe Crossed Khukris Gurkha Restaurant serves food to the highest standards, confirmed by the previous excellent nine Trip Advisor reports, all showing 5 stars, nevertheless, we are obviously disappointed when a customer is not entirely satisfied; it:s unfortunate that this customer chose not to raise any concerns with our staff or me at the time.
Om Gurung MBE
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Been to this restaurant many times over the years and can honestly say we've never had a bad meal. Food excellent and very large portions,staff very friendly and a lovely atmosphere. Have taken many friends here and now most of them have become regulars too. They also do a takeaway service but much prefer to eat in the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank holigogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurkhalee, Owner at Crossed Khukris Gurkha Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Holigogs,
Many thank you very much for wonderful review. We are very much delighted and appreciated.
See you soon again. Kind regards.
Om
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Level Contributor
112 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal!”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Used tastecard here having tried a gurkha curry in Nottingham and enjoyed. Well this was even better! 10 miles from home but worth the trip. Attentive service from lovely waitresses, food was not your usual curry menu. Momo starter was delicious and the chicken mains (khatmandhu and no 17!!) Were to die for. Slightly different rice and naan to normal curry house, but very different flavours to curry, much lighter but still packing a mean punch!!!
Was really nice. Will Def return and recommend.










Helpful?
Thank Emma154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurkhalee, Owner at Crossed Khukris Gurkha Restaurant, responded to this review, November 24, 2013
Dear Kevali1,
We would like to thank you for taking your valuable time and writing such a generous review.
Kind regards.
Om
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crossed Khukris Gurkha Restaurant also viewed

Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
Nuneaton, Warwickshire
 

Been to Crossed Khukris Gurkha Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing