We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”
Review of Chase Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chase Hotel
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Nuneaton
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
193 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Good value for money”
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We stayed in this hotel on a weekend trip to see family. As a result all we did was sleep here, arriving quite late in the evening and not going down for breakfast. The rooms were an adequate size and nicely furnished, albeit with slightly outdated cupboards. Beds were reasonably comfortable, and certainly better than some 4* places I have stayed recently! Shower rooms were small, well, tiny actually, but clean with new fittings. Be warned though, the showers are electric, not mains, so are quite noisy and you can clearly hear the showers in adjacent rooms. It seems that all the room rates quoted are on room only basis so breakfast is an extra £5-8 each. We didnt go for this so cannot comment on the quality. Staff were polite, but as others have said, reception is not staffed so you do have to find someone to help. All in all, for the price we had comfy rooms, in a convenient location and it was very good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redlizziem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    53
    33
    26
    28
See reviews for
36
53
10
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed at the Chase as part of a group and were given a good discount. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. On this side we were quite happy. The staff, when you could find someone not already engaged in another task, were helpful and friendly. They were clearly overworked.

One of the reasons for our staying was that we were told there was a hotel bar with at least four cask conditioned beers. What was not said was that the bar was the size of a football field and it was almost impossible to be more than a few yards away from a TV blaring out the yoboball (even in the garden). Of the four cask ales advertised two were off, was one vinegar and the last one ran out at around 10pm. Apparently the man who “did the cellar” was out and so nothing could be done. The food was “Brake Bros.” I now know this hotel is part of a chain called John Barras and have been told I should have expected this.

Breakfast was a pleasant surprise although it was again difficult to avoid the omnipresent TV.

To summarise: the accommodation is fine; the bar and restaurant lack the sophistication of Wetherspoons. A good place to sleep but find a decent nearby pub.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eltham
Level Contributor
53 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2010

The hotel room was actually much better than I anticipated. I had a 4 poster bed and that was nice and very comfy, nice TV. Not much by the way of toiletries and it was a small room, but clean enough. Because it was small when I went to the loo in the night I bruised myself badly on the edge of the dressing table - ouch! The service was very poor. The desk isn't manned and it took me ages to get checked in and out - although when they arrived the staff were very polite and well mannered. Did not get chance to check out the breakfast because I woke up after they had finished serving - very comfy bed!!! As far as hotels in Nuneaton go this is quite good being quite close to the centre of town but also not far from the A5. And the prices are extremely reasonable.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElthamTraveller_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
356 reviews
266 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I stopped in this hotel for a few nights whilst in the area on business. The immediate thing that hits you is there seems to be a lack of staff in some key areas.
Check in took 15 mins as there was no one in reception and the single member of staff in the bar area did not know how to check people in using the computer!

The rooms are fine, and none are set above the bar area so theoretically should be quiet at night. However most face the large rear car park and this appears to be a parking place for young drivers, so subject to music booming from car stereos. This happened on 2 of the 4 nights I stayed and occurred around midnight, lasting for over an hour each time.

The room had a VERY comfortable king size bed, hanging space, draws, hair dryer, tea and coffee making facilities, TV and free wi -fi internet (with a fast connection speed too)

Breakfast is served in the large bar / restaurant area and again suffers from a lack of staff. One morning I had to wait 20 mins before anyone appeared to take my order.. The coffee / fruit juice needed replenishing and one member of staff eventually filled the coffee maker with water, but didn't turn it back on! The quality of breakfast is OK though and there is more than enough. (A choice of cooked or continental)

If eating in the restaurant during the evening, be warned it does get VERY busy and in very popular with local families. You MUST order food at the bar. Don't make my mistake and sit waiting for someone to take your order. The food is OK, but not great. Many dishes appear to be micro waved (soggy pastry yuk), but lots of cheap deals are on offer.

The bar has a couple of beers on hand pump and prices are reasonable. But again there are not enough bar staff so expect a wait for drinks in busy periods. There is a large covered smoking area and outside tables on which to eat and drink if the weather is good.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sowie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesworth, Suffolk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2008

We have stopped at this hotel before and always find the staff incredible. Nothing is too much trouble. We were there for a Christmas Party and met up with friends from all over the UK. The rooms are comfortable with huge beds and adequate. Not four star but when you are only paying £49 per room you do not expect the Ritz! There are tea and coffee facillities in the bedrooms and a flat screen TV as well as hairdryer. Breakfast was full English at £6.95 or £4.95 for Continental and very nice it was too. The Pub did very cheap food which was okay. Again if you want Ritz food, go to the Ritz.. The wine on Special in the Restaurant was only £6.10 per bottle, nicely chilled. I would definately recommend this hotel for a cheap getaway weekend. Well done to the Manager and his staff.

  • Liked — The brilliant staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2008

This hotel is above a large chain pub - but the rooms are not above the pub so there is no noise issue. The rooms have recently been refurbished and are spacious and clean - power showers, white sheets and very comfortable large beds. It was a really pleasant suprise.

We travelled with 2 kids and had interconnecting rooms which was perfect for us.

Also if you are looking for disabled access there were lots of disabled parking round the back of the hotel and ramp access throughout.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mumof2London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Nuneaton hotels
2.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Nuneaton
0.5 mi away
Travelodge Nuneaton
Travelodge Nuneaton
#6 of 12 in Nuneaton
68 reviews
1.2 mi away
Longshoot Hotel
Longshoot Hotel
#11 of 12 in Nuneaton
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Best Western Weston Hall Hotel
5.0 mi away
Millers Hotel
Millers Hotel
#2 of 12 in Nuneaton
420 reviews
1.7 mi away
Travelodge Nuneaton Bedworth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chase Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chase Hotel

Property: Chase Hotel
Address: Higham Lane, Nuneaton CV11 6AG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Nuneaton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 Hotels in Nuneaton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chase Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Chase Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chase Hotel Nuneaton, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing