We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Deserve a Chance”

The Oak Hockley Heath
Price range: $2 - $54
Cuisines: Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The premises both internally and externally including the bar, restaurant and function room have been completely refurbished in a contemporary, bright and luxurious style. We have built 63 brand new, comfortable and cosy guest rooms, all with en-suite facilities ranging from our Standard double or twin rooms through to our Royal Suite. The Oak Hotel is located within the beautiful Warwickshire countryside and is within easy reach of Birmingham, Solihull, Stratford Upon Avon and Warwick making it an ideal base to explore these and the surrounding areas or when visiting any of the wide range of attractions on offer including the LG Arena, Birmingham NEC, Warwick Castle, Shakespeare County and Cadbury world to name but a few. You can find out more here. Situated less than a mile from Junction 16 of the M40 with ease of access to the main road networks including the M42, M6, M5 and M1 and only 12 miles from the Birmingham Airport our central England location makes us a great venue for business or leisure. Wendy and her team offer a very warm and friendly welcome with first class hospitality whether you are here to enjoy a coffee or drink as you pass by, a meal in the restaurant or an overnight stay with us. Here at The Oak Hotel we also host business conferences, meetings and other special events including weddings, anniversaries and parties and we are always happy to work with you to provide exactly what you need. Here at The Oak Hotel we are now fully licensed for marriages and civil ceremony's please visit the Warwickshire County Council website for more information https://apps.warwickshire.gov.uk/ApprovedVenue/venues/158 We hope to see you in the very near future!
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Deserve a Chance”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

This Gastro Pub changed hands just 3 weeks ago. The manageress (ex The Cross Kenilworth) clearly has a strong vision for the Restaurant. Prices are much lower.
£13.95 for a 3 course Sunday Lunch. Great value when compared with Orange Tree, Lazy Cow.

All the Staff are new,
Made a big difference, there was a good buzz about the place.

I am sure it will succeed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    73
    34
    46
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Studley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food / great service”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Never been to The Warwick before, just happened to drive past and decided to try it out. 2 adults and 3 children (teenagers), the staff couldnt have been any more helpful or friendly. The Sunday roast was gorgeous, unfortunately we were too full to try the puddings, the pate starter and the soup starter was also delicious. We were very impressed and will definitely go back, I have recommended it now to family and friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Suzanne616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
279 reviews
199 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
“New Year's Eve - Good food but little else!”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We had been to a New Year’s Eve event two years ago at the former Oak, now The Warwick, and had a great evening. So it was with this in mind, that we booked a table for four for this year’s special event well in advance and paid £5 deposits towards the £60 per head celebrations. At the time of booking, we were told by one of the staff that we would have a six course meal and a choice from three rooms for ‘dancing-in’ 2013.

Arriving at 8.00pm, there was an ominous sign from an empty car park. Venturing in, it was confirmed that the vast Warwick was an empty shell, though all the tables were laid for an expectant throng. Unfortunately, that throng never materialised, and once at our table we counted another dozen or so guests all evening in the restaurant. To say our party of four were overdressed in tuxedos and evening gowns was an understatement. I could easily have been mistaken for an up market waiter by the other guests (and staff), in jeans and tee shirts.

Nevertheless, the chef at The Warwick produced an excellent meal. All courses were beautifully ‘Michelin star’ presented and were supplemented by palette cleansing sorbets between dishes. The goat’s cheese starter and the fish course were both very succulent, while the main course of beef and lamb was generous and superbly cooked, without being over facing. The dessert course was sweet and sharp in combinations, while the cheese board was very varied with an equally wide selection of accompanying biscuits.

Our waitress, with little to occupy her with so few guests, was very attentive, if not a little too anxious to clear our plates and pour our wine. Sadly the atmosphere in The Warwick remained poor all night – a brightly lit room, a lack of festive New Year spirit and who would have thought that it was New Year’s Eve – much like the Marie Celeste! It was made clear that the salsa party occupying one of the adjacent dance rooms was a ‘private’ affair. So in terms of other dancing spaces, there was a small empty dance floor in the bar area serviced by a sound system (I couldn’t see a DJ) with a few drinkers outnumbered by bar and restaurant staff. Lifeless!

Our party decided that there was more New Year’s Eve atmosphere in our lounge at home watching the TV, than at The Warwick on the last day of 2012 and it was home that we headed to welcome in 2013. Whilst our meal was well worth £45 of our cash, the evening as a whole was not good value for money. To add insult to injury, the manager doubted my payment of £20 in deposits, claiming that he banked every cheque and so he knew who had paid in advance. When I said that my cheque had been cashed he went off to investigate, but never returned to apologise for his error or his pomposity.

Not a great end to a poor evening of expected celebration. I doubt that The Warwick will survive the current recession. If the management cannot fill this barn of a restaurant on New Year’s Eve, then the’ writing is on the wall’. I feel sorry for the excellent chef and maybe he needs to read the writing!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Full??!!”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We arrived and asked for a table for two. The flustered looking waitress referred to who I assume was the restaurant manager who said "walk-ins? Just can't do it, we are full". Looking over his shoulder into the restaurant, one table was occupied (party of 4)! Either they don't want or need the custom or the kitchen can't cope with more than 4 covers!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Emma H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We visited here on 22nd December, the last Saturday before Christmas, having looked at the menu on their website and booked the week before, we thought we were lucky to get in at such short notice and with it being party season. Our suspicions that things werent quite right were raised as we arrived, at 7 pm to see signs on the door saying it was booked out till 6. Why then leave the sign up till 7? The place is huge, and it was like the marie celleste! No one around at all! Weird!
We were met by a nice waitress who showed us to our table, our party of 6 were the only ones there. The kitchen is an pen one, and, as i passed by, i bid the chef who was staring into space a good evening, he seemed to ignore me.
The menus came, they were not at all as the website. The waitress explained that they needed to change it. Undaunted we ordered the food, still the only diners. The food unfortunately is overpriced and you dont get much for your money. The chef seems to give you what he wants rather than referring to the description in the menu. The food does taste ok though. The waitress brought back the same menus for desert. My menu had the desert page missing, when i pointed this out she said she knew it did. Well why give it to me then! By 8.30 we had had enough, even at that time there were only two other parties in the place. oh, and one of the parties was the managers wife and baby having their presumably free dinner!We didnt go over the top with drinks and only two of us six had puds, the bill came to £198!
Needless to say there are better restaurants in hockley heath and the area who do this kind of food better, with nicer ambiance at a much cheaper price. A second visit, i think not. I doubt they will be there this time next year.

Helpful?
Thank denty60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy1266, Manager at The Oak Hockley Heath, responded to this review, December 30, 2012
if im honest i find this slightly farfetched that non of this was bought to my attention on the night the menus get changed seasonaly and due to circumstances out of our control we have been unable to change the website.
as regards to my staff i find it very hard to belive the chef ignored you as he is very polite and freindly and the waitress that would of served you would not have said she knows there was no desert menu, i think to be honest for 6 of you it works out at £33 for a 3 course meal i dont belive that is over priced at all as that is including your drinks.all of our meals here are made fresh as well if you want cheap and cheerfull try macdonalds !!!!
the other manager also has raised the issue regarding his daughter that they have been in cape town for the past month and he has not seen her so its not unreasnable for them to come in and have a meal which they paid for as well. it amazes me how non of your thoughts were made clear on the night to myself or the other manager yet you can come onto the computer and and write this next time if you have a problem with something try and inform someone as normally they will be willing to help.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Oak Hockley Heath also viewed

Lapworth, Warwickshire
 
Warwick, Warwickshire
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Hockley Heath, Solihull
Solihull, West Midlands
 

Been to The Oak Hockley Heath? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing