We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Simply Wonderful!”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of The Cottage Beyond

The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden The fabulous pool suitable for all, with a length of 13m and a deep end for the serious swimmers
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
54 reviews
The Cottage Beyond set in it's own large, private garden
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden
The fabulous pool suitable for all, with a length of 13m and a deep end for the serious swimmers
The front door
Enjoy swimming and sitting in the hot tub whilst admiring your garden
The light and airy lounge which has a curvaceous ramped entrance, loved by all.
The modern, curvaceous, contemporary kitchen.  Easy to use and packed with everything a cook needs.
The large solid oak dinning table capable of seating 15.
Bedroom 1 on the ground floor which is fully accessible
Bedroom 6
Entrance to the Spa Hall
Pepsi the farm dog talks to one of our cattle
Hugging goats!  Over 100 goats graze our fields, they are all friendly and like to see visitors
The magic ball which continues to amaze with it's wonderful reflections
East side of the house with the trampoline on the left and the Spa Hall on the right
One of the two circular tree seats to enjoy your morning coffee sitting under the walnut trees
Spa Hall seen from the upper lawn area
Bedroom 3 that can sleep 2 in either a super king sized bed or two singles
Bedroom 4 detail
The sauna
Swings and slide set in the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Sampford Arundel, Wellington, Somerset, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 54 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Vacatione...
1 review
“Simply Wonderful!”
Reviewed November 11, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This is the second time my husband and I and our little dog have stayed here and we returned for obvious reasons! The cottage is simply wonderful!
The owners, Christine and Alan are so friendly and make you feel at ease and at home from the moment you arrive, even their two gorgeous and very well behaved dogs welcomed us as we drove down the driveway. They have even supplied folders full of information about the cottage to cover every aspect encase you are unsure of anything, local restaurants, pubs and where to go for some amazing countryside walks, they have simply thought of everything so you don't have to.
The house is full with everything you could possibly need from different types of plates, cutlery, glassware, dishwasher and instant boiling water tap. We only ever take a bit of food shopping with us for the stay and there is a local shop and Waitrose near by for extra supplies. Although there is the snug full of DVDs and SKY tv we hardly use them as the gardens are so beautiful you will want to enjoy the peace and quiet. We love exploring the grounds, visiting the pigs and chickens every morning (you can even collect some eggs if you wish). The bedrooms are cosy with comfortable beds and each en suite is supplied with soft fluffy towels. Throughout the cottage is underfloor heating and a log fire which is exactly what you want for a November stay.
As if you couldn't make this place any better you then have your own private indoor swimming pool in a separate building at the bottom of the garden!! Never mind a gold award this place needs a Platinum Award encrusted with diamonds!! :)
Thank you again for an amazing stay, can't wait to return next year and already planning our next visit!

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 11, 2016
Thank you too. We love your idea of a encrusted with diamonds platinum award - we're working on it! It was lovely having you stay again and look forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucy B
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing, incredible.....”
Reviewed November 10, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Incredible house! John was so friendly on arrival, especially so as we were late and it was cold and dark. He gave us the full tour, and left us feeling very at home. The facility's were amazing. Best we have ever experienced. The decor and layout of the house made for a very comfortable stay. We felt, as a group of 13, that the owners have thought of everything. From the well stocked cupboards of plates and drawers full of cutlery, and an abundance of glasses and mugs, to the placement of the bird feeding table and tasteful painting and decorations around the house. The children loved the Snug, the pigs, the pool, the football table....we all loved everything. The Cottage Beyond and her wonderful owners, fully deserve the Gold award they recently received. We would love to come back. One day, we will! Thank you doesn't seem enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing! Except having to leave!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Thank you Lucy for your wonderful review, we're delighted you all loved TCB as much as we do. Hope we'll be welcoming you back again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
108an0n
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Girl Tours”
Reviewed October 31, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

From the extremely warm welcome to the personal send off, Christine and the team at TCB made our stay first class. The cottage is accurately rated as five star. With plenty of space and very tastefully decorated, it was a pleasure to stay there. All the facilities accommodated us all with room to spare. The pool, hot tub and sauna made our visit fun and relaxing and the delightful walks with stunning views were refreshing. The neighbourly farmyard animals had wonderful characters and provided a genuinely enchanting distraction. We intend to re book asap because we had such a great time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
First class stay for first class guests - TCB & team loved having you to stay. We hope we will be able to welcome you back again soon. Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maggi B
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Girls on Tour' to make THIRD annual visit!!”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The Cottage Beyond leaves no stone unturned when it comes to ensuring their guests enjoy staying there. 'Girls on Tour' (12 retired nurses whose ages range from 58-80) enjoyed our second stay in May 2016. It appears nothing is too much trouble for the owners. Facilities get better every year. In fact, we play a little game to see if we can think of anything that has not been provided in the Cottage........we have yet to discover any downfall. We are already booked for May 2017!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!!!
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 31, 2016
Maggi - thank you so much for your wonderful review. We love having 'the girls on tour' to stay and will make sure your visit in 2017 lives up to your expectations. See you next year, Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
magrant12...
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic weekday stay”
Reviewed October 30, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

!2 ladies, all Nurses retired or still practising have stayed at The Cottage Beyond for the last 2 years and will be going again in May of 2017. It is a fantastic place to stay with luxury bedrooms and swimming pool and the the walks around the Cottage are always so wonderful. We feel totally at home and the owners make us very welcome and are very helpful.They have now become firm friends via Facebook and we look forward to their gorgeous photo updates.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: There is nothing I liked least
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 30, 2016
Maureen - what wonderful words, thank you so much. We love having "the girls on tour" to stay and are very much looking forward to welcoming you for your third visit in 2017. Take care, Christine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paulineso...
southampton
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We visited this for a birthday celebration for my husband. We have family for 3 days and then friends for 3 days.

The age range was 2 - 72... There was something for everyone. We all loved the Spa Hall., especially the teenagers when Christine helped them sort out the music. It was great.
The different walks which are around the farm. The pure ambience of the cottage. This is the sort of holiday where you walk in and know you have made the right decision.

Thank you Christine and John for your welcome and for being lovely hosts.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spa Hall
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 21, 2016
Thank you so much Pauline, you were the most wonderful guests. Here's hoping we welcome you all back in the not too distant future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
buntyshah
Potters Bar
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“U.K. Holidays don't get better than this place”
Reviewed April 21, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Alan you are awesome!!! Loved the tour of the farm. The house itself has everything you need to have a relaxing holiday. Everything has been thought of and every time I opened a cupboard I found more useful items. Holidays don't get much better than this. Thank you so much. Especially for pulling the Disco out from the Ford

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 25, 2016
Thank you - we love having guests like you - adventurous, enthusiastic and with a great sense of humour. We do hope you will return and I'll make sure Alan's on standby!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing