We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly welcome - but be prepared for small hotel quirkiness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Henley Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Henley in Arden
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“Friendly welcome - but be prepared for small hotel quirkiness”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

I have just stayed here for 3 separate nights in the last 6 days so had a chance to try 3 different rooms. That I came back twice tells its own story - but the convenient location and BW loyalty scheme played a significant part. The staff are very friendly but the general appearance and strange layout of this small hotel does not impress - particularly the open plan bar/lounge/restaurant which is pretty soulless and the hotel generally has quite weird decor with dark sombre colours and basic furniture. The first two rooms were classed as suites - however that could hardly apply to the first one which was pretty average sized and had only one comfy chair! The bathroom was too small for a full sized bath - however neither of the other rooms actually had a bath at all so it was better than nothing. In fact the suite bathrooms were beautifully fitted with great tiling, ceramics and very fancy heated mirrors. Sadly the oversized basin meant that fancy mirror was a very long way away when I needed to shave in the morning. The second suite was considerably larger and had a sofa - but the layout was so bizarre I can't see why you would ever sit on it - just for a view of the door and the sound of the tv out of sight around the corner! Neither room had a reasonable sized desk -but very thin dressing tables with a mirror - making working at a laptop quite cramped. The 'standard' room was quite a shock to the system and it's been a long time since I've been in a room so cramped. One desk chair and one comfy chair were provided, but the only possible view of the tv was from the bed. A suitcase stand was thoughtfully provided but if you were to set it up you wouldn't possibly have room to move anywhere. There was not even room for a door to the hanging space. The restaurant food had an Italian theme with a set menu and a la carte but both were very short menus. The food was absolutely fine but the limited choice means I think I would struggle to choose for a fourth night and I was not the only guest who did not understand why there should be a problem in having a starter and main from different menus. A beautiful steak was sadly spoiled by the lack a a drinkable house red. Both the Shiraz and replacement Merlot offered were tainted - perhaps there is not sufficient take-up to keep it fresh? Overall I had three ok nights in quite decent accommodation - fine for short stays on business. I'm left wondering however how the BW 'Plus' description is merited?

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenleyHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Henley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We’re happy to learn that you came back and stayed with us 3 times in the last week, really adding to your experience of our hotel and the different room aspects that we offer. We are aware that the style and décor of the hotel doesn’t suit all our guest’s tastes but we hope the service we offer doesn’t detract from an enjoyable stay with us. Our rooms do vary in size and unfortunately we cannot alter this, however some of our double rooms the televisions have wall brackets, so the position of the television can be altered, we are currently in the process of making this apply to all our televisions. The hanging space provided in some of the rooms, is intentionally without a door and that is the style of the hanging space provided. Regarding the Italian menu, there is our main menu and our specials menu, unfortunately you cannot mix and match from both menus as the specials menu is set at a fixed price. Furthermore the Italian menu is on a trial basis for 3 months and has changed each month, to help find out what dishes best suite our guests, however the final and fixed menu, will be much larger and will have a great deal of range, so when this goes ahead, be sure to pop back and have another taste. The issue with the wine I will look into immediately as our Shiraz and Merlot wines are very popular with our guests. Once again thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel and we hope to see you staying again.
Sincerely
Sharan Cook
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    94
    42
    28
    11
See reviews for
43
128
7
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Normanton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Very good hotel, staff excellent nothing to troublesome for them. Food very good, bedroom good. Highly recommended. Hotel a little remote from any night life and shops but if required only a short taxi drive away.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Helpful?
Thank Steve V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenleyHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Henley Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our hotel, we’re thrilled to hear that you’ve thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. It’s really encouraging to hear such positive comments about every aspect of our hotel from the staff right through to the food. Everyone here tries their utmost to provide a superior experience to all our guests, as nothing is more important to us than our guest’s satisfaction. We do hope you will come back and stay with us again in the future, as it would be the perfect opportunity to check out our sister venue the Henley Golf & Country club and get the full experience. Once again we thank you for your comments and appreciate everything you have said.
Sincerely
Sharan Cook
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

I spent 2 nights in this hotel whilst on a training course in nearby Wootton Wawen. I have no complaints about anything. The room was lovely and clean, the bed very comfortable, the shower was the best I've used in while - very powerful, and the bathroom nice and clean.
The staff were all very friendly and very professional. I requested an iron from reception and it was with me within 3 or 4 minutes.
The food was really nice too. The restaurant serves Italian food from a limited menu, but with enough choice for most people. It was cooked perfectly and the portion sizes were very generous. Breakfast was a cold buffet and cooked breakfast. Again it was all very tasty and perfectly cooked. The chef even came out to say good morning and check everything was OK.
All in all a most pleasurable stay and would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenleyHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Henley Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your recent stay and thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel. We’re thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked our hotel as a whole. Thank you for such positive comments regarding our staff, compliments such as yours are very encouraging and I will be sure to pass on your comments to the team. Our restaurant menu you experienced is currently on trial and once a menu is finalised I can assure you we will have a wide ranging menu for guests to choose from. Furthermore we’re delighted to hear your comments about the restaurant and the food we serve, Dave our Chef works extremely hard to please all our guests staying with us and it’s reassuring that we’re going in the right direction with the restaurant. Once again we’re delighted to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your comments, we appreciate everything you’ve had to say.
Sincerely
Sharan Cook
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel yesterday for a Wedding Reception which was held at Henley Golf Club.

Upon arrival, we were showed our room but was quite shocked by the size of it. Had nice large double bed with nice large TV on the wall but the room was tiny. The bathroom was small too. For £90 I would have expected much better. I have stayed in better Premier Inn's etc for half the cost!

We went down to the bar/lounge for a bottle of wine to kill some time before the evening reception. The wine was not chilled but the waitress did eventually manage to find a wine chiller. The bar did not offer much choice of beer either.....only Carling lager or Worthington Bitter.

The plus side of staying at this hotel is that they offer a shuttle service to the Golf Club so we used this service with no trouble whatsoever which was a nice touch.

The people staying there were rowdy and kept walking along the corridors until 4.30am when I did eventually manage to fall asleep.

Breakfast was ample with plenty of choice.

I'm not sure what makes this hotel a 'Plus' Hotel as I have been in much nicer one's with more facilities at a more favourable price. I was under the impression the hotel had been refurbished but our room (103) was quite tired looking.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenleyHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Henley Hotel, responded to this review, April 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for our Hotel.
It’s disappointing to hear your comments regarding our rooms and the size of them is something we are unable to change. However if you’re looking for a bigger room, then perhaps one of our Executive suites would be better suited to you in the future. Regarding our bar and the alcohol we serve, we do try and provide the most popular beers, this being Carling and Worthington on draft, we do however offer alternative alcoholic beverages such as Magners and Budweiser plus more. We’re delighted to hear you liked the Shuttle service as a nice complimentary touch as we work very hard with our Sister site to accommodate our guests as best we can. Best Western has a set tier standard that hotels must meet and we surpass the Plus standards required by Best Western, the tier of a hotel is determined by Best Western themselves. We’d like to once again thank you writing us a review of your stay at our hotel.
Sincerely
Sharan Cook
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised with our stay of 3 nights here. the staff were very efficient and friendly and made us very welcome. The recently started restaurant was excellent with a good menu delivered by a very good chef.

We would definitely go back for another stay whether business or leisure.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Roy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HenleyHotel, Manager at Best Western Plus Henley Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. Thank you for all your kind words regarding our staff, on your behalf I will be sure to pass on the compliments. It’s really encouraging to receive such positive comments regarding Lorena’s, It’s just what we like to hear. It helps us know as a hotel that we are going in the right direction with our restaurant. I will be sure to pass on your wonderful feedback to Dave (chef) and let him know all his hard work is paying off.
From everyone here at the hotel, we really appreciate everything you have to say as your feedback is very important to us as this allows us to progress as a hotel.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Sincerely
Sharan Cook
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Henley in Arden
1.5 mi away
Bridge House
Bridge House
#3 of 3 in Henley in Arden
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Oak Hotel
The Oak Hotel
#2 of 2 in Hockley Heath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 311 reviews
7.8 mi away
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
Hallmark Hotel The Welcombe
#7 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.5 mi away
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
Best Western Grosvenor Hotel
#18 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Southcrest Manor Hotel
8.7 mi away
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shakespeare Hotel
Mercure Stratford-Upon-Avon Shak...
#16 of 27 in Stratford-upon-Avon
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Henley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Henley Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Henley Hotel
Address: Tanworth Lane, Henley in Arden B95 5RA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Warwickshire > Henley in Arden
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Henley in Arden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western Plus Henley Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sometimes you just want a little extra; and for when you do there's BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel. It's a hotel with personality, plus extra service, style and comfort. Completely re-furbished, all our rooms are designed with your comfort in mind for a more memorable stay. BEST WESTERN PLUS Henley Hotel boasts 27 rooms, including 5 boutique style suites, well proportioned executive and family rooms as well as standard double and twin rooms. For disabled people there is a selection of ground floor rooms including a specially designed room which includes a full wet room with seated showering, grab rails and an emergency cord, simply let us know what your specific needs are. There is a lounge/bar with plenty of seating for you to enjoy a quite G&T, 3 course meal or a lite-bite from our tasty menu. Speciality teas and coffees are available along with a full selection of both soft and alcoholic beverages. Within easy access to major road networks such as M40, M42, M6, M69, M1 there is so much a business or leisure guest can reach in just 20 minutes from our hotel. For business guests who prefer a more personal approach to the larger hotel chains, we are only a 20 minute drive from Birmingham airport, NEC, NIA, Birmingham city centre and Coventry city centre. Wi-Fi is available in all areas of the hotel including bedrooms. We have on-site conference facilities for up to 20 delegates and for larger groups, we can offer a variety of Conference rooms at our sister venue Henley Golf and Country Club. Our shuttle bus can be booked to and from day time or evening venues; meaning you don't have to worry about driving and parking at your venue or having that glass of celebration bubbly. For those on a leisure break, we are situated in the picturesque village of Henley-in-Arden which is just 15 minutes drive to Stratford-upon-Avon and no more than 30 minutes drive to Drayton Manor Theme Park, Cadbury World and the Cotswolds to name a few leisure destinations. Because we are within easy access of major road networks it makes a perfect location to base yourself whilst exploring some of the fantastic things the area has to offer. Also available are special packages for golf in the area and discounted tickets for Shakespeare's 5 houses. We will help you plan your stay to maximise the time you spend in our fantastic county. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Best Western Plus Henley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Plus Henley Hotel Henley In Arden, Warwickshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing