We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best fish and chips since I visited Whitby”
Review of Finest Catch

Finest Catch
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $10
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Finest Catch is all about great food, great atmosphere, and fantastic customer service. Order whatever you wish at any time. Just a starter, or just an ice cream, or just a coffee... no problem.
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“The best fish and chips since I visited Whitby”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

The car park is always full - then one of my friends recommended the Finest Catch .I thought I must go for lunch to see for myself why it was so busy .The reason is the quality and amazing
value for money they provide .The fish and chips were the best served to me for a very long time and guess what I thought I was in France a huge plate of bread and butter arrived '' free of charge ''.The service was very good and all the staff were friendly and a very enjoyable experience with
our friends singing the Finest Catch's praise's .
Although the wine was very good and well priced my only regret was there is no real ale served -
perhaps this is something for the future .

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gourmond77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    180
    88
    51
    36
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“phil and al”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

myself and other family members, 8 in total, went to this diner on a lunchtime, it was very clean and very busy.the food was excellent,good value for money,but had to wait a long time to get service,the poor staff were over worked, but i will certainly be going back.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alison21536
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant<”
Reviewed February 9, 2013

I and seven family members had lunch today at 1.00.p.m. The restaurant is bright and clean and the staff very welcoming. The fish was delicious, obviously freshly cooked,
as were the chunky chips which were served with bread and butter included in the price, excellent value!

The restaurant was heaving and there was quite a wait to order the food, this is no reflection on the waitresses, who were very busy indeed. (perhaps more staff needed)

Would definitely visit again, overall brilliant value for money.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sumpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Better than the 'chippy'!”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We have been meaning to visit this restaurant for some time as we live locally, and finally went recently on a Sunday evening to celebrate my daughters birthday. I would probably describe this as an American diner with truly British fare. It is clean, colourful, very comfortable and the service we received was speedy and attentive. True, the menu is not exhaustive, and unsurprisingly everything comes with chips! But, they are very good chips, and indeed the food overall was very tasty. The price was very reasonable too. We paid £75 for six people inclusive of mains, dessert and drinks. The draught beer is very competitively priced (£2.75/pint for Carling lager), and the owner was present and made sure he got around every table. And he is a very pleasant chap to boot! This made a very welcome change, and was most preferable to eating out of paper! We will be going again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull
Level Contributor
366 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
“Reasonably priced retro-style fish restaurant”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stopped by on our way to Stratford on Avon. Very pleasantly surprised at the welcome and overall experience. Quite busy for a Tuesday lunch time, but that reflects the value for money on offer. Fish can be had in small, standard or large size, the standard being comparable with the average chippy portion. We will definitly be going again.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SolihullBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Finest Catch also viewed

 
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Solihull, West Midlands
 
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
Henley in Arden, Warwickshire
 

Been to Finest Catch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing